We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Ranked #309 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Could have been great”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is an incredibly charming and quirky hotel with a fantastic location at a really decent price. The staff is so friendly and helpful. Breakfast is basic with not many options, but that is okay as the price is really good. The room was a bit small but I really liked the decoration and Everything you need was there. The hotel is perfectly located, Close to Chatelet metro station and you can walk to most destinations, which suited me perfectly. I would have given the hotel four stars, but be aware where your room is located. Mine was one the first floor facing the corner shop opposite where they got deliveries from about 5am in the morning - making such racking and noise I could not sleep for the next two hours. Not really the perfect stay as it could have been.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the corner shop
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BHelenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHDC, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Dechampaigne, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your time and your commentary.
We can see that everything regarding your stay was very good except something we unfortunatley we cannot really manage, as Paris is a very big and busy city.
For your next stay we'll be pleased to propose you a room facing the interior side of our building to avoid an unhappy wake up.
The best is to let us know your preference before arrival and also maybe come to the desk ask for moving if your stay is longer than one night.
Please receive all our very Best Regards,
Ms Lauferon / Owner
Ms Fernandez / Front Desk Manager
Olga, Alexandra, Marina / Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    287
    66
    21
    17
See reviews for
142
276
38
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

A small, personal hotel where we could get a room for 3 persons. The hotel is perfectly located, near the Chatelet Metro-station (close to Notre Dame), from which you can go quickly to most parts of Paris. A nice breakfast with good choice and fresh bread was very appreciated. All in all, it felt like a very nice and price worthy stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Fresh and clean, a good breakfast at a small price. You can easily take you anywhere and many center locations are within walking distance. The service was wxcellent and even room-service breakfast at no xtra charge!

We had a three bed room. In a reasonably spacious room for Paris. Ok beds, not the most comfortable I've had but nothing to complain about. Easy access to Metro!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very well located, close to Chatelet metro station and there are several restaurants nearby. Regarding the breakfast, actually they do not offer too many options, however you can go to other place to have it (several options nearby as well). We booked a triple room and it was enough for two adults and one kid. Maybe it would be tiny for three adults. Yes, the bathroom is quite small, but everything worked very well. If you are looking for a confy place to rest and also for a close place to Paris' most important landmarks, this is your hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ecssj
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Small cozy hotel. A very convenient location just 10 minutes walk from the Louvre and Notre Dame. Nearby are many shops, bakeries, restaurants, metro station in 5 minutes. Good value for money. We could probably stay here when visiting Paris next time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena_Sharubina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here for a two night stay. Come out of Chatelet metro and it is literally around the corner and 5 minutes stroll to the Notre Dame Cathedral and the Seine. Perfect location for sight seeing, shopping, eating and drinking.

THe hotel was clean and the staff really friendly, couldn't do enough to help us, booking a restaurant on our behalf was no trouble at all for them. The room was comfortable and clean and very Red and velvety, but it looked like it did in the pictures, so wasn't dissapointed at all. Bathroom was clean and adequate.

So all in all worth the money for the location and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 272HellsBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

it was my pleasure and good choice to stay here for 3 night !
I had business trip here, and this hotel was calm enough for my priorities .
And i was also lucky with weather... ;) rain was what i needed .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Britannique
Hotel Britannique
#164 of 1,798 in Paris
1,514 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#642 of 1,798 in Paris
200 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Louvre Rivoli
Hotel Louvre Rivoli
#704 of 1,798 in Paris
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#81 of 1,798 in Paris
618 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#135 of 1,798 in Paris
160 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Flor Rivoli
Hotel Flor Rivoli
#1,121 of 1,798 in Paris
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dechampaigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dechampaigne

Property: Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Address: 17 rue Jean Lantier, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#365 Family Hotel in Paris
#409 Business Hotel in Paris
#595 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Dechampaigne 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne Paris, built in the XVIth century, is the symbol of the French hospitality tradition, with delicate French decoration and architecture a refined service.Our staff will be pleased to welcome you in French, English, Spanish, Russian, Italian and German. The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne combines a high standard of comfort and the refined service of a friendly mansion within Paris: Few steps from, the Rivoli Street, les Halles, The Louvre Museum, Tuileries Garden, Concorde Square and Champs Elysees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Dechampaigne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing