We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unacceptable: poor rooms, dishonest billing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Exe Paris Centre
Ranked #986 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“unacceptable: poor rooms, dishonest billing”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The location is really the only thing going for this hotel. Unfortunately I think it's poor value (even in Paris), and can't recommend it.

The rooms are tiny, and poorly equipped. The toiletries in the bathroom are minimal and low quality. The towels are thin and cheap. The beds are ok, not terrible, but not comfortable. The lift is a joke -- you can fit 4 skinny people in, but only if they know each other (or are used to peak-hour subway travel in certain cities).

The wifi is terrible -- sometimes it won't connect, sometimes it'll connect but it will take 30-60 seconds to get to a local website (like google.fr or ratp.fr). Just unusably bad.

Finally, like some others I also found a minibar charge added, without explanation, after I checked out. This was despite the fact that the checkout clerk asked me about the minibar use and I told him that we had never used it. Just dishonest, sleazy practices.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cs_east
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    194
    93
    24
    36
See reviews for
76
170
21
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

The rooms are quite small and tight including the lift which fit only your bag and maybe 2 persons. Furnishing is nice and location is good close to train and metro. I am very disappointment with their service. After several days, I noticed that there was a charged on my credit card for the minibar deposit euro 50 which I was advised on checkout that it was not a charged but a preauthorisation which will be cancelled. When I sent them an email all I had was "In the account it seems like a charge, but in fact, there is not. Normally the money goes back in 15 days after the check-out day but it also depends on the bank. I recommend you that if in 15 days the money is till blocked, ask in your bank." What rubbish is this I even asked them to investigate further as there is no such thing as not a charge if it appears on your credit card statement. I know better as I work for my bank. It's the standard response where the staff couldn't be bothered to enquire further and just passed the bucket to the other party " ask your bank".. Yes I heard it all the time check with your bank and bank will said check with the merchant. Oh well until now I have not heard anything from them. If there was a discrepancy or a simple mistake a good customer service operator will make an effort to investigate or enquire further and reply to their clients email until they are satisfied. Perhaps this hotel doesn't understand what customer service means.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olivia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I think this hotel ticks all the boxes.
It is better value than a lot in Paris and its modern and clean, something not all hotels at this price are.
A quick walk down from Liege Metro and within 10 minutes of Montmatre on foot.
The 10 euro breakfast option is pricey for what you get, but the 5 euro offer form pastries, juice, coffee and yoghurt made much more sense, espcially when you get refills.
Everyone was friendly and the free wifi topped off the pluses of staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyT1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Overall not a bad hotel. The rooms are very small even for European standards. We had three in the room and needed to place our luggage in the bathroom. ..if you are planning on btrakfast don't bother. The hot food was not replaced once guests had eaten it.....

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cagliari, Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Me and my wife visited this little hotel on january 2014.
The staff is very kind and several languages are spoken.
The structure was well renovated on 2013.
Rooms are very little but absolutely clean and full-comforts. No bidet on toilet.
Prices are cheap and there are often some good offers on the website.
Its very strong point is the location, near to all city's attractions (also by foot) and well serviced by public transports.
The only thing that I didn't appreciate so much was the breakfast: too poor for an adequate international breakfast.
Better to spend the money in a bar, with the same sum (10 Euro) you can eat several French specialties.
In general, this hotel is higly reccomended to all type of visitors.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theus75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

I stay in Paris quite a lot, so I'm familiar with the standards and size of rooms. This hotel is superior to many I have stayed in. The standard of the rooms and friendliness of the staff is definitely more of a four-star experience. The rooms are decorated to a good standard, with nice fittings and nothing is done cheap. The breakfast in the cellar downstairs is really nice, again decorated to a high standard. I will definitely stay here again

Also excellent location right near the centre of Paris

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TonyKYorkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel in a brilliant location!! Hotel staff were all friendly enough although we only spoke twice....once at check in and the second was on departure.

The hotel itself is to a good standard, very clean and tidy. Room a little small but adequate. Best hotel bed I've slept in for a long time!! Great shower and spacious bathroom. TV, wifi and minibar.

Can't see what the complaints are for....this really is just a lovely clean place to sleep of a night. There is so much to do and see in Paris that if your planning on staying in the room I suggest you save your money and stay at home...

I would definitely recommend purely for the fact that it's clean, comfortable and central to everywhere!

Thank you for a nice time although I would recommend that you reply to your emails as we had requested a late checkout through booking.com and our request was ignored....

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.0 mi away
Opera Deauville Hotel
Opera Deauville Hotel
#1,141 of 1,802 in Paris
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
ATN
ATN
#741 of 1,802 in Paris
326 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eurostars Panorama Hotel
Eurostars Panorama Hotel
#953 of 1,802 in Paris
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villathena
Villathena
#420 of 1,802 in Paris
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Geneve
Hotel de Geneve
#1,149 of 1,802 in Paris
243 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#273 of 1,802 in Paris
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Exe Paris Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Exe Paris Centre

Property: Hotel Exe Paris Centre
Address: 29 rue d Amsterdam, 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#608 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Exe Paris Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in mid 19th century building with courtyard gardens and unique breakfast room - Near the Opera and department stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Eurostars, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Exe Paris Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fleche d Or
Fleche d Or Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing