We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera
Ranked #311 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excelent choice”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful week in Paris, We stayed at the most perfect hotel which added to our enjoying the city.
The location could not be better, a lot of the main attractions of Paris are in walking distance, and the user friendly Metro is just around the corner which we used a lot to get around.
The staff are warm friendly and very very helpful. Our room was small and perfect facing the street which is very quiet
The breakfast which is included is generous and a great start to a day in Paris.
We highly recomend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank star03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGerbault, Assistante at Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hello from Paris
What an enjoyment to read your comment!
It is true that our situation is pleasant and we are happy that you appreciated it.
Perhaps, we will have the pleasure to welcome you again if you plan to come back in France...
Anne
Assistante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    325
    37
    7
    10
See reviews for
97
397
47
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location within walking distance of many places and right next to the metro system. The true benefit of this hotel, and why I highly recommend it to anyone, is the service. The staff were fantastic and were immediately responsive to any request. For my first trip to Paris, I felt welcome from the moment I arrived. This was a fantastic experience all around.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGerbault, Assistante at Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Good evening!
We are happy to read that you felt good with us and that you had a nice first visit of Paris! It is our best reward!
See you another time!
Anne
Assistante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in early June in a standard double. The hotel is excellently situated in a quiet street very close to the main shopping area and many sites (Place de la Concorde, Grand Palais etc). At first glance this looks like many other hotels of this type and class but here everything is just a bit better than one expects. The rooms, though compact are very well planned with room for a sofa and pleant of storage space. Colours are neutral, everything is spotless (and recently refurbished), bed comfy, linens excellent and the lighting outstanding - 2 lights each side of the bed, one fixed one flexible and others throughout the bedroom and bathroom. Mirrors well used to maximise light. Good aircon. The bathroom (shower not bath) worked perfectly and, designed as a wet-room, drained very efficiently. Good quality toiletries. The included breakfast was more than adequate with the added facility of a proper expresso machine.
The almost exclusively female staff are friendly, efficient and helpful. In all this is a terrific place to stay at a decent price. I shall certainly return.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helenjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGerbault, Assistante at Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Good morning from the Folkestone Opera!
I am delighted today to read your nice comment.
All our team takes pleasure to see that our clients are leaving our hotel with beautiful memories.
See you another time in Paris!
Anne
Assistante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed recently for a weekend break with friends and I thought that the hotel matched most of our expectation. You cannot fault it for location, cleanliness, friendly and accommodating/helpful staff and in fact the only downside of it was that the rooms are quite small with just enough space to walk around the bed - obviously one at a time! Not sure it justifies being top 100 rated for Paris, but certainly worth putting on any short list if you are considering staying in this vicinity.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slcLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGerbault, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Good afternoon from Paris. We hope you enjoyed your time with us even if you are not agree with Tripadvisor customers that we are in top 100 rated for Paris ; As some peolple know it and as some people doesn’t imagine it, room space in Paris is quite small.
When you want a bigger room as 11 or 12m2 you have to book deluxe room or booked in a four or five stars hotel.
It’s sure we can’t be in top 100 rated for Paris concerning our room space you’re right, may be it’s because we respect a lot the clients coming to visit us, we are so glad when peolple have a good time with us in Paris ; all the team of Folkestone hotel joins me to apology if it was not the case for you ; we worked hard to improve, day by day, our service and helpfulness, we hope to have the chance to welcome you again to offer you an better experience,
Best regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
701 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights recently with friends to celebrate a couple of birthdays. I chose the hotel due to the great TA reviews and of course the central location.

The hotel ticks all the boxes for cleanliness, comfort of bed and the amazing price of the champagne in the hotel bar but there's one thing that knocks a mark off and that's the size of the rooms themselves. There is little space to walk around the bed and it was the smallest bathroom I've ever been in in my life.! Despite the surly (read Parisian.?) receptionist telling me that ALL rooms are small in Paris, I have stayed in well over 50 hotels there for both business and pleasure and they have all been bigger.

It's not a deal breaker for me but if it would be for you then splurge on the larger road facing rooms but be prepared to pay quite a bit more for the privilege.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are tiny - on the 6th floor anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nidgehammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGerbault, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello from Paris ! Thank you to taking the time to wrote a comment concerning Folkestone Hotel.
We do understand your feeling concerning Parisien space room hotel… I think that the receptionnist wanted to explained that to have a bigger room unfortunately you have to book a deluxe room in a three stars hotels or booked in a superior categorie as 4 or 5 stars hotels. If you tested all ready 50 three stars hotels in Paris, you know that you have to spend much more money for more space, unfortunately it’s like this in Paris and it’s the same way for our flats…we are so ennoying about this big space trouble in our town but it’s Paris ! We hope you had a nice trip back home,
Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here for four nights travelling on Eurostar. The hotel location for sightseeing is excellent, in a quiet side street with good restaurants close by. Near to Metro stations and Taxi ranks.
The hotel is small but bright and smartly decorated throughout, with a wonderful breakfast room with lots of choice and a very attentive supervisor. Bedroom was not large ( but this was expected ) and was nicely appointed. Staff were helpful and friendly.
Would definitely return on another visit to Paris.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGerbault, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Good Morning from Paris !
Thank you for your comment, we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us in Paris.
Don't hesitate to contact us if we can help for anything in france in the futur !
With our best regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here as part of a group of six visitors for a long weekend in the middle of May, 2014. Every aspect of our stay was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were bright, clean and well appointed- and by Paris standards, were large. Breakfast each morning was served in the vaulted basement- self service with a good choice of fruit, cereal, cheese, meat, breads and pastries- and excellent start to the day.
The hotel is a short walk from the Roissybus stop, to and from the airport. Also, being a couple of minutes from Place de Madelaine, we could access the tourist buses easily and were spoilt by the delights of Fauchon and Laduree. There were also several delightful cafes and brasseries within a short walk and Gallaries Lafayette nearby. In fact, everything we wanted in terms of location.
I felt that the hotel represented good value for money and would definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Paris.
A tip- the Tattinger Champagne, at 25Euros a bottle in the small bar in the hotel, is an absolute steal!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubadiver5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGerbault, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Good morning from Paris !!! We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us in Paris ; You are a real guide of our area now !!
We are not sure to understand carefully what you wrote about Champagne.
Do you mind that’s so much expensive ? If it’s the case, you have to know the price of a bottle of Taittinger Sir !
25€ is really a good deal, you can’t find this price in any place in Paris !! May be we do not understand your expression « is an absolute steal »… !!???
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the Folkestone hotel,
Best regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel du Triangle d'Or
Hotel du Triangle d'Or
#339 of 1,801 in Paris
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel
Madeleine Haussmann Hotel
#432 of 1,801 in Paris
207 reviews
Hotel Madeleine Plaza
#340 of 1,801 in Paris
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera

Property: Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera
Address: 9 rue de Castellane, 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#109 Family Hotel in Paris
#172 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#177 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Best Western FR, Booking.com, HRS, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing