We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Courcelles Etoile
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Ampere Paris(Paris)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
XO Hotel(Paris)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
91
120
36
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
120
36
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaround the cornerthe small dining areanice frenchhotel has a great locationfriendly receptionbath productschamps elyseesmetro rergreat bathroomrooms are smallgood sizeparis hotelsstayed for nightsquiet roomthird floorcafesstreet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2012

In the end you will likely not Hate this hotel as long as you set expectations properly. The below points must be understood otherwise you will be unhappy here.

1. Its Paris and rooms tend to be on the smaller side unless you pay a bundle.
2. Its Paris so don't expect an American style "Welcome to our Hotel" and "Is there anything I can do to assist?"
3. Just because its Paris does not mean the Croissants, Cheese and Pastries are going to be excellent.

The Hotel takes up 5 floors the entrance and lobby are rather small and uninspiring. If you are lucky to have a room on 4 or 5 you will get to take two elevators to make the journey one of which is the kind where only one person plus a suitcase can fit. Of course, the other option is to take the stairs.

The rooms are actually nicely appointed but small. Beds are of the hard variety but decent amenities and free wifi, in room safe, mini bar etc.

Location is great. Easy Metro/RER just around the corner. Walk to Champs Ely.

Breakfast (included in my rate) good coffee crappy croissants (tasted like they were bought last week reheated), random selection of pastry, cheese, cold cuts etc was generally just boring to bad. If not included in your rate, you should skip.

Front Desk....well lets just say they didn't do anything to change my mind regarding Parisian hospitality. Was like extracting blood to get anything more than a hello or goodbye as they seemed to be fixed to their computer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank execplatscum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We Stayed at Courcelles Etoile in Oct 2011.

On arrival the reception staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was small but perfectly formed. The rooms are much smaller than a London hotel but this is typical for a Hotel in Paris. I paid a little extra and got a deluxe room, this meant the Bathroom was in a separate room and it had a Jacuzzi bath, definitely worth the little bit extra. Our room was lovely it had wooden beams and a skylight and large windows that open up onto the busy Parisian streets. You could hear the noise form the street but it didn’t bother us at all.
We did not have breakfast in the hotel so I cannot comment on this but I am sure it would have been fine

The hotel is in a great location, literally just around the corner from the metro station - Pereire Metro station/ RER Station
A bit of useful information on how to get to the hotel if travelling by Euro Star.
From "Gare du Nord": (where oyu get off the Euro Star)
Take the RER E towards "Haussmann Saint-Lazare", and get off at “Haussmann Saint-Lazare” station.
Then take the Metro Line 3 towards Pont de Levallois, and exit at “Pereire” station, on Place du Marechal Juin.
The entrance of the hotel is just after the corner of Place du Marechal Juin and Rue de Courcelles, less than one minute from this Metro exit .

Room Tip: I emaile dthe hotel dircet about a month before we were due to go asking for a nice room
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StacyJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

The website definitely set high expectations - which were gradually gone during my stay there.

First the carpet on the corridors with the random spots of bleach. The kind of spots you don't wanna know how they ended up being there - but the more you try not to think about it the creepier it gets.
Then the fact that I put the "Do not disturb" on the door every morning and it was ignored on every day of my stay. I only stay 3 nights, so there is no need to replace towels / clean anything. I fell uncomfortable leaving my clothes and personal things around to be touched unwanted.
Thirdly, the isolation on the bedroom window (247) was so bad that there was a steady draught all night (I tried to close the curtains, did not help much - and also tried to turn on the heating when I arrived back (11:30pm) but it was so LOUD that I rather turned it off, because that would've made sleep even more impossible than the cold).
Also, there was no proper blanket / duvet - just a bed cover and a sheet underneath. I did miss a proper blanket / duvet especially given the cold I had to face in my sleep.
The room (247) which is apparently a high category room (with a small living room with a sofa and a separate bedroom) was overlooking the street - which was very noisy even late at night. The poor isolation did not help much the keep the noise out, either.

The website has finely retouched pics none of which sending a true message apparently. I would not recommend the hotel to anyone and I am not planning to come back.

Room Tip: I can only hope there is a good room somewhere in this establishment.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KatBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

It's misleading to talk about size of rooms in a hotel unless there is some basis of comparison. For the price range in Paris, the room size at this hotel is normal and adequate. I wish the French used mattresses more like what we are used to in the US, but the bed was comfortable. The bathroom is a good size and everything was very clean and worked properly. Quite often European hotels have handheld showers in a bathtub but no shower curtain, as was the case here. So one has to sit in the tub to "shower" or stand and aim carefully. The tub was quite deep which is very nice if one does want to take a bath rather than shower.

The hotel has an elevator which, though small, is very adequate. One needs to inquire about elevators as Paris hotels of moderate price often do not have one, or have very small ones.

This hotel is very well-located. It is seconds from a Metro station for the 3 Metro and RER 2. Parking is very sparse, however Paris public transportation is much faster in any case. There were generally taxis in the area. Lack of parking is quite common with Paris hotels.

Within a 5 minute walk there are dozens of restaurants of all types and price ranges. A supermarket is right across the street (closed Sundays). The latter is very handy as breakfast in the hotel is somewhat expensive at 16 euros (about US$22 at the time of this writing) and is "continental" though does have cold cuts and boiled eggs. We did not see a restaurant close by with breakfast.

There are at least 6 banks with ATMs (and US credit cards without "chip & PIN" technology worked on at least 2 of the ATMs) within a few minutes walk.

Location is the best asset. Though on a busy square, we did not hear the street. The RER 2 train goes directly to the Eiffel Tower and other stops on the south bank of the Seine as well as Versailles. Connections to other areas are easily made on either the 3 Metro or RER 2.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the street, though most do not in any case.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The hotel is located in an area with no parking , access with Metro is convenient . Rooms are really small - There is barely a place to open your suitcase. Rooms are rather new and clean , maintenance of the hotel is NOT good ( water keep running in toillets , light bulbs missing ...)(

Room Tip: Make sure it is big enough to accomodate for you and your luggage
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews