We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
Ranked #454 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Woodford, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Great welcome to this Hotel got our holiday off to a great start. The hotel was well located a block from Gare De Lyon, which had a direct bus connection from CDG Airport. We were upgraded to an executive room with a cute little juliet balcony with a view over the street.

I think this hotel is fairly new as last time we stayed in this area, a couple of years ago, it wasn't here. Furniture and fittings were in excellent condition, the room was reasonably sized. The only problem was a pull out, drop down bed, which folded down from a cupboard adjacent to the double bed but which for some reason couldn't be completely closed away.

The breakfast buffet was adequate, not impressive, with a modest American breakfast selection. The bar was pleasant enough,

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PineappleSkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XAVIER D, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us.
We are very pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay.
We will be very happy to welcome you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    561
    155
    50
    22
See reviews for
234
425
60
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

ROOM:
-- No hot water for 12 hours
-- AC can only be set at 19 degrees celsius OR turned off. And that too can only be done through the reception, your room's thermostat cannot control it
-- Multiple lights in the room were not working

BREAKFAST:
-- Servers ignored us when we were asking for their help during breakfast
-- They started clearing breakfast before designated time

RECEPTION: Receptionists didn't know about the surrounding area and weren't willing to help us

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anirudh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XAVIER D, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been, and please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience.

We are going to take all necessery steps to avoid this kind of situation.

Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope that the remainder of your trip in Paris was most enjoyable.

Thank you for your review and staying with us,

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This is a hard review to write. I want to be fair. This is a nice hotel and we had the family suite on the 7th floor. There were 4 of us and the rooms accomodated us well. This was not our first time to Paris and we stayed at a very nice upscale hotel last time, so this was a bit of a shock to our system. You get what you pay for and this was a very fair price for not having to rent two separate rooms. Location is not bad as well, easy to find your way around. Our biggest concern when we first pulled up to the hotel is that it is right next door to a sex shop. Not too pleased about this since we were traveling with our children. This became a non issue as it didn't affect us and we just walked in the other direction.

It's a bare bones facility, room service menu is very limited, telephone in the room is just a phone with no extra buttons to connect you to services, you have to know that dialing 9 gets you to the front desk. TV's in both rooms but only one remote, power button did not turn on the tv, the channel button did. THERE IS NO SHOWER, just be aware. There is a bathtub with a handheld shower head but you can't stand up because of the angled ceiling of the roof.

Buffet breakfast was adequate and the staff was accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cunningtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XAVIER D, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments.
We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay. We will take the necessery steps to avoid our quality.
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed here around last week of May 2013 for couple of nights. The location is very good 0 close to the train and metro stations - its about 7 to 9 stops away from the Champs Elysee area or about 5 stops from the Louvre. The rooms are terribly small with a tiny bath. The concierge is just about helpful and a bit low on patience.
The breakfast again is the usual European type. Nothing to talk about. On the whole my advice if you are here for a really short stay maybe else other options could be better.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XAVIER D, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.
We have taken the notes of your comments, to improve a better quality.
Thank you very much for your review and staying with us.

Kinds regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Good location, cozy staff.
Food was very good ( lunch & dinner ) ... I reallt enjoyed it.

Room was v clean, quite big and fully equipped.

I cannot say I would not go there a 2nd time in a business scope ...

WEll done :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tofy_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XAVIER D, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write to us.
We are so pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay.
We will be very happy to welcome you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We were taking a Seine river cruise and this hotel was close to the port. It was also close to some relatives we were visiting in a nearby suburb of Paris.

The location was great because it was right near the Metro. There was a grocery store just across the street and a few cafes. We skipped the overpriced buffet and went to one of those instead.

There is some sort of sex shop right next door. My son found this hysterical and it was only a matter of minutes before the photo was shared on FB. Sigh. But parents be assured, this was NOT a problem during our stay and we did arrive back in the evening a couple of times. We didn't see anyone coming in or out or dodgy characters hanging around.

We also had a room facing the street on the 2nd story. I wasn't thrilled with this but it was a busy holiday weekend and we didn't have any other options. Turned out, noise wasn't a problem. The windows were well sealed. Well, there was a anti-marriage equality protest at midnight one night. Doubt that happens all the time and it was quick. A few shouts, horns and the bigots were well down the street in just a few minutes... Otherwise, the noise wasn't a problem.

The staff was very nice and helpful. I did have a computer problem and they couldn't help over the phone (the problem wasn't language). I told them, I'm in sweats but they said it was okay. Turns out that all I had to do was close and re-open the window to get the (free internet) connection. Please take note!

What was a problem was that the bathroom, and I'm not sure if they're all like this but the door was glass. It also faced the beds. I wanted to get up and take a shower one morning while the children were still asleep. No way could I do that without waking them up. If you turn on the bathroom light, it lights up the whole room.

Obviously, this isn't an issue for anyone traveling alone. It's a design flaw that only a total rehaul of the bathroom would solve. Kind of bummer that they didn't think to put the bathroom door in the entryway, perhaps not in glass that illuminates the whole room. Maybe it was the only one like this??

Also, there isn't anywhere for a car to pull up to get luggage in and out. The hotel staff suggested parking on the corner in front of the sex shop but we ended up just dragging our bags across the street. Most people reading this probably aren't coming to Paris by car so it probably won't be a factor.

If you're looking for chic and fancy, head elsewhere but if you want clean and convenient, it's a good pick.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calsacienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XAVIER D, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write to us.
We are so pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay.
We will be very happy to welcome you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I loved this hotel and will return again. Great location, friendly staff, clean, spacious and stylish rooms featuring a small, romantic balcony overlooking the city streets . Comfortable beds and a wonderful buffet breakfast restaurant.

It is 5 mins' walk to Gare de Lyon and close to Bastille Metro or walking distance to most of the city by foot as well. Restaurants everywhere and 2 supermarkets very close by.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have little balconies overlooking the city streets and I think all the rooms are i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desmondorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XAVIER D, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us.
We are very pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay.
We will be very happy to welcome you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Terminus Lyon
Hotel Terminus Lyon
#508 of 1,802 in Paris
887 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
#573 of 1,802 in Paris
320 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Ibis Paris Gare de Lyon Ledru Rollin 12eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Viator - Paris Gare de Lyon
Bercy / Nation
Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
#440 of 1,802 in Paris
2,719 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#946 of 1,802 in Paris
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille

Property: Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
Address: 11 rue de Lyon | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#278 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#491 Business Hotel in Paris
#495 Family Hotel in Paris
#558 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Press on this following link to discover our hotel video de l'Holiday Inn Paris Bastille. The Holiday Inn Paris Bastille hotel is ideally located in the historical heart of Paris with its famous Place de la Bastille and only a 5 minute walk from the Gare de Lyon train station with its direct access to Disneyland Resort Paris and convenient metro access to Paris Expo Porte of Versailles Exhibition Center. Only walking distances away and easy metro accesses ( metro Bastille ) from the most famous Paris leisure attractions like the Louvre Museum, Notre Dame of Paris, and George Pompidou Center. Stroll along the Seine, or go for a nice shopping spree and enjoy the exclusive Shopping District Rivoli where you can enjoy the latest Paris fashion and visit various well known Department Stores.Only a short distance away from Orly and Charles de Gaulle airports, the Stade de France, and La Defense business district, this 3 star hotel is the place to be for both leisure as well as business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Paris Bastille Hotel Paris
Paris Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Bastille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing