We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Hotel - Terrific Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Gaillon Opera
Ranked #1,220 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 15 August 2007

We stayed at this hotel for a week, and it's a perfect base for exploring Paris. The location is perfect, close to several metro stations, the Louvre, the Opera, Galeries Lafayette. Felt safe even late at night coming back to the hotel The staff were very helpful. Of course, rooms and bathrooms are on the small side, but we spent very little time at the hotel, so did not care much about that. Instead of having breakfast at the hotel, explore the cafes outside, there is a great one around the corner.

  • Stayed: December 2003, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasmineMarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2007

We stayed during Bastille weekend and had a great time. Cute hotel in perfect location. Its an easy metro ride to all great tourist sights. The rooms are small but clean, tidy, good bed and friendly staff. The air condition was fantastic in the very warm weather. The breakfast is not included and reasonable priced but not overly fresh. But there are loads of bakeries and cafes nearby. Its a quite hotel. I have only given 4* as it could do with being redecorated just started to look a little used. But don't let this put you off, it is a lovely hotel. There is also some great resturants nearby especially the japanise if you feel brave.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetp0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2007

My wife and two kids stayed at the Hotel Gaillon during our visit to Paris; the Hotel gives a feeling of a bed and breakfast with a lot of personality. Bigger is not always better; we were accomodated with a Quad for four people . Eventhough it was not very large, it had all the necessities and a couple of balconies with a feel of a home. The staff was superb
As far as location, it does not get any better...walking distance from the Louvre, the Opera, Notre Dame, Palaces, Gardens. The Eifell Tower was about 35 minutes away if you skip the metro, but who cares when you are walking along the Seine looking at Wonderfully sculptured buildings...definitely recommend it. I spoke French, but the majority of the French folks around the tourist areas can manage english conversations

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alger136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2007

My husband and I recently spent a week in Paris before going to London. We stayed at the same hotel we stayed at 20 years ago. The Hotel Gaillon has a great location, is quaint and romantic--but updated enough for internet access and cable TV (although we didn't use much of either!). The staff was not only polite--but friendly and let me practice my French. I even got the e-mail of one of the young men so we could help each other with our Franglais! This is a romantic, romantic place--the rooms are small, but clean and comfortable and many have balconies. It's within walking distance of great restaurants and museums and many metro stops (the metro is a cinch to use in Paris). Don't believe that Parisians don't like Americans--it's the ideal place to visit! (Also--money exchange is easy, and you won't get gouged).
WooltrappedinMidwest

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WooltrappedinMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2006

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights over a weekend.

The position is excellent, close to l'Opera, Louvre etc. and quiet being on a side road. The room for three of us was not huge but much bigger than some we've had. The bathroom was fine, and everything worked as it should.

The staff were all helpful and very pleasant, despite our bad French. The feel of the hotel was very warm, informal, and welcoming, with beams etc. Breakfast, was typically French - coffee/tea, juice, rolls, croissant etc.

The only downside was the smallest lift in the world!! We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doubtfuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2006

Just got back from Paris where my mother and I stayed at the Best Western Gaillon for 3 nights. This hotel is located off a side street of the Bouvelard D'Opera and is walking distance to shopping, food and an American book store. Our website only offered a room with a double bed. We found the room was extremely small but clean. The carpet was old. The bathroom was clean and adequately furnished with soap, shampoo, etc. We didn't use the hairdryer but there was one. Air conditioning worked. Ordered breakfast in the room and received it within 3 mins; croissants, rolls, coffee and orange juice for 10€ per person. It was cheaper than buying a breakfast from a cafe. The staff were VERY FRIENDLY. Many thanks to Celine for her assistance. She made us feel like "one of the family". If you're looking for American luxury, you may want another hotel because this is a small hotel but cozy. The rooms w/twin beds were already booked and we booked our reservation at the last minute. COULD NOT BEAT THE LOCATION! 2 mins walk to bus stop, 5 mins to the Opera, 15 mins to Galeries Lafayette. Staff will call a taxi for you and also booked shows if you wish. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Perth, Western Australia
1
Reviewed 13 June 2006

My mother and I stayed at the Hotel Gaillon Opera when we visited Paris for her 50th birthday in May, 2006. We had such a fantastic time and couldn't have asked for a better hotel. We wanted something typically "parisienne", which is exactly what we got. We had a gorgeous little room overlooking the street, which was, unfortunately, a bit noisy because of some constuction going on across the street, but this was of no fault to the hotel. However, because the room was so nice, the noise was only a very small price to pay. Yes, the room was small, but they’re all like that in Paris, and I actually liked the fact that the room was small, as it added to the parisienne feel of our stay. The rooms were very clean and were made up for us everyday. The bathroom was recently renovated, so was very new and clean. The breakfasts were simple, but nice – a typical French breakfast of pastries and croissants, and you could either have breakfast downstairs or in the comfort of your room, which was really nice. The location of the hotel was great – set amidst the bustling Opera district, which is fabulous for shopping! And only a 5-10 minute stroll to the Lourve, as well as other attractions. The staff were brilliant! So friendly and helpful. Thanks so much Laurent, Ivan, Celine, and staff for making our stay so memorable. I would definitely recommend Hotel Gaillon to others, and next time I’m in Paris I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Ibis Styles Paris Lafayette Opera
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#311 of 1,803 in Paris
196 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Louvre Marsollier Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Opera Cadet Hotel
Opera Cadet Hotel
#285 of 1,803 in Paris
1,538 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Le Regent
Hotel Le Regent
#754 of 1,803 in Paris
333 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Cecilia Arc De Triomphe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Gaillon Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Gaillon Opera

Address: 9 rue Gaillon | 2nd Arr., 75002 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,220 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £80 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Gaillon Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a 17th-century building, Best Western Gaillon Opéra is in a quiet street in the heart of the tourist area of the 2nd arrondissement of Paris. A few steps from the Opéra Garnier, the Gaillon Opera will surprise you with its exceptional location between the Louvre Museum, the Opera, the Seine, the Madeleine and the department stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Gaillon Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gaillon Opera Hotel Paris
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing