We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location”
Review of Hotel Britannique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Britannique
Ranked #153 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“perfect location”
Reviewed 22 January 2006

This was my first trip to Paris and the hotel exceeded what I expected for what I payed. The location was great and I was able to walk to many attractions and the main metro line (Chatelet). I would highly recommended this hotel to anyone. The staff was helpful and polite and the rooms were cute and very clean.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    997
    450
    66
    24
    5
See reviews for
229
857
110
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2006

Chose the Britannique for our 7th visit to Paris and it is definitely the best 3 star hotel and the best location yet. Beautiful little room, exceptionally clean, lovely touches such as fluffly white bathrobes and Annik Goutal toiletries and your own safe. Wonderful view from our room on 6th floor, we could see the ice skaters skating outside the Hotel de Ville. Terrific location for eveything you may want to see. DO have the breakfast, at E13 it's incredible value for Paris. Cornflakes, muesli, fresh fruit salad, scrambled or boiled eggs, good yoghurt, fruit compote, all types of bread, rolls, pain raisin, pain chocolat, croissants, nice juices, iced water, two types of ham, little sausages, cheeses, nuttella, jams, etc. Plus point you help yourself to everything and take a teapot and make your own tea just as you like it. You won't get all that in a cafe! The little lounge with the leather and velvet sofas is lovely for a pot of tea and staff very friendly. I would not want to stay anywhere else now. The lift is no smaller than most Paris hotel lifts which take max 3 persons. There are even hotel umbrellas in the lobby to borrow. Very nice 'home' shop next door and interesting little shops in the area, but Rue Rivoli and large shops just round the corner. Le Reminet restaurant, 3 rue des Grands Degres, highly recommended. About £75 for lovely meal, good bottle of wine and coffee for two. Very tiny so need to book. He opens at 7.30pm. Real cooking, not tourist food.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Daffedowndilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 January 2006

I stayed here Dec 12 - 15. Very cute hotel. Do not eat breakfast here - as in another review - go to the pastry shop around the corner mmmmm! Room was very small but it was clean and very nice. Elevator was the smallest elevator I have ever been in. Staff was very helpful and spoke English. Taxi pickup was a short walk - very nice. ATM was very close. Would probably not stay here again just because I would want to try another hotel in a different location. Enjoyed the tiny balcony.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Antrim, N. Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2006

We chose to stay at the Britannique after reading the other reviews from this website and it definitely did not disappoint. The room was small but very lavishly furnished, far better than higher grade hotels that you would stay in in London.

The hotel was perfectly situated, and although it was my third trip to Paris, I was able to see far more during this visit than I saw during the previous two visits combined.

The staff are extremely helpful and booked our restaurant tables, as well as giving us excellent directions to the various venues.

The Chatellet des Halles metro is literally 10 metres from the front door, although you would never know it, as there is no vibration, noise, or hectic pedestrian traffic in the area.

We will definitely be back. We couldn't have asked for anything more for the price - in my opinion a complete bargain.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Trev_Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 January 2006

We just got back from visiting Paris in December for the first time. The hotel was perfect. There was actually nothing that we could complain about. The rooms are small, but thats what most of the hotel rooms are like in europe. The room was very comfortable and very clean. With our room facing the main street, we couldnt hear any noise from the traffic. The only time we did is when we opened our lovely french doors to the balcony. The decor was nice giving a lovely french feel. And the staff were always kind and helpful.

It is in such a great location, because you are 20meters away from the main metro, and when you cross the street you are right on the Seine River! and took us only 10mins to walk to the Louvre. The area itself in which you are is beautiful. We came across some of the worse areas in Paris and Hotel Britannique in definately not in one of them. There is a very nice but a bit expensive restaurant just across the road on the left side corner called Le Zimmers, the food is very french and delicious. And when you walk out to your right around the corner is a cute little Patisserie/cafe with yummy rolls and cakes.

All round Hotel Britannique made our trip unforgetable. We will be definately be staying there again on our next trip coming up next year.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walnut creek, ca
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2005

This is my second time at the Britannique in six years. It was nice that nothing has really changed and that it continues to live up to it's high reviews. It really is a good value and you could live off the breakfast alone. Yes the rooms are small, you barely walk around the bed in some of them. The problem I had on this visit was with noise. I had a street side room and the noise from passing cars continued all night long. I didn't have this problem on my first visit when I had a room in the rear of the building. So, request a rear room or bring ear plugs! The second thing was that the walls are thin. People coming in late or watching TV can easily be heard and we were actually woken up two nights in a row by the guy next door snoring! The desk called him and he would stop but they had no other room to move us too. Between the snoring, TV and the traffic it made it hard to sleep. Ideally you should ask for a corner room in the back of the hotel. Otherwise the staff and the service were wonderful. The location is excellent.

Helpful?
6 Thank amp94596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2005

Just got back today from a 6 day stay. Overall this hotel is great. The location is perfect and the rooms are nice. The only drawback is the sound proofing between the rooms. It literally sounds like the people in the next room are in your room. If it was not for that, this would be the perfect hotel.

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
9 Thank mapmaker64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#374 of 1,802 in Paris
665 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#229 of 1,802 in Paris
170 reviews
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#73 of 1,802 in Paris
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#726 of 1,802 in Paris
207 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Elixir
Hotel Elixir
#683 of 1,802 in Paris
487 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#1,114 of 1,802 in Paris
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Britannique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Britannique

Property: Hotel Britannique
Address: 20 avenue Victoria, 75001 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Britannique 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Britannique in its present location, dates from 1860, in an impressive building built in the time of Napoleon III. The cosy and lush decoration of the hotel recalls the 19th century English and French styles. Being recently renovated, the hotel offers an old world style with all the comforts of modern times. All 39 of the hotel's rooms have a private ensuite bathroom, international television, high-speed wi-fi access, a courtesy tray, a minibar, a bathrobe, luxury welcome products....The reception is also there to generously welcome you 24/7 and to make sure that your Parisian stay is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Britannique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing