We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Trip to Paris”
Review of Hotel Britannique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Britannique
Ranked #146 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The Hotel Britannique is a diamond in the rough. The location cannot be beaten by any other hotel in Paris. The price is an incredible value. The staff are friendly and helpful and all speak English very well. They enjoy Americans and showing you how to navigate to various sights. They were also very helpful when calling from the USA asking for advice finding restaurants for reservations, etc. And finally, the hotel is adorable and charming with a very French renaissance feel. Truly old world charm, but with modern immaculate bathrooms and bedding where everything worked great. Plenty of hot water and cool air conditioning. Very very clean!! Also very nice breakfast room with great food. The front street is quiet and tree-lined. Our room had a balcony that over looked the street. This hotel is also remarkably located closest to the main transfer hub of the Metro, so you can get everywhere in Paris with a couple hundred feet walk to the Metro. It is one street in from the Seine and a 5 minute walk from Notre Dame, Île Saint-Louis, and Left bank. This hotel simple cannot be beat. I would never stay anywhere else in Paris when returning!!

Room Tip: Room 21 and 22, deluxe kings with balconies; or top floor suites with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JimboDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 1,570 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Once again I feel the need to tell people how lovely this little hotel is.

It is small; quaint and very handy for all amenities.

We have been returning again and again and again - and will continue to do so.

I am sure there are plenty of lovely hotels in Paris but I would never look anywhere else. It is so convenient for everything and is also in a nice quite and safe area of Paris.

Its not the cheapest and probably not the most expensive but it is clean; tidy; convenient and the staff are all exceedingly pleasant and go out of their way to help you.

Room Tip: Sorry - not divulging this!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Crystalfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I traveled to Paris alone, 21 year old female, and wanted a safe place to stay that was walking distance from tourist attractions of Paris. Hotel Britannique was exactly what I was looking for. I speak a little French, but the staff speaks English, they are very willing to help, and very friendly! I felt at home coming back to the hotel every night. The room was so sweet and quaint, very clean, very nice bathroom, amenities, fast and free wifi (very important!). I could see the Eiffel Tower sparkle at midnight from the 6th floor every night! The housekeeping staff made the room very nice when I left and we're always very friendly when I saw them in the hallways. The hotel was decorated nice, very warm and inviting. Air conditioning in each room!

Proximity of the hotel was excellent. I was able to walk to the Louvre in <10 minutes, along the Seine. Near the Chatelet metro stop, which is a major line connecting to a lot of popular areas. Price was fair for everything that was included.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lales3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Close to Louvre, Notre Dame and the river which provides access too many other icons of the city.
Comfortable rooms but not spacious.
Staff were very helpful.
Breakfast was great.
Great location for restaurants which you will need as hotel only provides breakfast.
Would use again.
probably not best choice if you cannot manage stairs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nugg57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent 2 nights last week at this excellent hotel - spacious room by Parisian standards, very comfortable and quiet - and the air conditioning was a very welcome feature during hot summer nights in the middle of the city. Friendly and helpful staff. And all this just 5 minutes walk from the Ile de la Cite. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GPF460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This small hotel is located very central and close to notre dame, museum Louvren, the bridge with locks (couples can put their pad lock to the bridge (very romantic. The subway is directly outside the entré to the hotel on a quit small road. No traffic jam. Quiet when sleeping. Our room got a balcony with nice view. Its walk distansen also to the old town. A lots of restaurants in the sorrounding. Negative: small room. But the room is romantic and clean. So it doesnt matter. The breakfast buffe is continal and OK! .......VERY GOOD LOCATION.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank maria n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This small hotel has lovely rooms, friendly staff and is well located to see the sights of Paris. We have had some lovely times when staying here. Also It is close to Le Metro so travel to and from rail stations etc. Is easy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Neil and Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#524 of 1,803 in Paris
688 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Elixir
Hotel Elixir
#644 of 1,803 in Paris
515 reviews
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#54 of 1,803 in Paris
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#702 of 1,803 in Paris
217 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#326 of 1,803 in Paris
184 reviews
Les Halles
Des Ducs d'Anjou
Des Ducs d'Anjou
#1,026 of 1,803 in Paris
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Britannique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Britannique

Address: 20 avenue Victoria, 75001 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £131 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Britannique 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Britannique in its present location, dates from 1860, in an impressive building built in the time of Napoleon III. The cosy and lush decoration of the hotel recalls the 19th century English and French styles. Being recently renovated, the hotel offers an old world style with all the comforts of modern times. All 39 of the hotel's rooms have a private ensuite bathroom, international television, high-speed wi-fi access, a courtesy tray, a minibar, a bathrobe, luxury welcome products....The reception is also there to generously welcome you 24/7 and to make sure that your Parisian stay is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Britannique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing