We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice, typical French hotel :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chateaubriand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Chateaubriand
Ranked #1,003 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
233 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“nice, typical French hotel :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

the hotels are very expensive in paris, this hotel is a little bit cheaper.. but i really liked the hotel.. it is actually only 2 minutes away from Champs Elysees. dont expect a big hotel.. it is small but very friendly hotel.. like you see in the movies, it is a typical French hotel :) the staff was very friendly, and help us about lots of things.. also one of the best things about the hotel is the breakfast.. i loved it.. in Europe, generally there are only croissants, butter.. but hotel's breakfast includes freshly baked breads, croissants, cakes, butters, jams and plenty of French cheeses... the service was good. dont waste your time at outside finding a place to eat..

Room Tip: i think they can have better pillows..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Selin_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    47
    25
    6
    20
See reviews for
39
47
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Despite some of the reviews, we found the hotel just great, good accom, small roooms but that what you get in Paris. good breakfast, very typical French, good not to have the big american breakfast, although they piled our plates high with fruit .
Just 2 mins walk from the main drag

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed the weekend of the Tour De France in this wonderfully quaint boutique hotel. The staff were excellent and helpful, the room (a triple for my wife, young son and I ) was blissfully decorated with excellent working air conditioning ( a god send given the temperature on the Champs Elysee was 39c that weekend!). This style of Hotel may not be to everyones taste, but if you love chic, stylish antiques with an air of class and country living then this will tick all your boxes. From the eccentric lift lights, to the silk wall paper in our room, this hotel screams opulence, whilst retaining a warm relaxed almost homely atmosphere. Breakfast was a typically french affair, expensive, sure, but convenient and hearty, and certainly beats traipsing around the Champs trying to find a bite to eat in the morning!
I would heartily recommend staying here, and will no doubt be using this as my hotel of choice next time I visit Paris!

Room Tip: Our triple room (404) faced on to the street which was quiet and well air conditioned. The safe take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabCat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We checked out of a truly awful hotel after one night and stayed here for saturday and sunday night. Lovely room, clean and sophisticated furniture. Room 304 overlooked the street but even though the street cleaners start early it was still a lovely stay - we will be back. Staff attentive - especially Fabien. Only 28 rooms so don't expect lots of staff and facilities - but for a lovely quiet stay near the Champs Elysees you cant do better. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

The hotel I usually stay in when in Paris was full so we stayed here (company booked it). Like other reviewers have mentioned the location is great - just off Champs Elysee near George V metro. There were two other hotels on same street and an interesting looking Iranian restaurant close by (didn't visit though so cant tell you whether this is OK or not). First impressions are very favourable. Staff very friendly and efficient. There is a well decorated lobby with small, nicely decorated room off to relax in. Breakfast is downstairs and is adequate but limited in choice so make sure you don't pay much for your petit dejeuner! I was given a room on fourth floor (probably a chambre classique) that looked nothing like the photo on the website. It was quite small, with a tiny closet just enough room for a smallish double bed (not even queen in US size), smallish TV and a comfortable armchair. There was very little space to store luggage so be warned if you are staying for more than a couple of days and there are two of you. There was no obvious air con (except the window) so the room could get hot in summer. Room was overlooked by other dwellings which is quite typical in Paris and not a problem for me. Bathroom was also small and fixtures looked like they needed a bit of attention. The shower holder in particular was broken and not adjustable so if I'd turned the shower on and left it the bathroom would have flooded as the shower sprayed the toilet at the end of the bath if not removed and held in your hand. There was an area on the ceiling over the door where there had obviously been water damage (possibly the room above mine had the same shower arrangement!) which needs painting at least. The bed was comfortable and I got a decent night's sleep. Internet was also free and fast enough which was a big plus as well. I was only staying for one night on a company account so none of the negatives spoiled my stay or were worth mentioning at checkout (although I wish I had mentioned the shower now so they could fix it - not speaking much French doesn't help!). In summary it's an OK hotel and I'd stay here again but I'd have been disappointed to pay top dollar of my own money to stay here (it advertises as being 'exclusive' and 4*)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikinblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

It was a OK hotel but there was a strange smell in our room and in the hallway was this strong detergent smell, so something needs to be done with the air quality. The breakfast was average. No babychair in the restaurant. Most of the staff was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvía M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

First, location - great. Right off Champs Elysee, so full marks there. But...in keeping with other reviewers, I found this intensely disappointing. We were given room 20, with the room door right on reception! Imagine the surprise when we found the bath in one corner of the bedroom (classed as 'superior'). Yes, do all your ablutions without any screening whatsoever. Only in Paris! Lighting was awful, so that you could not see properly in the mirror over the vanity unit. A lack of basic comforts at this level (thin towels, no minibar, no water, no clock, no full-length mirror) and a continental breakfast at EUR22! Bed was very firm, but bedding completely inadequate. Visit at your peril.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel du Romancier
Hotel du Romancier
#1,175 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Cristal Champs Elysees
Cristal Champs Elysees
#744 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Royal Hotel Paris Champs Elysees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Residence Lord Byron
Residence Lord Byron
#1,122 of 1,794 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel George Washington
Hotel George Washington
#1,212 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#916 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateaubriand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateaubriand

Property: Hotel Chateaubriand
Address: 6 Rue Chateaubriand, 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,003 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chateaubriand 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Champs Elysées! Once the hotel's threshold is passed, the excitement of the city fades away. This 19th century building is restored and adorned with antiques and exquisite upholstery to reflect the utmost refinement in every detail. Located on a unobtrusive street between the Champs-Elysées and Rue du Faubourg St. Honore, this private mansion conceals an entirely rethought atmosphere behind its 19th century façade, offering the perfect balance between classic and modern. The warmth and elegance in each room reflects the classical French touch. Fitted with 21st century convenience, we aim to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. With some rooms facing the interior courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Fastbooking and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel Chateaubriand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateaubriand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing