We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel Dechampaigne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Ranked #532 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We traveled to 8 countries and stayed 13 different places and the hospitality here was the BEST! Thanks! we were worried about not being able to communicate but everyone here was so helpful and the location could not be better!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Lorelei52462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 695 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

We were a family of three who shared a triple. The room was on the first floor. The room was very, very small--tiny is the word. It had three twin size beds with just enough room to walk from the bed to the bathroom. There was little room for our luggage, which we placed next to the entry door, which could be a safety liability in case of a fire. We would not have been able to open the door without moving the luggage. Sneaking peaks at a couple of other bedrooms, they also seemed to have crowded the beds into very, very tiny rooms just like what happened to us. The room was very quiet--which we liked.

The bathroom was large, but the tub was narrow. The shower curtain was unappealing. We had a separate room for the toilet which did not smell as clean as we would have liked. The room had a television with few English channels. The room safe was useful, but somewhat confusing instructions existed which could lead to an open safe. The wifi in the room worked very well. The free internet computer downstairs was hard to use because the keyboard was different to the ones we have in the United States.

The reception area is very small. If you arrive early, there was only the chairs in the eating area where you might be able to wait.

Our first day there, we left for numerous hours, and upon our return, our room was not made up. Our second day, I informed the front desk and our room had been cleaned when we returned. The front desk people were very nice, and spoke English, French and Spanish. I only wish that they were responsive to emails. I sent several emails prior to arriving and never received a response back.

Once outside the room, you can note the positive, and a very big positive--very close to Louvre, metro, walking distance to Notre Dame and other sites. Plenty of restaurants close by. No need to eat breakfast at the hotel. There was a patiserie that was nearby, but unfortunately was closed while we were there--owner on vacation. We had breakfast at McDonalds which was truly an enjoyable experience. McDonalds had a coffee bar with fresh pastries and a barrista. Drinks were given inside real cups with saucers. Restaurant Benjamin had great wait staff. There's a chinese restaurant and small grocery store next to/near the hotel. Rivoli street with all its shops was close by and made for fun afternoons.

Overall--I would probably look for another hotel if I were to return to Paris, but location was ideal for this hotel. Hotel Louvre Sainte Anne is in the same area. Maybe I would look into that hotel next time. If I only had a couple of nights and a back pack, and couldn't get another hotel in this location, I would come back to Hotel Dechampaigne.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4okay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I really liked this Hotel. It's centrally located to museums, Notre Dame, the metro. I stayed in early July, the price was reasonable and the room was comfortable. My only issue was the light in my room. I was in the back of the hotel and the decor seemed to make it darker. However the bed was comfortable, and the room clean. The staff is exemplary and I highly recommend this hotel! I can't wait to go back...

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leighla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This hotel was our second choice after a mistake was made with the dates of earlier bookings. However, we were not disappointed. The location is fantastic, so close to Notre Dame and St Chapelle as well as two metro stations. It was great to just walk out the door and find restaurants and cafes in abundance. The staff were also very helpful with advice on public transport and suggestions of where to eat. The rooms were clean, comfortable. I guess the only difficulty for us was having to share our breakfast table on the first morning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Very centrally located, right near Chatelet, but pretty hidden a block away from rue de Rivoli. The building is 400+ years old and looks it, in an attractive manner. Not exactly a business hotel, but quite 'real French' and sufficiently comfortable. Nice staff and small enough for quick service. Room was good, bed was two singles put together, which could have been better. Large bathroom, free wifi (which required re-check in every time used), small elevator (but this is an old building in Paris). Romantic getaway? Yes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maurikei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

A nice hotel with friendly service in a prime location if you want to walk to Le Louvre, Les Tuilleries, Notre Dame and plenty of shops, nice restaurants. The rooms are a bit small but quite sufficcient, our bathroom was tiny but since it is an old building there isnt very much the owners can do about that. There is no restaurant, only a breakfast room, but lots of good Bistros within easy reach. We thought we got very good value for our money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeannetteBerglund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

more grandiose than I expected! rooms look just like the pictures we found online when booking. very unique with lots of character. near a big street with 3 metro entrances close by but out of the way of major traffic. received great service. arrived on the overnight train before check in time but left our luggage and they were up in our rooms when we returned back!!! didnt have a good view but the bathroom was large and spacious

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Britannique
Hotel Britannique
#144 of 1,802 in Paris
1,575 reviews
Les Halles
Des Ducs d'Anjou
Des Ducs d'Anjou
#1,107 of 1,802 in Paris
366 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#1,103 of 1,802 in Paris
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#794 of 1,802 in Paris
220 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Elixir
Hotel Elixir
#650 of 1,802 in Paris
522 reviews
Le Marais
D'win Hotel
D'win Hotel
#1,057 of 1,802 in Paris
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dechampaigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dechampaigne

Address: 17 rue Jean Lantier, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#363 Family Hotel in Paris
#408 Business Hotel in Paris
#593 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £100 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Dechampaigne 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne Paris, built in the XVIth century, is the symbol of the French hospitality tradition, with delicate French decoration and architecture a refined service.Our staff will be pleased to welcome you in French, English, Spanish, Russian, Italian and German. The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne combines a high standard of comfort and the refined service of a friendly mansion within Paris: Few steps from, the Rivoli Street, les Halles, The Louvre Museum, Tuileries Garden, Concorde Square and Champs Elysees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Dechampaigne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing