We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the location that does it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Ranked #519 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Which ever way we approach the hotel the street is not the most attractive! Don't let put you off though.

Close to Notre Dame, Louvre and the use of Chatelet metro is ideal!

Rooms not the biggest, clean and tidy but probably ready for some re-decoration.
Lift on the small side and if it isn't working the stairs are not the easiest to use. View from the balcony is another building. At least you can sit out if you want.

Staff always pleasant, friendly and helpful.

Free WiFi in rooms, good enough to use Skype!

The area is awash with restaurants and also the shops along Rue de Rivoli.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Millennium T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alidalauf1607, Gérant at Grand Hotel Dechampaigne, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for your visit and for your time in writting your review. For us it was a pleasure to welcome you in our hoteln. All your suggestions are important for us and we take care on it. We will be pleased to welcome you again on your next visit to Paris.
Please receive our very best regards.
Mme LAUFERON / Owner
Raquel / Front Desk Manager
Olga & Alexandra Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

Very expensive for what you get. Decor very nice, pretty wallpaper and velvet bedspread/curtains, but room old, walls and skirting bad condition, very tiny, luckily we were only here two nights, wouldnt have been comfy for long stay. Blanket in between two sheets. Do not like hotels using blankets, like nice clean duvet and cover. Pillow comfy. Bedside tables and lamp adequate.Gap in wall at outlet pipe for loo, not sealed properly. Shower very powerful, but temperature hard to regulate. Too close to other guest rooms, could see couple on bed across tiny inner courtyard, felt like I was in a tenement! Very hot and stuffy. Aircom not great. Wonder what would happen if there was a fire emergency! Staff nice for most part. Location, excellent.
Found great place to eat, two streets away for breakfast and lunch, called Zimmer. Do go, I recommend it.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an outer room facing onto street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anne2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alidalauf1607, Gérant at Grand Hotel Dechampaigne, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for your visitr and for your time and your review.
We wish to say that as you maybe saw, our bulding was built in 1562 and it conserves the charming style of this historical French period. For this reason we are not able to broke walls to make bigger rooms. For us is important to inform you that our hotel security and cleanning rules are corresponding to France Laws criteria for 3 star hotels.
Please receive our very best regards.
Mme LAUFERON / Owner
Raquel / Front Desk Manager
Olga & Alexandra Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The rooms are clean but small. The breakfast offerings are very limited. I still like this hotel for the location and the friendliness of the staff. They have checked me in early every timeI have stayed here.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank LikesItHot01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alidalauf1607, Gérant at Grand Hotel Dechampaigne, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for your visitr and for this kind review. For us it was a pleasure to welcome you in our hotel. All your suggestions are important for us and we'll take care of it.
We will be pleased to welcome you again on your next visit to Paris.
Please receive our very best regards.
Mme LAUFERON / Owner
Raquel / Front Desk Manager
Olga & Alexandra Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at the Dechampaigne on a stopover in Paris. Our friends wanted to see the major attractions near the Seine and the hotel had a moderate price and a perfect location, within walking distance of all of the sites. The traditional French Hotel, with a large, inviting lobby, has been fitted with individual bathrooms leaving our bedroom with only enough usable space for the bed. Regardless of the space, we slept well. We opted out of the breakfast and ate at one of the many restaurants in the area. Upon returning, the helpful desk clerk, who had stored our luggage, was able to secure a cab for four to return to the airport. This was the perfect hotel in terms of location, price and amenities and certainly can be recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I was disappointed cause hotel is not the same as website photos proposed...My room was at the first floor 109 and locates near with the technical room, so it was very noisy and window with the indoor wall view...The hotel seems had no renovation for a long time, so you feel the ages everywhere. The room has toilet and separated bathroom. Beds are uncomfortable and little bit strange for me. I can't imagine single room, cause even twin room is very small - I putted my suitcase on the second bed - there no space for it...I definitely won't stay at this hotel there. Original price for the room 275 euro night. I spent 262 euro for 2 nights and...even this price are high for this room. Receptionists are kind, but hotel has to do something with the room condition.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
4  Thank EgorSafrygin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We traveled to 8 countries and stayed 13 different places and the hospitality here was the BEST! Thanks! we were worried about not being able to communicate but everyone here was so helpful and the location could not be better!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Lorelei52462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We were a family of three who shared a triple. The room was on the first floor. The room was very, very small--tiny is the word. It had three twin size beds with just enough room to walk from the bed to the bathroom. There was little room for our luggage, which we placed next to the entry door, which could be a safety liability in case of a fire. We would not have been able to open the door without moving the luggage. Sneaking peaks at a couple of other bedrooms, they also seemed to have crowded the beds into very, very tiny rooms just like what happened to us. The room was very quiet--which we liked.

The bathroom was large, but the tub was narrow. The shower curtain was unappealing. We had a separate room for the toilet which did not smell as clean as we would have liked. The room had a television with few English channels. The room safe was useful, but somewhat confusing instructions existed which could lead to an open safe. The wifi in the room worked very well. The free internet computer downstairs was hard to use because the keyboard was different to the ones we have in the United States.

The reception area is very small. If you arrive early, there was only the chairs in the eating area where you might be able to wait.

Our first day there, we left for numerous hours, and upon our return, our room was not made up. Our second day, I informed the front desk and our room had been cleaned when we returned. The front desk people were very nice, and spoke English, French and Spanish. I only wish that they were responsive to emails. I sent several emails prior to arriving and never received a response back.

Once outside the room, you can note the positive, and a very big positive--very close to Louvre, metro, walking distance to Notre Dame and other sites. Plenty of restaurants close by. No need to eat breakfast at the hotel. There was a patiserie that was nearby, but unfortunately was closed while we were there--owner on vacation. We had breakfast at McDonalds which was truly an enjoyable experience. McDonalds had a coffee bar with fresh pastries and a barrista. Drinks were given inside real cups with saucers. Restaurant Benjamin had great wait staff. There's a chinese restaurant and small grocery store next to/near the hotel. Rivoli street with all its shops was close by and made for fun afternoons.

Overall--I would probably look for another hotel if I were to return to Paris, but location was ideal for this hotel. Hotel Louvre Sainte Anne is in the same area. Maybe I would look into that hotel next time. If I only had a couple of nights and a back pack, and couldn't get another hotel in this location, I would come back to Hotel Dechampaigne.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4okay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Britannique
Hotel Britannique
#149 of 1,803 in Paris
1,570 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Elixir
Hotel Elixir
#628 of 1,803 in Paris
516 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#686 of 1,803 in Paris
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Des Ducs d'Anjou
Des Ducs d'Anjou
#1,023 of 1,803 in Paris
363 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Flor Rivoli
Hotel Flor Rivoli
#1,205 of 1,803 in Paris
405 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#311 of 1,803 in Paris
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dechampaigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dechampaigne

Address: 17 rue Jean Lantier, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#364 Family Hotel in Paris
#409 Business Hotel in Paris
#594 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £104 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Dechampaigne 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne Paris, built in the XVIth century, is the symbol of the French hospitality tradition, with delicate French decoration and architecture a refined service.Our staff will be pleased to welcome you in French, English, Spanish, Russian, Italian and German. The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne combines a high standard of comfort and the refined service of a friendly mansion within Paris: Few steps from, the Rivoli Street, les Halles, The Louvre Museum, Tuileries Garden, Concorde Square and Champs Elysees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Dechampaigne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing