We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic staff & hotel”
Review of Hotel Britannique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Britannique
Ranked #164 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff & hotel”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel is a wonderful find in Paris. The staff came to the rescue when 9 of us were stranded at the train station because of the taxi strike. They worked until they found us a van, and kept me informed of the status. That was a life-saver! The hotel is on a lovely tree-lined street, near metro stops, & in a great location for Notre Dame, the Louvre, Marais district. The staff, specifically Alexandra, Nicole, and Fari, spoke excellent English and went beyond expectations to help with anything we needed. The night receptionist was an excellent source of wisdom in trying to make plans during the extended rail strike. Our Standard rooms were small but advertised that way and they were nicely decorated, and CLEAN. The bathrooms were really tiny, but so well designed that you had ample spaces to put all your toiletries, A/C worked wonderfully. I asked to see a Deluxe room, and the extra space is worth paying the extra money. The beds were the best I've ever had in Paris - SO comfortable! The sitting room off the lobby is lovely and makes you feel completely relaxed and at home. But the best part of the hotel was the staff - ready to help with any request. The two restaurants they recommended were around the corner and food was great, ambiance very French, and we were treated wonderfully - an overall great experience. You will not be disappointed with this gem of a hotel in Paris!

Room Tip: All rooms are different sizes, so ask for a larger room in the category you are booking. The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    447
    65
    24
    5
See reviews for
225
850
109
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Visiting Paris is always a treat and finding a great hotel is a treat!!! The Hotel Britannique is such a treat. Wonderful location!!! Easy access to taxis and the Metro and lots of great places to eat really close by. The front desk staff is extremely helpful and their English is excellent for those who need English. There is a small elevator which is also helpful. The beds were GREAT!!!! The rooms are small but doable. There is a lovely breakfast for an additional fee, but there is also a fabulous boulangerie around the corner. We will visit again!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emailln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Not my first time at this hotel. I keep coming back so I must like it. I guess because it is so conveniently located and the decoration is so handsome.

On the Plus side: ideally situated in the heart of Paris, close to the main transportation hub of the capital, yet in a very quiet street. Decoration of the lobby and sitting area is exquisite and this also applies to the room to a certain extent. Nice closet in the room. Nice albeit simple breakfast. Desk receptionists were helpful and cordial. Good AC.

On the Minus side: well, you are in Paris, so expect anything to be small. This certainly is true at Hotel Britannique. Sometimes just too small, like my minuscule desk where my tiny laptop would only open if placed sideways etc. Showerhead was not working, so had to use the tub instead. Wifi was flimsy at times. Struggled with the power outlets, especially those placed on the slant surface of the roof deck.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Beautiful hotel with a lovely Parisienne feel. Well located for easy walks to Louvre, Notre Dame, Marais district. Very nice and helpful staff, especially helped us when trying to book things online. Have a computer in the lounge area available to guests. The wifi connection could be difficult at times. Overall a great stay for our first time in Paris. Very clean rooms and bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TassieGal67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff and impeccable service. Had a room with balcony and would sit outside and watch the tower twinkle at night. Very convenient location with wonderful boulangerie nearby. Close to metro and a block from Seine.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shensadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Simply put, this is the best hotel I've ever stayed in. The rooms are small, but the decor is very bespoke and they make the most of the space, there's a real boutique feel to it. Staff are so so so accommodating and helpful, by far the most pleasant hotel staff I have ever come across. Just extremely approachable and helpful. The location is fantastic, close to one of the main shopping streets with high street labels such as zara,forever 21 ,mango etc. Notre dame, and the iconic love lock bridge is only five or so min walk. The Eiffel tower is also close by! It was a pleasure coming back to this warm inviting hotel each evening, I'd highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I've just returned from my 5th stay at the Britannique, and once again, this was a very enjoyable 6 nights for me and my husband. The lovely establishment, which is in a very pleasant and convenient location, contributed to our fabulous visit to Paris. The staff is very friendly and competent, and we felt very welcome and in good hands from the moment we arrived.

We ate most of our breakfasts in the boulangerie around the corner, but since it was closed on Sunday, we decided to try the hotel breakfast for the first time. What a lovely meal to start the day! We found it to be more than satisfactory and definitely worth 14 euros. We happily opted to eat there a second time on our last day, when we discovered that the boulangerie was going to open later than usual due to a holiday. On both days that we had the hotel breakfast, we skipped lunch.

Thank you, Hotel Britannique, for our wonderful 6 nights! We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: I always request a street-view room. If you require lots of closet space, go for a classic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shoesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#331 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#82 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#153 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#683 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Elixir
Hotel Elixir
#691 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Les Halles
Le Relais des Halles
Le Relais des Halles
#13 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Britannique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Britannique

Property: Hotel Britannique
Address: 20 avenue Victoria, 75001 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Britannique 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Britannique in its present location, dates from 1860, in an impressive building built in the time of Napoleon III. The cosy and lush decoration of the hotel recalls the 19th century English and French styles. Being recently renovated, the hotel offers an old world style with all the comforts of modern times. All 39 of the hotel's rooms have a private ensuite bathroom, international television, high-speed wi-fi access, a courtesy tray, a minibar, a bathrobe, luxury welcome products....The reception is also there to generously welcome you 24/7 and to make sure that your Parisian stay is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Britannique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing