We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit Isn't A Charm”
Review of Hotel Britannique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Britannique
Ranked #153 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Second Visit Isn't A Charm”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel. We stayed at Hotel Britannique in 2010 and not much has changed even the breakfast was the same. They are what they say they are which is a three star hotel. They remind you that you do not get what other 4 and 5 star hotels offer such as luggage service and someone to open the door for you. We decided to stay here again because of the location and the price is not bad for a Paris hotel. The hotel is nicely decorated and the rooms are clean and decorated in French fashion. They could use a few touch-ups here and there but overall our stay was satisfactory/average. My biggest disappointment was that we booked this room in December and told them we were celebrating our 40th anniversary. I had asked for a room on a high floor and a balcony. Upon checking in, we were given a room on the 1st floor and were told that if you want a balcony you have to pay $45 extra. That information is not on their website so you have to know to ask in person or by email. The breakfast is good an a good price at 14 Euro pp. Overall, it was a nice place to stay but nothing exceptional.

Room Tip: If you have special requirements, confirm those by email.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pickle444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,005
    453
    66
    24
    5
See reviews for
233
861
110
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

After reading all the wonderful reviews, I booked the Hotel Britannique for a night business trip in Paris and it was good, but not excellent. Staff was OK, helpful, did their job without a smile or a warm welcome. I arrived at 12:45, too early for check-in, so needed to use a toilet to change clothes. The toilet downstairs is tiny so it was a struggle. They told me to leave my bag in a room, but they don't put any tag with your room number on it "You can leave your bag in there and check-in later". My double room (#33) was extremely small, the smallest I've ever stayed in Europe. The location is superb, the hotel is very clean and charming. The gentleman that works in the evening is really nice and friendly. If you are on holidays, are looking for a boutique hotel and don't mind a very small place (toilets, lift, corridors, room) then you will enjoy it.

Room Tip: Room #33 is very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, FL
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This charming boutique hotel has it all- superior location close to Notre Dame, the Seine, Latin Quarter and Louvre. Walk to all these points of interest and more. Several Metro lines very close to hotel if needed. Many restaurants/bistros within 5 minutes of hotel.
Décor is warm and very romantic. Cleanliness can not be beat at any price- any where. Friendly staff willing to go above the norm to accommodate your every need. King room was very ample in size for a Paris room. Plenty of closet space which is using missing in a Parisian hotel room. Opted for breakfast and not disappointed. Good quality- a bit more than a continental breakfast. Would highly recommend this hotel. Found it in Trip Advisor - reviewers were fair and accurate.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duffydog100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We found the Hotel through Trip Advisor for our recent stay in Paris. Very nice refreshed room decors, helpful staff and location within walking distance of Paris's best atrractions. We can't say enough nice things about the hotel and the way we were treated. Our room had a view of the street below, a little noisy late at night otherwise very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Village, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We absolutely loved the location of this hotel! We could walk literally everywhere! It is centrally located in between 2 train stops but we didn't even need to take it because we could walk to everywhere we wanted. You are one block off of the Seine The only thing you are NOT near is the Eiffel tower but you don't want to stay there anyway - trust me. Here you can walk to the Louvre, the left back, Notre Dame, …even the Champs Elysees - and we fell in love with our little neighborhood! We found an a awesome little organic wine bar "La Garde Robe" that we LOVED. The bed was SO comfortable and the bathroom in our room was big - we were only one level up - didn't bother me at all my husband would have liked a higher room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Enjoyed an all-too-short one night visit here in May. The location of the hotel cannot be beat--central and easy walking distance to Notre Dame, and the Louvre. The hotel's right-bank location is in a relatively quiet and leafy neighborhood with abundant charming choices for dinner and drinks. Our room was efficient,me harming and clean if small (this is Paris after all). We would happily stay here again and hope to do so one day on a return to Paris.

Room Tip: Our room at the back was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CincinTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a beautiful stay in this hotel. Staff were extremely friendly and courteous. Bedrooms are small but immaculately clean and well appointed. Bathroom even had a retractable, clothes line upon which to dry wet coats. Hotel well situated fot the sights we wanted to see. We walked everywhere. Some very nice bistro restaurants less than100 metres from the door. We shall return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#464 of 1,800 in Paris
679 reviews
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#62 of 1,800 in Paris
665 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Elixir
Hotel Elixir
#674 of 1,800 in Paris
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#701 of 1,800 in Paris
213 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#269 of 1,800 in Paris
181 reviews
Les Halles
Le Relais des Halles
Le Relais des Halles
#14 of 1,800 in Paris
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Britannique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Britannique

Property: Hotel Britannique
Address: 20 avenue Victoria, 75001 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Britannique 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Britannique in its present location, dates from 1860, in an impressive building built in the time of Napoleon III. The cosy and lush decoration of the hotel recalls the 19th century English and French styles. Being recently renovated, the hotel offers an old world style with all the comforts of modern times. All 39 of the hotel's rooms have a private ensuite bathroom, international television, high-speed wi-fi access, a courtesy tray, a minibar, a bathrobe, luxury welcome products....The reception is also there to generously welcome you 24/7 and to make sure that your Parisian stay is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Britannique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing