We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Value In An Expensive City”
Review of Hotel Britannique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Britannique
Ranked #147 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2005

This is my second time at the Britannique in six years. It was nice that nothing has really changed and that it continues to live up to it's high reviews. It really is a good value and you could live off the breakfast alone. Yes the rooms are small, you barely walk around the bed in some of them. The problem I had on this visit was with noise. I had a street side room and the noise from passing cars continued all night long. I didn't have this problem on my first visit when I had a room in the rear of the building. So, request a rear room or bring ear plugs! The second thing was that the walls are thin. People coming in late or watching TV can easily be heard and we were actually woken up two nights in a row by the guy next door snoring! The desk called him and he would stop but they had no other room to move us too. Between the snoring, TV and the traffic it made it hard to sleep. Ideally you should ask for a corner room in the back of the hotel. Otherwise the staff and the service were wonderful. The location is excellent.

6  Thank amp94596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,279 - 1,285 of 1,570 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2005

Just got back today from a 6 day stay. Overall this hotel is great. The location is perfect and the rooms are nice. The only drawback is the sound proofing between the rooms. It literally sounds like the people in the next room are in your room. If it was not for that, this would be the perfect hotel.

Stayed: December 2005
9  Thank mapmaker64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney, Australia
212
Reviewed 16 December 2005

Very romantic hotel in the heart of Paris with nice friendly staff. We stayed here in November 2005. Beautifully renovated room, small however lovely furntiture, great bed, near new bathroom. We found the location perfect for our holiday in france, 50 metres from the river and metro stop, theatre & many restaurants. You will be the one smiling if you stay here.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2005

Just stayed for 1nt on business in Paris. As i was choosing the hotel for my colleagues I chose the Brittannique on the back of the previous reviews. This was my 4th stay in Paris and this was the best room I have stayed in by a considerable margin. New bathroom, flat screen TV, view onto a quiet tree-lined street, good sized rooms exquisitely decorated. Friendly check in staff with excellent English who offered to help with taxis/restaurants etc. Well worth the money. A short walk or an even shorter taxi (10Euro) to all the sights but the metro is next door.
You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: November 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank paulgiles1670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2005

We spent 5 nights at the Hotel Britannique this past Nov. 2005. Found the property from Trip Advisor. We were extremely pleased. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, in the 1st district-Close to everything tourist-wise and perfect for soaking up local french culture.
Found the restaurants around the hotel to be good, but expensive. Most food in Paris restaurants will set you back some serious Euros. The hotel does not offer room service (food) other than breakfast. So make sure you bring back snacks to eat during those hungry times while your adjusting to the time change or you don't want to leave your room. We came from California and often found ourselves hungry at 3am with nothing to eat, until 8am. Asma at the front lobby desk, was extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel was very clean and charming. Also, check their website before your departure to Paris. We found that they were offering a 10% discount and had our room rate adjusted because of it.

10  Thank Hilary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2005

We just returned from a week's stay at the Britannique and loved it. Believe all the good stuff you read about this hotel on Trip Advisor...it's true. We had two rooms, my husband, myself and our 5-year old in one, and our two teenage daughters in the other. Both rooms were fine size-wise, extremely clean, roomy and spotless bathrooms. The staff were incredibly helpful in all ways and extremely attentive...and the place oozes with charm on the exterior (great neighborhood...very romantic walks in all directions and as noted....next to all the major attractions); and the interior done in extremely good taste and again, oozing with charm. My husband noted the hotel is remarkably quiet for being in such a central location - another plus. Cannot say enough nice things about this place.... We have traveled extensively world-wide and are extremely picky...but this place matched our expectations perfectly. Note, I have not seen any commentary regarding the hotel's handling of young children so would like to add that we had a wonderful experience in this regard..and no issues at all. Would also like to ditto comments on Cafe Zimmer...and also try the Chinese / Thai restaurant...both directly across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank edward94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2005

I stayed at the Hotel Britannique from 9/27/05 to 10/6/05. This is an excellent choice for anyone that wants to be in the heart of Paris at an affordable rate. The hotel was right next to the Chatelet Metro and within walking distance of the Louvre, Notre Dame, Saint Chappelle, le Seine and Musee d'Orsay. The rooms were large enough for 1-2 people comfortably. The bathrooms were a little small and I would have like a larger bath/shower area. The hotel staff was very helpful and spoke English and could understand my partial French. The interior decoration was very charming and clean, with a nice breakfast every day. I was extremely satisfied with my choice of hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

4  Thank Travelpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#522 of 1,803 in Paris
688 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Elixir
Hotel Elixir
#643 of 1,803 in Paris
515 reviews
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#52 of 1,803 in Paris
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#698 of 1,803 in Paris
218 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#295 of 1,803 in Paris
184 reviews
Les Halles
Des Ducs d'Anjou
Des Ducs d'Anjou
#1,025 of 1,803 in Paris
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Britannique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Britannique

Address: 20 avenue Victoria, 75001 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £126 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Britannique 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Britannique in its present location, dates from 1860, in an impressive building built in the time of Napoleon III. The cosy and lush decoration of the hotel recalls the 19th century English and French styles. Being recently renovated, the hotel offers an old world style with all the comforts of modern times. All 39 of the hotel's rooms have a private ensuite bathroom, international television, high-speed wi-fi access, a courtesy tray, a minibar, a bathrobe, luxury welcome products....The reception is also there to generously welcome you 24/7 and to make sure that your Parisian stay is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Britannique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing