We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture
Ranked #570 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointed...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just back from Paris and our three night stay at the Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain. Firstly the location is superb. A short walk from the #4 Metro - Odeon Station. This is ideal for us Eurostar travellers. The actual area is full of shops, restaurants and easy access to all of the Saint Germain/Left Bank attractions. My husband and I love the neighborhood. Now our big problem was the "standard" room we booked. Cosy, yes - Dated, yes - Funny/odd smell (cleaning products?) - Toilet/Bathroom - modern yet too small to actually sit straight on the toilet. Sorry (too much information). I'm 5'3, my husband 6'4 but both of us could not sit facing forward on this toilet. Someone with a bit of heft would be in trouble. On the first night, we realised that both bedside lamps were missing their bulbs. The previous occupants stole the bulbs? We tried to call reception but the room phone was not working. I went downstairs and asked for a bulb or two. We were visited by two hotel employees before one bulb was found. A second bulb never materialised so we stopped asking. Any sounds or voices in the hall can be clearly heard. If you are looking for a great location and not too bothered about space or cookie cutter Premier Inn style, this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodilovesamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIT168Paris, Directeur général at Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving us a message, your feedback is very important to us and we are working on all points you mentioned.

For your next stay with us , ask for our deluxe room, for more space.

Best Regards
Cathy Maarouf
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    259
    91
    31
    26
See reviews for
87
289
39
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

My son and I spent three nights in here last week. It's a hotel of extremes, as there are some really good points, but also several negatives. On the most positive side, the location is pretty perfect. Just off Blvds St Michel and St Germain, close to the Metro, and within easy walk of Notre Dame and lots of great restaurants. It's a bustling an interesting area (the best area in Paris to stay in my opinion) It's also adjacent to a Mono Prix supermarket / department store which is handy for drinks and provisions. Other good points include Wi-Fi, and a few free soft drinks in the mini-bar on arrival (not replenished after you drink them). On the downside, our standard room was very small. By small, I mean that you can barely walk around the bed, and there is no floor space whatsoever for bags etc. We found ourselves stumbling around a lot and squeezing past the furniture.

The beds were comfortable enough - if you could sleep. And this was a real problem. The air conditioning is centrally controlled and does not work unless the hotel chooses to activate it. On our first night it was switched off, and it was really hot. We had the windows wide open, but the streets there are really, really noisy with traffic and drunk, singing students. I don't mind the sounds of the city, but it's not a relaxing scenario. The next night, they switched it on. Hurrah! But wait. The unit rattled and scraped like a concrete mixer. It was so noisy that I couldn't sleep. Eventually, I rang reception and they just switched it off centrally. So I was back to the open windows and noise. I really didn't sleep well here.

Onto the comical then. The toilet in the room was separate to the bath / shower room, and was literally a cupboard. It was so small that you couldn't pull your trousers up / down without having your face pressed sideways against the wall - often switching the light off in the process. We laughed about it, but it really was a crazy situation.

Another minor gripe was that we went out after breakfast oneday and returned at 2:30pm hoping the room would be made up. It wasn't. Then at 4pm, with a 'no disturb' sign on the door, the maid just barged in as we were napping.

I didn't hate this hotel. It has some quirky character, and I love the location. But there are a few niggles which mean I can't give it a 'very good' rating.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flamenco_Sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIT168Paris, Directeur général at Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest ,


This is our aim to make each of our guests as comfortable as possible.

Sorry for the few incidents during your stay with us, you found our location great ? well super as we are the historical part of Paris, and our rooms are cosy , though ask next time for our deluxe room in order to get more space.

I have already reminded to the head house keeper to double check with chambermaids if sign do not disturb is on or not, sorry for that.

the weather is changing these past days, and it was pretty cold in Paris, so it is true we turned on aircon last week only , your aircon in the room has been fixed, during your next stay at our property , feel free to ask reception desk to move to another room in order to avoid to feel uncomfortable, all the staff is at your service for making your stay unforgettable.

Hope to see you again !

Best REgards
Cathy Maarouf
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay for the central location, from which we walked to many of the major sites as well as hopped on the nearby river boat transport to other points. As first timers in Paris, we found the Hotel Belloy to suit the occasion in terms of the historic building, the cozy cellar of a breakfast room and the decor. Yes, the rooms are small but not unusually so given the extremely urban location and wedge shape of the building. It was a delight to sip a cup of tea while sitting near the window watching the neighborhood below come to life. We were very satisfied with this introduction to Paris and the local area which is filled with restaurants, bakeries and shops just out the door.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sitesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIT168Paris, Directeur général at Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guests,

Well thank you, you enjoyed your stay , our historical location , our breakfast room and most of all our cozy rooms,It's always a pleasure to see a good connaisseur of old cities with their restrictions.

If you come back to Paris, the staff and I are remaining at your service.

Best Regards,
Cathy Maarouf
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Segrate, Italy
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Central position
-10 minutes from Notre Dame,
- 2 minutes to the train station and underground
- 50 metres from a cycle station (Velib).

Clean, comfortable, kind personnel (and even good-looking!!!).

We had also a good breakfast, fruit in the bedroom, free soft-drinks.

wonderful the view from the 5th floor

Room Tip: You can ask to have separate WC, or WC in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Federico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIT168Paris, Directeur général at Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

What can i say , Your message is just perfect, all the staff is greatly granted and thankfull, you enjoyed all our services during your stay and our location, well please come back anytime.

Enjoy your day and once again thank you for sharing your last wonderful experience with other future travellers.

Best Regards
Cathy Maarouf
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busto Arsizio, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Centrally located hotel, direct connection with the Paris Charles de Gaulle Airport. I had an opportunity to feel the taste of Paris life and enjoy the view from the 5th floor balcony. Though it is located in the center, no rumors at all. Very nice petit dejeuner and helpful service. Bathroom is newly renovated.
Certainly will recommend to friends!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIT168Paris, Directeur général at Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your very nice message, you were delighted by your last stay with us, all the staff is fully satisfied and thankfull.

We are ready to welcome you for your next stay in Paris.

Take care of yourself.

Best Regards,
Cathy Maarouf
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Breakfast was good. In good area - lots of good restaurants nearby and felt safe to walk in the area. Bed comfort could have been a bit better. Minor issues such as hard to close bathroom door. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cantfindscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIT168Paris, Directeur général at Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,

In the name of all the staff and I thank you for your very nice comment about our buffet breakfast and mentionning your had a very nice stay in our hotel.

Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

best Regards
Cathy Maarouf
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Le Petit Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture
Quartier Latin
Hotel Central Saint Germain
Hotel Central Saint Germain
#637 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Quartier Latin
Le Lapin Blanc
Le Lapin Blanc
#158 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#159 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture

Property: Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture
Address: 2 rue Racine | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#318 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#495 Business Hotel in Paris
#562 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain is a charming hotel located in Saint-Germain-des-Prés, in Paris City Centre, near the Seine, the Luxembourg Garden and Notre Dame de Paris.Previously called "Hotel des Étrangers", the hotel has welcomed guests since de 19th century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing