We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Put My Head to Rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Timhotel Jardin des Plantes
Ranked #1,261 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
187 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Place to Put My Head to Rest”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I was somewhat reluctant to check-in to this hotel because I had read so many bad reviews, but I took a chance. Personally we stayed four nights at this hotel and we enjoyed the personnel at reception very much. Every time is asked for something to be serviced or replenished the staff took care of it immediately. The room is somewhat small but my wife and I had stayed in much smaller rooms than this one. I have traveled to many European countries and I would place this in the typical European room size. The hotel is not the hilton but extremely adequate for two people. The location is in an excellent location and we couldn't have asked for more.

The room had an excellent air conditioner, and it was extremely humid and hot while we were there. The hair dryer in the room was broken, but we told the front desk and she had one under the counter that she gave to us to use. The wifi in the room was not very good but it worked from time to time, much better late at night.

There are several good restaurants close to the hotel, but if you want to expand your choices follow the directions below, I would estimate there are approximately 100 restaurants. The closest metro (train) stop is Jussieu it is probably about three to four blocks from the hotel the two trains that can get you there are M7 and M10. To get to the hotel from the metro station exit the station and go right.

Notable items:

To get to this quaint area with all the restaurants exit the hotel and go right to Rue Lacepede, make a right and walk to Rue Monge cross this street and continue walking straight up. At the top of the hill you will see the area I am talking about at the end of the street.

We discovered this the last day we stayed, diagonally across the street from the hotel there is this amazing park, I did see a lot of guests going over there to jog, but didn't think much of it until we ventured into the park. There is a zoo, and amazing botanical gardens, and other various things to do. It is worth the time to check it out.

Room Tip: My room was on the forth floor, and we love it. One thing to keep in mind the elevator is small and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2beonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    198
    138
    59
    36
See reviews for
72
226
24
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

One member of staff in particular was very helpful, went out of his way to help find a restaurant that would suit our needs and recommended a fantastic place. Small hotel but clean, fantastic locations, 20 minute walk to the Notre Dam. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashleigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Other reviews that describe this hotel as small are no exaggeration. There were 4 of us staying in 2 double rooms. We all slept wonderfully as the hotel was quiet and the rooms faced an internal courtyard (small) so did not get the light too early in the morning. The rooms were cool and comfortable (though small) and the beds were really comfortable. The breakfast was basic but everything was there - ham, cheese, croissants, pain au chocolate, coffee tea juices cereals etc. We found the location excellent with a walk through the gardens to the last stop of the Batobus which we use to get up and down the Seine. We visited a fab italian style restaurant twice which was about 200 yards down Rue de Linne, very reasonable and great food excellent waiting staff.
Plenty of shops nearby and a metro. I would not hesitate to come here again though the pictures do not give a realistic impression of the place - I think fancy lenses and lighting must have been employed! Even so, would recommend without hesitation.
The botanic gardens are truly wonderful even if you are not into plants you couldn't help but love these gardens.

Room Tip: 012 and 014 face inwards to the courtyard so they don't get too light in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnsparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have stayed there twice, 8 years apart. Both times it has been ideal. Last week it was a haven away from the tourism of central Paris and yet only a 20 minutes walk from Notre Dame. It has Metro stations nearby, plus good bus routes. The place is in the most lovely local community with cafes and restaurants all around. Plus of course the wonderful Jardin Des Plantes park and museums just opposite. It is simple, clean and the staff are very polite. The area is part of an inner city village with others close by, a lovely market just over the hill. A real lived in and lovely neighbourhood. I would recommend it as a great place to have as a base for a nice few days in Paris.

Room Tip: We were in a back room first time, 8 years ago and a front room last week. They suggested that the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBayerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here at very short notice for one night on business, this was the only hotel within my budget for miles around. The rooms were quite small and a bit dated but it was clean and in a very good location. The area behind the hotel is quite lively with a lot of bars and quite a few restaurants to choose from.

Overall, the hotel was ok but if you book further in advance you can get a lot better value for money in Paris.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_and_Tilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We were all very happy with our stay - both adults and children. Good location, 3 minutes to the Metro station - 2 lines No. 7 and 10. Walking distance to Notre Dame. The hotel is situated right across the botanical gardens of Paris - Jardin des Plantes - a haven. Interesting museums and a zoo.
"Mouffe14"

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cissy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Upon arrival, we asked to change rooms to have a street view. It wasn't a problem. This hotel is surrounded by local bakeries, restaurants and markets. Its located down the street from the metro station and directly across the street from the bus stop. The breakfast was fresh and the staff was great. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashraf F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#578 of 1,802 in Paris
546 reviews
Quartier Latin
Qualys Hotel Apolonia Mouffetard Paris 5
Quartier Latin
Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Best Western Quartier Latin Pantheon
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Arenes
Hotel des Arenes
#969 of 1,802 in Paris
440 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
#223 of 1,802 in Paris
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timhotel Jardin des Plantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timhotel Jardin des Plantes

Property: Timhotel Jardin des Plantes
Address: 5 rue Linne, 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,261 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Timhotel Jardin des Plantes 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 5 story hotel located opposite the Botanical Gardens in the Latin Quarter - 1/2 kilometer to Austerlitz train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Timhotel Jardin des Plantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timhotel Jardin Des Plantes Hotel Paris
Timhotel Jardin Des Plantes Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing