We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Derby Eiffel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Derby Eiffel Hotel
Ranked #796 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel is 5min walk from eiffel tower,be sure when booking to email and request a room with a view of the eiffel tower! Metro is close by and lots of cafes near. Rooms in hotel are quite small but so are most rooms in paris. Would use this hotel again

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danool221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    245
    147
    41
    23
See reviews for
89
302
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

POSITIVES:
-great location, just around the corner from the Eiffel tower and convenient for transport
-clean
-recently renovated
-has everything you need
-helpful reception staff
-easy to find (big sign)
-good price for location. would stay again.

IMPROVEMENT POINTS:
-give visitors free wifi, it costs close to nothing and makes people happy
-building (corridors, lift etc) and common areas could do with some modernisation
-some rooms have no view at all (it is blocked by buildings in all directions) and this should be stated at booking
-not great noise insulation between rooms

TIPS:
-"Cafe des officiers" just outside the hotel has a good cheap breakfast (9 euro), good coffee and friendly staff and stays open until late at night. also serves drinks and platters until 2-3 am.
-Take a short walk to 187 Rue de Granelle and enter pastry heaven at Les Gourmandises d'Eiffel / Boulangerie Patisserie Menardin. Best croissant ever by far.
-Skip the open-top tour bus. we had very bad experience with rude staff, heavy traffic and long wait at each stop. recommend using metro, it is cheap, fast and has good coverage of the city.
-Don't forget to visit Montmartre and Versailles.

Room Tip: If you don't pay extra for the "Eiffel tower view" room then make sure your room has s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Booked this hotel for its Location and was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. It look so quaint, something you would expect when visiting Paris. Staff were friendly, Wi Fi is available at a reasonable cost. Continental Breakfast was included in my tariff. This hotel has a nice reception area but if you want to stow your luggage before leaving it is in the open area. The rooms are comfortable and from some rooms you would be able to see the Eifel Tower.

Our room was situated in a garden courtyard which I adored. So far removed from a typical hotel room we had 3 rooms sharing this courtyard. We had a garden setting and large windows that opened onto the courtyard. We were lucky in respect that the other two rooms were not used for a short time we were there, so sharing the courtyard wasn't an option. I enjoyed our stay here as it was so French. The hotel has tables outside on sidewalk for the smokers. It is close to the Eifel Tower a 5-10 min walk. Seine River Cruising, the Napolean Tomb /Military Museum. and the Hop on Hop Off Bus. Cafe's and Restaurants all around. Plus Bakery's and Food stores. Metro nearby.

The room we had was basic, but the bathroom was large with a bath, which was wonderful after a big day. Bed was very comfortable, Tea making facilities, Would I use this hotel again YES.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Startrekker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I have just returned from Paris, where I stayed at the Derby Eiffel Hotel for 4 nights. The twin room cost £104 per night (without breakfast). We were very lucky to arrive on Bastille Day, and be able to sit outside the hotel and watch the fireworks at the Eiffel Tower. The hotel is located a 2 minute walk from the Ecole Militaire metro station and its about 20/25 minutes from Gare du Nord by Metro, neither my friend nor I had been to Paris before but were able to find our way around the metros quite well.

The Hotel room was adequate, very clean, clean towels every day, there was only a small wardrobe and no drawer space, I think this is normal for Paris.

The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful.

I would certainly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: We had room 17 on the first floor which was great, as it was quiet and you didn't need to use th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186402Tallulah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel last minute (the day of our flight). Consequently, I didn't filter for two of my favorite amenities; wifi and breakfast are not included in the price. Wifi is available at a reasonable rate, but free is easier. It is a small hotel, so it is lacking some amenities, but it is charming and seems quite authentically French. The location is excellent. We walked to most tourist spots from there. For example, it is an easy walk to the Eiffel Tower, Champs-Élysées, the Louvre, and many other places. The rooms seem to have been recently renovated. I would say that the room size is average, but the bathroom was fairly spacious. We found the bathtub a bit awkward to get in and out of, a bit narrow and high. The most positive things about the room to me were the windows and the flooring. The room has laminate flooring rather than carpet. I hate stepping on yucky hotel carpet. The windows actually open, so we were able to sleep with the windows open. The room is air conditioned, but I prefer fresh air.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Baltimore MI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My sister and I just returned from a three week vacation in France and Spain, with the first six nights spent at the Derby Eiffel Hotel. It was very well situated and within close walking distance to the Eiffel Tower and the Seine. The metro was just a block or so away, which made it very convenient for getting around.
The room was small, but provided perfectly fine accommodations. We were about two blocks away from a wonderful street filled w/ cafes and the best quiche Loraine ever!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryTVH12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights to explore Paris. What a fabulous find! My sister and I researched what area we wanted to stay ... One must was that it Must be close to the Eiffel Tower. Another was that it was close to a metro and had some great eateries nearby. This hotel had it all! Little noisy on lower levels. Quirky lift...only taking two people at a time or..one plus two suitcases..it was fun. Didn't eat here or have a drink in the bar...it looked very inviting however. I would certainly recommend this hotel and would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room with a view of the Eiffel Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjsAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Eber
Hotel Eber
#737 of 1,802 in Paris
277 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de France Invalides
Hotel de France Invalides
#688 of 1,802 in Paris
309 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel La Comtesse
Hotel La Comtesse
#77 of 1,802 in Paris
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel le Tourville
Hotel le Tourville
#97 of 1,802 in Paris
551 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de la Paix Tour Eiffel
Hotel de la Paix Tour Eiffel
#803 of 1,802 in Paris
213 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Eiffel Turenne
Hotel Eiffel Turenne
#63 of 1,802 in Paris
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derby Eiffel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derby Eiffel Hotel

Property: Derby Eiffel Hotel
Address: 5 avenue Duquesne | 7th Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #796 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Derby Eiffel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant Hotel occupying a small, traditional building dating from the turn of the century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Derby Eiffel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Eiffel Paris
Best Western Derby Eiffel
Best Western Paris
Hotel Derby Eiffel
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing