We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good position, quiet rooms , but very small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Courcelles Etoile
Ranked #1,012 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
1,334 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
“good position, quiet rooms , but very small”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

for a short stay i would recommend. lovely position, nice room style, good wifi , medium tv channels . however the rooms are very very small with hangers for no more than 5-6 items . so it is a pleasant but quite cramped stay

Room Tip: on the back to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    109
    32
    12
    8
See reviews for
18
125
19
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Friendly and helpful staff, very convenient location (10 seconds to metro station, busy street, cafes, supermarket & lovely sushishop few meters away). Close to Arch du Triomphe (15 minutes walk).
The room was small but comfy, well decorated and l'occitane en provence products on bathroom. Free wi-fi.
I slept really well - street was quiet at night and I didn't hear the other guests (I though I was alone in the hotel). I stayed at 585.

Cons - rooms could be cleaner (found sugar cubes under my bed, for example) but it was ok; breakfast is really expensive (16€ - you can easily eat on the street for less than 5€).

Overall, I would stay here again and would recommend it to my friends. Ideal for couples. Maybe not well suited for families with kids and lots of luggage (because of the room size only).

Room Tip: Last floor (5th) is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catmagalhaesfaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stayed here on business and was very disappointed for the price paid, the room was small cramped and badly designed. The breakfast was average and the lower room to the front of hotel was very noisy. The open plan room had a double bed and a jacuzzi type bath which was not what I wanted..... A power shower after a long hot sticky day in Paris not a bath, especially not one you could step out of and go to bed ..... Without touching the floor! Which is a good job as in trying to compromise and use the shower attachment the floor was soaked...

Room Tip: No facilities , poor location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanm68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We returned last week after spending three nights at the hotel, which is in a fantastic location with a Metro station right outside and just a 15-minute walk to L'arc De Triomphe.
Although we arrived early, we were allowed to leave our luggage in the hotel and explore, and on our return at 2pm the room was ready and waiting.
The decoration throughout the hotel was modern and chic, the bedroom wasn't huge, but big enough with a comfortable bed, good wardrobe space, mini bar and bathroom that included a jacuzzi hot-tub. Unfortunately, there were no tea-making facilities and the bath had a crack and some paint in it, but that was easy to overlook.
We did think the hot-tub didn't work, but were told by the receptionist to give it 30 seconds after pressing the on button which did work.
Breakfast was very basic and not worth 16 euros, and the room service actually finishes at 12.50am, not 1.30am because it comes in from external caterers, but there are plenty of patisseries, restaurants and shops around to buy your own.

Room Tip: - there was no swimming pool or restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed from April 23 to April 27

We checked in late afternoon on Tuesday, April 23rd in which time we were told our room was on the first floor, however, it was not facing the main street. I believe our room was #102 and it was facing the street. We were advised that we can request to change rooms the next morning and when we spoke to front desk, every morning they told us the hotel was full and was unable to accomodate the changes for us.

Also, we requested no room service every day (by putting the sign on our door), but every day our room was serviced.

Lastly, when we arrived we requested battery change for the safety box, but no one came to change it and we were unable to use it.

The biggest concern we had on our visit was the amount we were charged for one 5 minutes phone call we made on Friday, April 26. I have attached the invoice to this email. The front desk informed us that he could not calculate how these charges were calculated. Unfortunately we were unable to stay to dispute this invoice when we checked out because we were flying out early afternoon.

Yes the hotel was close to the Metro and a lot of bars nearby, but the service really ruined our experience

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourcellesEtoile, Propriétaire at Hotel Courcelles Etoile, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Cindy,
We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
We wanted to give you some feedback on the various inconveniences you encountered during your stay.
You told us that you were in a room overlooking the street. You expressed the wish to have a room on the courtyard when you checked-in. We were unfortunately unable to access your request as the hotel was fully booked.

Every day, you asked if you could change your room, we confirm that on the second night of your stay, the hotel was also full. After, we did have rooms available and we are very surprised that nobody offered you to change room.

Regarding your request of not having any service in your room, this request must be made through the front desk. Indeed, the sign that you put outside your door only confirms the fact that they will be no service in the room during your presence. I am sure you will understand that we cannot let your room uncleaned over a period of four days.

The hotel management in charge of the safes is present 6 days a week, we are very surprised that nobody came to check your safety box during your stay. We sincerely apologize and wanted to inform you that if necessary a safe was available at the reception.

Finally, regarding the phone bill, you certainly called abroad or on a mobile phone. Unfortunately, the price is fixed by our national operator and it is very difficult to know in advance the price of a call as it differs depending which country you are calling.

Please be assured that we make every effort to satisfy our customers, we are really sorry for the inconvenience again and hope you will consider these incidents as isolated events not representative of the usual quality of our services.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and had a very pleasant stay. The room was quite small but I was expecting that. The staircases are narrow and the elevators are small so that's something to think about when booking a room. Higher rooms are less noisy but it's quite a trek to get there, as you have to change elevators at the 3rd floor to get to the 4th and 5th floors. I usually just took the stairs.

They offer free wifi and and a buffet breakfast for 16 euros in their dining room, but I would avoid that and walk to a patisserie for a much cheaper breakfast. This hotel is near the end of the 3 Metro line but it's just a short trip to the center of Paris. There is a nice sushi place a couple of steps away from the hotel plus tons of nice bistros close by.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are less noisy but it's quite a trek to get there, as you have to change elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Positives:

* clean fresh decor and rooms
* location is very close to cafes and bistros - feels very Parisiene
* location is very close to the metro and has bike borrow station outside (bring helmets - Parisiens don't but better safe esp on unknown city roads, on the wrong side and often on cobbles)
* super shower

Negative
* Room was fine for 1 but would be tight for 2 with more than lightest luggage

Room Tip: Back is quiet
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Apostrophe Hotel
Apostrophe Hotel
#205 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Hotel Champerret Heliopolis
#438 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Hotel Etoile Pereire
#1,117 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel de Prony
Hotel de Prony
#1,352 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert"
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Kleber Champs-Elysees Tour Eiffel Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Courcelles Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Courcelles Etoile

Property: Hotel Courcelles Etoile
Address: 184 rue de Courcelles | 17th arr., 75017 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#482 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Courcelles Etoile 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, five story hotel set in residential area near Place de l'Etoile, parks, restaurants & bistros; 3 km to Gare du Nord. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Courcelles Etoile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courcelles Etoile Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing