We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unique” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Une Chambre a Montmartre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Une Chambre a Montmartre
Ranked #15 of 128 Paris B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is such a find that i am not keen to share it!!
The single room with en suite shower has astounding views over Paris and the owner Clare, takes superb care of you during your stay with extremely good Breakfasts.
The only thing to be aware of is the significant climb up from street level to the room ( even the owner was breathless after doing her shopping) - but as i say the views are well worth it. Not for the old or unfit!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
55
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I just returned from a few days in Paris with my college-aged daughter. Une Chambre a Montmarte was the perfect place to call "home" when we were there. Not only was the bed comfortable, the view beautiful, and the breakfast delicious, the owner was the perfect advisor on the local sites and shopping. The stairs were daunting at first but we soon got used to the increased walking throughout our stay and the climb to the room began to feel like we were back in familiar territory. It was about a 10 minute walk (climb, really, given that this is the highest area in Paris) but it was worth it to find such a special place to stay. We will recommend to others and return there as soon as schedules and budgets allow.

Room Tip: Only one room - cash only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bighutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

This review is very late - as we visited in early February 2013 - but I couldn't not write it after the wonderful stay we had at Une Chambre a Montmartre. We stayed for a few nights for my husband's 30th birthday, which coincided with a Six Nations rugby match.

The room is charming: tastefully furnished with beautiful antiques, and with thoughtful additions like binoculars to help you look at the most spectacular views of the city.

Breakfasts were fantastic, and Claire could not have done more for us: helping us with bus routes to plan journeys, restaurant recommendations, even lending us a blanket to take to the Stade de France for the match - which we needed, as it was bitterly cold!

Another reviewer has called Une Chambre a Montmartre beguiling, and I can't put it any better. It is a unique find, and the perfect choice for a special getaway. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had the most wonderful long weekend here. Claire was fantastic, so friendly and helpful, suggesting wonderful places to visit and where to eat. Delicious breakfasts bought to us in bed. The views from the room were incredible, the Eiffel tower glittering away at night and the sacre-couer from the bathroom window. The only down side for some, maybe the wonky stairs to the room, but I loved them, they just added to the overall character of the experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kennynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Staying at Une Chambre a Montmartre had to have been the most unique B&B experience ever. Claire only rents the one room and treats you royally. A true delight and vacation pleasure. I found the room by accident and took a chance. Cash only, but it was everything I wanted it to be and just as described by all the other reviews here.The room is just the right size for two with a great comfy bed and chairs. The separate shower and toilet (wc) are a nice privacy touch. The room is located in the top corner floor facing Sacre Cour out one window and all of Paris out the other. Its rather quiet; we found it easy to sleep and the area safe to stroll even at midnight. Its a terrific and charming old building and a unique change from small hotel rooms. A short but steep walk to Place du Tertre square and you are among the easy cafes, restaurants, artists and musicians, museums, galleries, and yes, touristy knick knack shops you were looking for. Coffee, crepes, bob-bons, a fine meal, portraits artists ? - all there at the top of Paris. To the left of the square is the Espace Dali showing the works of the mad genius artist Salvador Dali. Its quite easy to walk to either Anvers or Lamark metro stations, and the Paris metro is the berries! Small food shops, bakeries, ATM, and tabacs are plentiful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Amazing view! comfy bed, gorgeous breakfast, the room was just perfect for us and we had such a lovely few days in paris back in march. Claire is so warm and friendly and her fruit compote for breakfast was seriously tasty. We actually just visited paris again last week and had to stay elsewhere as Claires was booked up. Even though we enjoyed our trip, we both agreed that Une Chambre is a special little place and we will try to book well in advance next time to make sure we get to experience the magic again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eli-1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Even before we were ending our stay in this enchanting little bed and breakfast, we were planning our next visit. It is completely beguiling and we were happy just to sit and absorb the views from both the front window, looking out over the whole of Paris, and the Sacre Coeur viewed from the bathroom window behind. Claire even provides binoculars for the guests to use. How thoughtful is that! And maps and books about Paris and gorgeous antiquities to gloat over and divine shampoo. The room really reflects Claire`s exquisite style and attention to detail and we slept like babes in the sumptuous bed. Breakfast on a trolley brought in by Claire was sublime with the most delicious little pastries, a fruit salad and coffee, all served on quirky little pieces of porcelain. Late one evening, after a local and very tasty meal, we wandered up to the Sacre Coeur and joined in the service.

There are steps, lots of them and squeaky, wonky floorboards and the paint is flaking off the walls in places as you wander through the outer building, but it that bothers you, then this place is not for you. There is parking some distance away in an underground car park which is secure, but obviously, being so close to the centre of Paris, it is quite expensive. Next time we come, we will leave the car and rely on the trains and local buses, but we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sallyb023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Timhotel Montmartre
Timhotel Montmartre
#500 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Montmartre
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
#61 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Montmartre
Montmartre Mon Amour
Montmartre Mon Amour
#307 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Montmartre
Hotel Montmartre
Hotel Montmartre
#23 of 128 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Montmartre
Au Sourire de Montmartre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Une Chambre a Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Une Chambre a Montmartre

Property: Une Chambre a Montmartre
Address: 18 rue Gabrielle, 75018 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing