We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Bad It Was Almost Funny”
Review of Les Pates Vivantes - CLOSED

Les Pates Vivantes
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Idaho
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“So Bad It Was Almost Funny”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This place was recommended by Patricia Wells, which is a bit disturbing since it was pretty terrible. Some of the food edged upward towards mediocre; most of it was greasy and awful. The "famous" noodles? Yes, for a moment or two the 'chef' stepped into his glassed in kitchen and did a bit of twirling, but the result was a heavy, almost doughy version of what should be light and a bit delicate. Every dish--and there were four of us so we ordered a variety--was slathered in the same sauce that I could imagine being ladled from a giant vat with grease floating on top. The only saving grace might have been the hot sauce, but that was provided in a nearly empty bottle the cap of which was encrusted with the stuff.

There was one other table of customers (I won't call them diners), yet the service was execrable. Much of what we asked for, including bottled water, was unavailable. Another napkin? In a while. A fresh plate for another dish? Grudgingly. A replacement for a dirty cup served with tea? As soon as I remove my thumb you can have it. I'd like to say they were trying and were simply inept, and that's partly true, but only partly. It was a grim meal, but then it was our fault too. Who would be dumb enough to go to a Chinese restaurant on Boulevard St. Germain even if Patricia Wells suggested it? I hope she's not losing her touch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cardinal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    26
    8
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly delicious!”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

It terms of decor, this is like so many of the older, nondescript restaurants on many main streets - glassed-in patio to watch pedestrians walk by and two dozen tables in front of the kitchen. This one has the added benefit of having the noodle-making visible to diners, an entertainment in itself. But the food was surprisingly good. There was a list of three vegetarian plats, and we split two of them, one with rice and one with the noodles, which are the specialty of the house. We also shared a mustard-leaf (or rapini) salad and a cabbage salad as appetizers. Everything was flavorful, and ingredients were fresh. It was a nice change from heavier, French food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeriLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice!”
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

Nice place to eat asian food.
The speciality of the house, noodles, aren't that spetacular, but good thing is that you can see them preparing the pasta, all manually.
I recommend you ask the starters. They are different from everything and very tasty. That was what worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dri_turista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best noodles”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Noodles are really top notch here, very different from your average chinese restaurant. A good choice of starters as well, though do not expect an extensive list

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“To be avoided”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

The worst meal we had in Paris. A mountain of noodles swimming in a bowl of greasy broth containing two or three pieces of grey beef and a couple of pieces of vegetable. Bore no resemblance to the dish on the menu. They didn't care. Avoid the place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Castiglionese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Pates Vivantes also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing