We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Ranked #532 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My daughter and I spent 4 nights at Grand Hotel Dechampaigne - it is exactly what I would expect from a 3 star hotel in Europe. The room was clean, quaint, and comfortable and the staff was very friendly. The hotel website represents the hotel well. It was the perfect location to visit the Louvre, Notre Dame and catch the "big bus" tour around Paris. It is not a "touristy" neighborhood, but nice restaurants and shopping within the block.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank private_762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 695 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have an amazing 3 nights in Paris. The location is perfect for tourists as it is tucked away just off the Ru de Ravoli a block from the river between Notre Dame and the Louvre. It certainly isn't the most modern hotel but we wanted something classical Paris and not a modern chain. It was everything we hoped for.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Starbuck79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We've just returned from a lovely weekend in Paris, made all the more special by this hotel and its staff. Firstly thank you to the reception staff who helped us with our boarding passes on Sunday morning, it was greatly appreciated.

The hotel is in a quiet back street only a stone's throw from Rue de Rivoli on one side and the Seine river on the other. We had a quad room on the 4th floor and it was very quiet (there are no street facing windows in the room so you can't hear any street noise), spacious, clean and comfortable, with a large bathroom and additional toilet. There was a large double and two fold-out singles. The room also has air-conditioning. Yes it was quirky, and there isn't a right-angle in the room, but it definitely had character. This is an old building, and you can see that in the exposed beams and stone work.

The location of the hotel was brilliant. Only feet away are some great little bars and restaurants, where we were treated so well - it actually felt more like we were in rural France rather than Paris. There's also a lovely little boulangerie/pastisserie for those who don't have breakfast in the hotel. The Louvre and Notre Dame are only a short distance away, as well as the metro. Yes the hotel is in a narrow alley, but so too is the primary school around the corner. People live here, work here, etc. It's a big city. I'd rather be in this quiet little lane than in a hotel on a main road any day.

We had breakfast twice in the hotel and there was a fine range of cereals, cheese, meat, fruit and a lovely apple tart.

As mentioned in the other reviews there is a small lift. We used it for our suitcases and for our youngest child when she was tired, but otherwise used the stairs without problems. It would be a bit of a squeeze for someone in a wheelchair.

I heartily recommend this hotel, particularly for families as the distances to the central sites are close by or easy to get to, and there are plenty of places to eat, which is great if you have little ones with only so much staying power.

Room Tip: Quad room 408 is lovely and quiet and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozzie_in_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is in a great location. Really close to the RER and the Metro (2mins walk), it is right by the main shopping area and has a mini supermarket right on its door step. It is about a 5min walk from the river so a great location to visit Notre Dame, Louvre and more!!!
The room we stayed in was really spacious, we travelled with our two children. They room was divided by a curtain which gave the room lots of character. Bathroom was big, it had a shower and bath with a shower, the shower was powerful. It had a mini bar with bar stools just lots of space. We wanted to stay in a hotel that had character and this was perfect!!!
The staff were very helpful and approachable, we would definitely stay there again.
Breakfast was ok, it was the same each morning but tasted good. An enjoyable stay…..

Room Tip: we stayed in room 408 which was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at Grand Hotel DeChampaigne for three nights. The first night we were in a standard room. The elevator, hallway and room were the smallest I have ever encountered in all our world travels. The carpet was dirty and there was mold in the bathroom and the room was dark and depressing. We immediately went down and asked for a larger room but were told they were no larger rooms. Our air conditioner kept making weird noises all night so we did not sleep the first night. We asked that the air conditioner be repaired the next morning but were told there was a water leak and we would be moved to a Superior Room. We had planned to go to Versailles and move later but they insisted we pack and move that morning. So we lost an hour of time. The superior room was larger and more cheerful but had a large wooden beam across the entrance area to the bathroom. My husband had to duck every time he entered the bath area. This room had a coffee maker and mini refrigerator. That evening we tried to turn on the lights in our room, none of the lights worked around the bed so we couldn't even read our tour guides. The flood light did not work, the side lights were connected but not working and the halogen lamp was plugged in but not working. We complained the next morning and they replaced the halogen bulb in the standing lamp but promised a repairman would work on the other lights. That afternoon we came back and the main floodlight still not work so we had minimal lighting the entire stay. We complained and a staff member came up as they were sure we didn't know how to work the light switch. He was shocked that it still did not work as it had been repaired that day. Made us wonder about electrical problems.
The desk staff were courteous and helpful. The hotel guide in the room lists that they exchange foreign money but they do not. The surrounding area was not the best. I do not recommend this hotel as I have stayed at better hotels in Paris for the same price. Not sure how it is rated so highly on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suzmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHDC, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Dechampaigne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Madam,
We would like to thank you for your time in writing this review.
Regarding your critics and after requesting to our staff we can tell that we did apologize about the air condotioning problems and propose you the best choice we got for the periode you were here. That's why you were upgrade, and had a price reduction per night.
With much regret, we can see that all our efforts were not usefull to give you satisfaction.
You saw the room 405 and you have choose it for the rest of your stay.
We can understand the style of our hotel is not corresponding to your expectations (room size, decoration) but there is no doubt about cleaning, there is a blue carpet not dirty at all in the room 506 and the bathroom is very clean, double checked with our housekeeper manager.
Finally we wish to say that our location is one of the best avantages we offer to our guests, as we are located right on the center of Paris very near the Louvre Museum and Notre Dame Cathedral.
We regret you felt a bad experience, but are sure we don't deserve at all this review.
Please receive our very best regards,
Ms Lauferon / Owner
Ms Fernandez / Front Desk Manager
Alexandra, Olga, Marina / Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My friend and I were not impressed with this hotel. The location was close to everything but even so the hotel's location was a bit 'seedy' in itself. Charming is not the word I would use for a place that has filthy carpeting and walls. The rooms are very small and the shower is even smaller. Can't imagine how a large person would ever fit into it and I've traveled lots and seen many small bathrooms. We stayed in a "superior" room too so can't imagine what a standard would look like. The wooden beams and shutter windows were charming but it didn't make up for the tired, dirty atmosphere in our minds. We stayed there for 2 nights and couldn't wait to leave. Wear your rose-colored glasses like we did in order to tolerate it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tokaybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHDC, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Dechampaigne, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Madam,
Thank you for your commentary. Regarding your critics, we wish to say the following:
We can understand the style of our hotel is not corresponding to your expectations.
With much regret, it seems for us you didn't see our official website before doing your booking. In it, you can find all information about the hotel style and the historical area where our hotel is located, to see if that was what you were looking for.
Therefore we wish to say that our location is one of the best avantages we offer to our guests, as we are located right on the center of Paris very near the Louvre Museum and Notre Dame Cathedral.
Maybe there was somebody else doing the reservation on your name ? Have you seen some pictures or any information about our decoration and building style prior to your take your decision?
We wish we had been able to offer you another room if yours was not good enough for you, but unfortunately we regret we have not been requested to do it.
Finally we wish to say that during your stay or upon your departure there was nothing reported to our head office manager or to any other member of our staff and this is very regrettable.
We always wish to have feedback about our guests experience and we are open to receive also critics in order to improve and do always better, but overall we think there was nothing we could do, if nothing was reported to us before you leave the hotel.
Please receive our very best regards,
Ms Lauferon / Owner
Ms Fernande / Front Desk Manager
Olga, Alexandra, Marina / Front Desk Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Nice old building- built in the XVI th century.
Very good situated hotel, just few steps from: the Rivoli Street, les Halles, The Louvre Museum, Tuileries Garden, Concorde Square, Notre Dame Cathedral and le Marais,10 minutes from the left bank are Saint Germain des Pres and the Latin Quarter and the same time very close to the metro connecting a lot of direct lines from Chatellet to any place in Paris and Orly Airport with RER B from Chatelet les Halles.
The room was not too big but cozy, always clean. There is free wifi available.
The staff is always very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieKatie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHDC, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Dechampaigne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Madam, dear Sir,
Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel with all Tripadvisor readers.
We are happy to know you have been satisfated about our hotel and service.
We'll be pleased to welcome you on your next visit to Paris.
Please receive our very best regards,
Ms Lauferon / Owner
Ms Fernandez / Front Desk manager
Olga, Marina, Alexandra / Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Britannique
Hotel Britannique
#144 of 1,802 in Paris
1,575 reviews
Les Halles
Des Ducs d'Anjou
Des Ducs d'Anjou
#1,107 of 1,802 in Paris
366 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#1,103 of 1,802 in Paris
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#794 of 1,802 in Paris
220 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Elixir
Hotel Elixir
#650 of 1,802 in Paris
522 reviews
Le Marais
D'win Hotel
D'win Hotel
#1,057 of 1,802 in Paris
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dechampaigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dechampaigne

Address: 17 rue Jean Lantier, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#363 Family Hotel in Paris
#408 Business Hotel in Paris
#593 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £100 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Dechampaigne 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne Paris, built in the XVIth century, is the symbol of the French hospitality tradition, with delicate French decoration and architecture a refined service.Our staff will be pleased to welcome you in French, English, Spanish, Russian, Italian and German. The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne combines a high standard of comfort and the refined service of a friendly mansion within Paris: Few steps from, the Rivoli Street, les Halles, The Louvre Museum, Tuileries Garden, Concorde Square and Champs Elysees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Dechampaigne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing