We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Gem in Paris”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Derby Eiffel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Derby Eiffel Hotel
Ranked #831 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Little Gem in Paris”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The Derby Eiffel Hotel is a half block from the Ecole Militaire Metro station and a ten minute walk to the base of the Eiffel Tower. This quiet small hotel was perfect for our short stay in Paris. The staff was excellent and the rooms were clean and nicely furnished. The complimentary breakfast was very good and in a cozy downstairs area from the front desk. We will stay there again when we return to beautiful Paris.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KailuaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    237
    146
    41
    22
See reviews for
86
293
33
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Junction, Iowa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The place was kind of run down,ie broken phones, lights, and safe in the room didn't work. The room we had was tiny--1 person only between the desk and the bed. The staff was helpful, but cold. We,too, had street side room and a beautiful view of the Eiffel Tower. It was walking distance for my mom, even at 85 yrs old, to restaurants, but a bit far for her to the Eiffel, without rests. Cousin said it looked the same in 1965! But, you don't come to Europe for the hotel rooms. Definitely do-able.

Room Tip: Get a street side room, for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smitty713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This was a great location as I wanted to be able to see the Eiffel Tower from our window which we could. Lovely to see the lights at night. Only had a "Juliet" balcony but still great for a city like this and we were within walking distance to the tower.and Napoleon's Tomb. There were lots of places to eat nearby. If you don't speak French check out the menus first as not all restaurants print in English. I found it took a bit to warm up to the French and maybe I might have to go back one more time to give them another go. I found them not too friendly however the staff at the Hotel were wonderful. Breakfast at the Hotel was not to my liking. Just the French way I think. Only some cereal, meat, pastry and lots of cheese. There is a great bakery place nearby that make the most wonderful baguettes, so look our for it. The French bread truly is the best in the world.

Room Tip: Rooms are small. Ask for a view of the Eiffel Tower and I suggest you not include breakfast and look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LexiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just east of the Eiffel Tower, the hotel is located in a lovely, lively neighborhood near cafes and the small specialty shops on rue Cler. The Ecole Militaire Metro stop and a Carrefour grocery store are within a block of the hotel. Our second floor room was room was basic and clean. No frills here. There was a hairdryer, small refrigerator and a safe in the room. Typical European breakfast fare included croissants, breads, cold cuts, cheese, cereal and hardboiled eggs. Extra charge for breakfast and wi-fi. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The elevator is tiny but that's part of the charm of a small European hotel! We often found it faster to use the stairs!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etlimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My granddaughter and I went for 5 days to celebrate her graduation. All the other comments are true...both positive and not-so (small, sort of dingy), but the positive far outweigh any
"not so"...the staff is especially helpful and the location is the best for tourist sightseeing. The elevator is similar to others in small hotels in Europe...the kind of memories a first time European traveler ( my granddaughter) can tell stories about. Don't hesitate to book.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Walking distance to the Eifel tower and next to a Metro station, very well situated. Rooms are very small as is bathroom. Rooms look old and smudgy. Airconditioned which is Nice. If you are even remotely claustrofobic don't use the elevator, room for one only. Breakfast is ok. Staff is helpfull.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cloggy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I was not sure what to expect after we booked this hotel, I read the reviews and it did not sound so appealing. We still did it because of the excellent location. But I had a nice surprise when we arrived. Yes, it is somewhat old but nothing terrible. The room we had was newly renovated and nice. Our friends' room was not so great but still OK. Yes, the elevator is small but the hotel is almost next to the Eiffel tower and the invalids hospital.I think this makes up for everything else. The breakfast was buffet style and really good. We still had enough to take some cheese and fruit for snacking during our walks.
I will recommend this hotel for anyone. The metro station is meters away. there is a supermarket close by. and 3 blocks away you can find chinese food, crepes and other good, not so expensive restaurants for dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer room. Our room was facing the street but it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diana p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de France Invalides
Hotel de France Invalides
#783 of 1,798 in Paris
289 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Eber
Hotel Eber
#660 of 1,798 in Paris
268 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Eiffel Turenne
Hotel Eiffel Turenne
#53 of 1,798 in Paris
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Eiffel Rive Gauche
Eiffel Rive Gauche
#1,163 of 1,798 in Paris
488 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel La Bourdonnais
Hotel La Bourdonnais
#120 of 1,798 in Paris
549 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel La Comtesse
Hotel La Comtesse
#313 of 1,798 in Paris
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derby Eiffel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derby Eiffel Hotel

Property: Derby Eiffel Hotel
Address: 5, avenue Duquesne | 7th Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #831 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Derby Eiffel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant Hotel occupying a small, traditional building dating from the turn of the century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Derby Eiffel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Eiffel Paris
Best Western Derby Eiffel
Best Western Paris
Hotel Derby Eiffel
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing