We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance in the heart of Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Left Bank Saint Germain
Ranked #218 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Elegance in the heart of Paris”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My wife, her sister and I spent a fantastic week in Paris and stayed in this hotel.
The hotel is about 200m from Boulevard St Germain on the left bank and the Odeon metro, making it readily accesible to Gare du Nord if you are travelling by Eurostar.

The hotel has 7 floors and we stayed on the 5th. My wife and I had a room at the back with a spectacular view of Notre Dame. My sister-in-law had a room at the front with a view of the dome of the Institute de France. She also had the wonderful smell of freshly baked bread each morning when she opened her window.

The rooms are quite large and well furnished and equiped. The beds are comfortable and remarkably quiet. The bathroom is modern and roomy. Most important everything is spotlessly clean.

The hotel lobby is furnished with tapestries and a sedan chair! Complimentary newspapers are available each morning. Breakfats is quite extensive with the usual croissants and pastries, as well as fruit, cereals, toast, hams, eggs and crepes. The staff are very friendly and all speak English. The front desk staff are especially helpful and can arange river trips with dinner and advise on the best way to get to anywhere in Paris.

Being in the heart of the left bank area the hotel is very close to a plethora of restaurants and bistros. Just down the road street performers entertain throughoutr the evening. It has the Bohemian air that is Paris.
It is also within walking distance of Notre Dame and the Louvre and otehr buildings on the left bank. The RER-C is 5 minutes walk and takes you straight through to Versailles.

We booked early and because we had fixed dates we took the discounted price, which is paid at the time of booking and is non-refundable. However the taxes and breakfast charges are essentially covered by this discount so it is well worth considering of you can.

So all in all this is the perfect place to stay whilst in Paris within walking distance of a different place to eat every night.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back above the 4th floor ahve a view of Notre Dame. Rooms at the front give you a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    332
    59
    15
    11
See reviews for
269
348
33
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed here 25 years ago and loved it then but have been shut out on our attempts to come back because it was always booked.The hotel was even better than we remembered (which sadly was not the case at any of our other "revisits"). Rooms have been updated but still have their warmth, elegance and charm. Very modern, well appointed bathroom, air conditioning, attentive and helpful staff, our suite was a very generous size - view of Notre Dame out the back and the Eiffel Tower out the front.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Thank you! Very good stay, large rooms nicely decorated, friendly staff (yep, in Paris!) good location in Paris with lots of brasseries and a nice boulangerie opposite.

We've been to Paris 11 times and have been searching for a place we can go back to and at last we've found it. We aren't fussy it's just central Paris hotels are expensive for small rooms and appalling service.

What a great stay, thank you very much for a warm greeting and acknowledging us every time we entered and left (another thing that some Paris hotels aren't good at).

Super.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brightredangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We are so glad to have booked this quaint and charming hotel in the 6th Arrondizement - perfect location for walking to the Gardens of Luxemburg, the Seine River, the Lourve and the Orsay Museums. Plus it is very close to the Latin Quarter packed with nightlife, restaurants, shopping, but also close to the higher end shops as well.

The rooms were small for 2 adults and 2 teens, but comfortable and the staff was attentive, helpful and friendly from beginning to end.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was a family/friends trip for my 60th birthday and we had the most magical trip from the moment we entered the hotel and found the old world charm, to the hands on help every day with sightseeing tours, taxis, restaurant reservations, to the personalized service from our hotel front desk manager Michele! Location! Location! Location! This hotel is one block away from all the fun, great restaurants in saint germain and adorable shops everywhere. Walk a few blocks to the Seine River and most of the great sights of Paris are a walk or Metro ride away. Clean, air-conditioned rooms w/beautiful decor, not to mention the beds were so comfy! Will never forget my trip! Thank you Michele for everything, you made it so special! Can't wait roc one back and stay!

Room Tip: We were in 303 which had a cute window overlooking the street, but our daughters stayed in 304 which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danimaz724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We love the left bank and particularly the Rue du Buci area and this hotel is perfectly situated for easy walking around. We stayed two different times on this trip - once for two nights at the beginning of our trip and again for our last night. The first room was very small but charming and well appointed. The last night, we were upgraded to a much larger room which was also lovely. The staff was great to reach out before our stay and offer to arrange transportation and entertainment which they did very well. When we were there, they made good dinner recommendations and were very helpful. Highly recommend and we'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christobel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

A great start to a great trip. Concierge was excellent. Small but comfortable rooms. Great location. Easy walking distance to many sites and attractions. Odeon Metro stop one block away. Many cafes in area. One block to St. Germain de Pres.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 0 through 3 have front views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#111 of 1,800 in Paris
1,625 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#104 of 1,800 in Paris
1,081 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#187 of 1,800 in Paris
440 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#80 of 1,800 in Paris
754 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#134 of 1,800 in Paris
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Left Bank Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Left Bank Saint Germain

Property: Left Bank Saint Germain
Address: 9 rue de l Ancienne Comedie, 75006 Paris, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Left Bank - St Germain)
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#174 Family Hotel in Paris
#200 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#319 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Left Bank Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Left Bank Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Left Bank - St Germain Hotel Paris
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing