We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but Beautiful Boutique Hotel in Paris”
Review of De Vigny Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
De Vigny Hotel
Ranked #1,096 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
London
Level Contributor
173 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Small but Beautiful Boutique Hotel in Paris”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I have stayed at the de Vigny many times when visiting Paris Fashion Week and other occasions. It has never let me down. Found on the off chance when I needed to change hotels in a hurry I have found the hotel to be excellent in every way and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. This is a small hotel so don't expect big hotel anything, but personal service, friendly staff, a small but good restaurant where I have only had breakfast and light lunch. Ask for the room at the top in the eaves with the jacuzzi bath - I was upgraded to this room once, I think it is a junior suite - just gorgeous.

Also ask for a room over their courtyard as it can be noisy, from scooters particularly outside in the streets as it always is in Paris.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    69
    34
    12
    17
See reviews for
29
93
10
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

A combination of "1408" and "the Shining"! It's actually a compliment. Im refering to how the hotel looks and how it feels. It seems very old, but elegant and consists mostly of dark wood. You get the feel that you are alone yet the hotel was fully booked. It even has the same temperature regulator as in "1408". The location of the hotel is on a side street of champs elysses very close to the arc of triumph. It also has a nice resturant which i didnt try but it seemed good, and it looks really old which was exciting and it also reminds me of the resturant in "the Shining". The staff were superfriendly and extremly helpful. However the room was usually pretty cold, and it had a draft which annoyed me at times. Also the breakfast bufeet was priced at 33 euros which I thought was very expensive and you had to special order eggs if you wanted them and there was a menu there showing the prices of different things that should have been included for 33 euros. The food that was served there though was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanfear23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre S, General Manager at De Vigny Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Madam, SIr,
thank you very much for posting such a good comment about Hotel de Vigny. I have to say I was very surprised by the title of your comment and my first impresion was the image of Jack Nicholson with a knife hanging around in my hotel!!! After fully reading the comment I felt relieved. For your information we are starting a renovation plan of the hotel, mostly in the rooms, but do not worry we will keep the feeling that you have enjoyed.
I renew ly thanks and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely,
Alexandre Scarvelis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

A little Art Deco hotel which is very Guest-Service oriented. My Husband has stayed here a number times (on business) & we had the opportunity to stay in Paris for a few days - on a leisure break. I understand why he likes the Hotel and how attentive the staff are to ensure an enjoyable and memorable stay.

Perfectly situated, just off the Champs Elysee with fantastic Staff & service.

Nothing is too much for the Team and they are very welcoming, helpful and accommodating. It was my first trip to Paris and Monsieur Scarvelis & his Team were a delight to have access to.

The decor is great, with decent sized rooms, if a little "aged" - but far more cosy and intimate than the bedroom "factories" associated with the Brand Chains.

Heartly recommend the hotel for a romantic getaway or to use as a base to explore Paris...

Room Tip: Whilst it is double glazed - remember that this is a Paris hotel and an old Classical building which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKS Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed for four nights in October. Changed rooms after 1st night due to street noise as we were on 1st floor. Changed to a room overlooking the courtyard so no noise. This hotel has been a regular haunt of mine for many years and is quaint and subsequently not well equipt.
No sat TV, hot water or ice available in room. It is good for a romantic break but would not reccomend fo business use. Decor is very dated and shows in nearly all areas. Will try somewhere else next time round.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conagra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre S, Directeur général at De Vigny Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Madam, Sir,
We thank you very much for posting your comments about your stay in our property. As a regular guest of the hotel de Vigny I am sorry that you would want to try another hotel for your next stay in Paris. Please note that we have enhanced our TV system and got more channels as well as upgraded the WIFI system and other improvmentto its best. Of course you can have ice in your room for free, I am sorry you got that impression last time you stayed.
Please give another chance and try us again! We wqill do our best to show you what we a=have achieved.

I look forward to hearing from you soon and remain at your disposal.

Yours Sincerely

Alexandre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pardubice
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This is a small hotel located in a quiet street just few steps from Champs Elysee. The location cannot be better. Rooms, lobby and public areas are decorated by real antique furniture, staff was great, polite and helpful. Rooms are enough large (for Paris), well equipped, clean, nicely decorated. Hotel is not cheap but in contrast from many other hotels in Paris you will get something for your money. Breakfast was very good, served in a nice restaurant. I recommend this hotel mainly for romantic stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathu, Thailand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Nice hotel at a very good location in Paris. We booked this hotel because of its location and the fact they had parking.

The rooms where avarage, a bit old but very spacy compare to many hotels in Paris. There where no water boiler in the room, but we just ordered hot water and ice cubes from the room service - free of charge.

The staff was very friendly

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Erratic Airconditioning, wifi slow as a donkey, nice rooms, good location, overall a really mixed experience, very dated, terrible tv reception, ridiculously expensive! Breakfast ok, the hotel looks neglected and just sad overall...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Salman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Balzac
Hotel Balzac
#583 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Maison Albar Hotel Paris Champs-Elysees
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Napoleon Paris
Hotel Napoleon Paris
#146 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
InterContinental Paris-Avenue Marceau
Champs-Elysees
Royal Hotel Paris Champs Elysees
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Vernet
Hotel Vernet
#327 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vigny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vigny Hotel

Property: De Vigny Hotel
Address: 9 rue Balzac, 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#457 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — De Vigny Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Vigny is a luxury boutique hotel located in the middle of Paris' fashionable 8th arrondissement. Situated on a quiet street just off the bustling Champs-Elysees, this charming hotel is a short walk away from Faubourg Saint-Honore, Arc de Triomphe, Avenue Montaigne and Avenue George V; as well as some of the finest art galleries and museums Paris has to offer. The hotel offers a selection of 26 luxury guestrooms and 11 suites.All of the suites offer separate bedrooms, drawing rooms and come complete with a luxury marble bathroom. The hotel is renowned for its discrete style, fantastic location; and can be reached in just 40 min. from Charles de Gaulle International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your De Vigny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vigny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing