We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“boutique with small bedrooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoires Opera Hotel
Ranked #1,294 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“boutique with small bedrooms”
Reviewed 29 January 2008

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in January 2005. The hotel had a wonderful boutique feel to it and the rooms were stylish. The Victoires is very central and you can walk to many attractions. I would warn you that the hotel is not cheap and you don't get much room for your money so be warned. Other than that we had a trouble free and very enjoyable experience staying here.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small bedroom for 3nights
  • Stayed January 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Emma853536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    93
    34
    35
    61
See reviews for
44
102
16
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2008

There is no point in booking this hotel, because as previous reviews attest, there is a good chance you won't get to stay there. We made our reservation for two junior suites in October through Eurostar and when we showed up with our three tired children on January 3 we were told by the receptionist that our rooms weren't available and they would send us by taxi to a hotel miles away on a busy street in a much less desirable neighborhood. I spoke to the owner on the phone who claimed there was some sort of heating problem--the lobby was plenty warm--and that he'd give us a deal next time we came. As if! Instead, we checked into the Westin nearby, no problem getting rooms at the last minute, just more expensive. Now I am asking for a full refund from the booking agent and will definitely fight for it. Hotels shouldn't be allowed to get away with this, and customers should not accept anything less than what they paid for.
By the way, although the rooms look nice on the internet, the lobby furniture was practically threadbare.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — we couldn't stay there--classic 'bait and switch' operation
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WorldTraveler5London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

London, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2007

My partner and I chose this hotel after a great deal of careful internet research. On arrival, we were pleased with our choice; pleasant and stylish reception and well located in the city. However, our pleasure quickly turned to misery as we were greated by being told that "plumbing problems" meant that we couldn't stay there and had to stay instead at a sister hotel called 'Washington Opera'. To be honest, I didn't believe this for one minute; it was so obviously an excuse that gets trotted out with regularity. After several minutes talking with the receptionist, who simply kept repeating "its not possible", we walked to the Washington Opera hotel. This hotel was very ordinary and had a stale smell of cigarette smoke in the rooms; definitely not anywhere near as nice as the Victoires where we had chosen to stay. I would definitely NOT return to either of these hotels as the whole experience was awful.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
Helpful?
3 Thank Holidaymaker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2007

On our visit to Paris this fall, we booked this hotel based on previous reviews. For the most part, the hotel lived up to our expectations. It is a nice, recently renovated, boutique hotel in a fabulous location. Although the rooms and bathrooms were on the smaller side when compared to those in America, they were still very comfortable. You can't beat the price of this hotel for the location! Close to Les Halles, it was easy to get around to all the major sights either on foot or via train. The staff was very accomodating with our early arrival and also helpful in making restaurant recommendations/reservations. We can't wait to visit Paris again soon and will definitely be staying here again!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bathrooms a litte small
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoTravelerX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2007

Pre booked this hotel via 'lastminute' about 1 month before travel. Paid almost 500 euros up front at the time of booking. Arrived on the last eurostar from London and got to the hotel at about 9.30pm. We were told our room was no longer available and we would be put in another hotel close by. We were not happy, but the only member of staff availbale stated he could do nothing......then became rude and started shouting at us!! Manager was unavailable until the following day. Ended up in another hotel, which was rubbish and all the rooms had obviously been occupied by heavy smokers. Having read some reviews on this website, it would appear that this is quite a common problem. We spoke to the manager the following morning, but didn't see him until midday. This meant we had to hang around until then, as we felt we had to get the situation sorted out. The manager stated a whole floor at the Victoires Opera had been put out of action. I don't believe this for one minute. They simply overbook and whoever turns up first, gets the hotel they booked. This ruined the start of our short weekend stay in Paris. The manager eventually gave us a nasty bottle of champagne 'on the house' and stated we could come back to the Victoires Opera any other weekend of our choice, totally free. This was the least he could do, but it didn't make up for the awful start to the trip. BE WARNED!!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerr_edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2007

My husband had heard great reviews about The Victoires Opera's location from a friend, so we booked for one week's stay. The best feature of the Hotel is that it is located in a pedestrian street, filled with aromas (flower market, boulangeries, meat market, fruits and vegetables, cheese store) and it is not touristy at all. THAT was what we were looking for. We like to experience the places we visit as close to the life people live there. Our standard hotel room was very small but enough for two of us. The internet conection worked fine. The room was spotless and the bathroom although small, was very clean too. Nice Roger &Gallet toiletries every day. The shower had very good pressure. Staff in reception were very attentive and helpfull, spoke Spanish and English, and where very discrete. Newspapers available daily. Would definetely stay again at this nice hotel.

  • Liked — Location and nearby facilities like VELIB bicycle stations, and metro
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Viajera007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2007

I have now stayed here a few times, because the location of this hotel is perfect. Smack in the center on one of the 'hippest' rues of Paris. Access via the RER from CDG is a snap and once there getting around is easy, with plenty of metro stations around (although the closest taxi stand is always empty). The hotel itself is difficult to classify. The small reception is friendly and pretty efficient, the one elevator one of the slowest in the world. Rooms are decent, although small. Beds are comfortable. Some of the bathrooms so small they are difficult for even an average sized person to use (and I am very average sized). Phone reception in the area is not easy and Wifi through SFR very expensive. Rooms facing the street can be noisy, even on the higher floors. And breakfast is too expensive for what it is at 12 Euros. But everything is right there, which is a giant plus, newspapers are free and plentyful and the hotel overall is quite charming.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank maurikei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Golden Tulip Hotel Washington Opera
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Bachaumont
Hotel Bachaumont
#194 of 1,800 in Paris
321 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#269 of 1,800 in Paris
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Odyssey by Elegancia
Hotel Odyssey by Elegancia
#193 of 1,800 in Paris
644 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel du Cygne
Hotel du Cygne
#1,079 of 1,800 in Paris
192 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Bellan
Hotel Bellan
#1,396 of 1,800 in Paris
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoires Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoires Opera Hotel

Property: Victoires Opera Hotel
Address: 56 rue Montorgueil, 75002 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#486 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoires Opera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Victoires Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Victoires Opera
Victoires Opera Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing