We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Gare De Lyon if that is primary requirement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
Ranked #454 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
279 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
“Convenient to Gare De Lyon if that is primary requirement”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Walk out the front door of Gare De Lyon, & 2 blocks straight ahead is this Holiday Inn. Read prior reviews about hotel undergoing renovation, which it definitely needed, & it is still being renovated in Mid-May. Our floor had rooms undergoing renovation, & carpet being installed. We were lucky we arrived on a Friday evening & left on a Monday morning. No workers on the weekend, but early on Monday we heard the noise of jackhammers, etc. Also read a few negative comments about management & I would agree with those. Not impressed with overall management, as it relates to guest needs. Called about a burned out light in the bathroom as soon as we checked in, & mentioned it 3 more times during our 3 night stay, but it was still non-working when we checked out. Our reservation specifically requested a twin-bed room, on a high floor, with a street view. At checkin we were told: "we have you in a king on the 2nd floor, on the back side where it is quiet". When I pointed out that is not what the reservation requested, it was like I was trying to create a huge problem. The first response was that they didn't have any twin bedded rooms available, which I failed to believe, so I kept pressing. About an "obvious" display of displeasure at having to find the room we had actually requested, we were given what we reserved. Our room was recently renovated & nicely appointed, except there was only 1 small straight back chair for the desk, & not a chair to relax & read, etc. Seems to be little, if ANY, concern paid by management to the overall appearance of the hotel. We never entered or left when we did not see trash littering the entry & lobby & overflowing trash/cigarette can at the entrance door. We got a good discount, so overall we have no complaints since we got a renovated room, but not a renovated floor, but would probably not stay here again. The fact that there are 2, not just 1 sex shop entrances directly next to the hotel was of no concern to us. Plenty of restaurants, markets, coffee shops, etc. in the immediate area.

Room Tip: Ask for street view rooms ---- nice for the view & the double windows block out nearly all noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smvhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear smvhou,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are pleased you liked the convenient location of our hotel as well as your comfortable room accommodations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service from our staff which was unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    561
    155
    50
    22
See reviews for
234
425
60
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The hotel is very close to Gare to Lyon and thus convenient for those travelling by train. It is probably better than most other hotels in the neighborhood, given that is in a classic Haussmannian building of the turn-of-the-century (ie 19th to 20th) and has recently been renovated. In fact, many floors were still under renovation when I was there in early May 2012. While some of the corridors looked like a construction site with workers swirling around, the rooms were rather nice. My room opened up to the street, with a gorgeous view over the roofs of Paris. The furniture and fittings were ok but will probably be worn down within a few years. You pay around 160/ 170 euros, which is just ok for that kind of hotel and in view of the overpriced nature of much of Paris' hotel market.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weltenbummler2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Keeping in mind that this is a Holiday Inn and not a luxury hotel, i found that for the price, this hotel exceeded my expectations. I liked the distance to Gare de Lyon [about a block away] which made it convenient to get to other parts of the city.

There were 3 of us traveling together. The room they gave us on our trip INTO France was room #220. Absolutely massive for Paris. I could have done cartwheels in the bathroom. We didn't have a view but we were able to open our windows and get some fresh air in! I loved that feature. We were in the refurbished rooms so I appreciated the fresh look of the place, although construction was clearly being done to other parts of the 2nd floor.

Another positive is that they allowed us to leave our bags in their coatroom while we traveled over the weekend to other parts of France.

On our return back through Paris we were in Room #206. Smaller but with a view of Rue de Lyon. Still sufficiently large enough for the 3 of us.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenjenkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Excellent location just minutes from the main train station Gare Lyon. Beautiful area. Hotel was beautiful, clean, comfortable, and modernized. Staff were friendly, helpful, and very professional. The room was truly excellent - very comfortable in every way. It was the best shower/tub of our trip. I would stay here again and would recommend to friends. Tip - take the ferry service as a taxi - for about $18 you can ride all day, hopping off and on at the major attractions along the Seine....then take the full loop near closing time for an evening "tour" by ferry of Paris at night. Magical.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EnjoysParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel at 3pm and were given a room on the 7th floor. To our surprise the housekeeper was just staring to prepare the room, cleaning after the previous inhabitants.
We requested a new room and got one in 5 mins.
At the day of departure we asked for a late checkout. We were given until 2pm to checkout. We arrived at the hotel to pick up our things at 2:05 only to find another housekeeper already in the room with our stuff still there (in her way!)

On the plus side, the location is perfect both for taking all types of transportation from the train station, and also for walking to Marais, Notre Dame.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vasos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Vasos,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us feedback. We are pleased you liked the convenient location of our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Good location for sight seeing - metro station on door step.

The sex shop next door was a little bizare ! !!They do call Paris the city of love!

Staff were helpfull - especially Micheal on the front desk - a real gem!
Breakfast was ok - the cold buffet was nice - usual cheese, pastries ect - the hot breafast was unusual - hot dog type sausages - not my think for breakfast - although my daughter happily polished off about 3 !!

Rooms were clean and provided everything we needed ( although we were in an executive with an extra bed )

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elricklegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

For the price this hotel is not worth looking at. Good location but then it went downhill all the way....characterless hotel rooms are miniscule, bathroom required a sit down shower position and no provision for toilet paper or then I am not used to French customs , never seen that ... I didn't even bother with breakfast and got something at the station.... the Mercure at the station is much better value for money. Some might be put off by the presence of a large sex shop next door...not your usual neighbour to a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Martin W,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received accommodations that were less than satisfactory. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Terminus Lyon
Hotel Terminus Lyon
#500 of 1,802 in Paris
883 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
#592 of 1,802 in Paris
320 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Ibis Paris Gare de Lyon Ledru Rollin 12eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Viator - Paris Gare de Lyon
Bercy / Nation
Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
#442 of 1,802 in Paris
2,717 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#961 of 1,802 in Paris
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille

Property: Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
Address: 11 rue de Lyon | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#280 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#491 Business Hotel in Paris
#495 Family Hotel in Paris
#558 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Press on this following link to discover our hotel video de l'Holiday Inn Paris Bastille. The Holiday Inn Paris Bastille hotel is ideally located in the historical heart of Paris with its famous Place de la Bastille and only a 5 minute walk from the Gare de Lyon train station with its direct access to Disneyland Resort Paris and convenient metro access to Paris Expo Porte of Versailles Exhibition Center. Only walking distances away and easy metro accesses ( metro Bastille ) from the most famous Paris leisure attractions like the Louvre Museum, Notre Dame of Paris, and George Pompidou Center. Stroll along the Seine, or go for a nice shopping spree and enjoy the exclusive Shopping District Rivoli where you can enjoy the latest Paris fashion and visit various well known Department Stores.Only a short distance away from Orly and Charles de Gaulle airports, the Stade de France, and La Defense business district, this 3 star hotel is the place to be for both leisure as well as business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Paris Bastille Hotel Paris
Paris Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Bastille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing