We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, if a little characterless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Paris Republique
Ranked #599 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I have stayed in many Paris hotels of this architectural period and this, I think, is the least attractive. Rooms are very small for the price and staff are somewhat stand-offish - but then again, this is Paris and stand-offish is what Parisians do best!

Location is not my favourite. To me, the Place de le Republique is typical of the grimy, litter strewn face of Paris and I personally find it an unpleasant area. Others love it though.

Each to their own, I guess.

Overall though, it was a pleasant enough stay and I would stay there again if necessary.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnythirkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Customer Service at Crowne Plaza Paris Republique, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Johnnythirkell,

First of all, we would like to thank you for having chosen to stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Paris République and for your precious time to share your experience with our future clients.
Even if the district doesn’t seem to be your favorite one, we are happy to hear you will come back again…
It will be a pleasure to share your feedback with our staff, although you have found Parisians “ stand-offish”, lack of warmth is a point that we transfer to our team in order to improve day after day .
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon again.

Yours sincerely,

The Guest Relations Team
Crowne Plaza Paris République

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

895 - 901 of 2,680 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

We arrived early and our rooms were not yet ready. We were told by the very nice gentleman that our rooms would be ready in about one hour. We checked our bags and went for lunch. When we returned (1.5 hours later), Our guy was gone and the young lady behind the desk insisted that our rooms were not yet ready. She was a little short with us but we got our rooms after a persuasive talk by my man. Otherwise rooms were great and we loved the courtyard.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Customer Service at Crowne Plaza Paris Republique, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear kkarge,

We'd like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Paris République. Guest comments like yours allow us to improve our quality and services provided where our guests feel it is necessary in order to exceed all our guests expectations
We do our best to ensure a speedy check-in for all and we are sorry that yours has been delayed despite of promise made.
We wish you come back to Paris sooner than you expect

Yours sincerely,

The Guest Relations Team
Crowne Plaza Paris République

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We took a family room (2 double beds in one large room on the top floor). Check-in was extremely friendly and we were offered the choice of facing the street or facing the courtyard - we chose the latter as we were advised it would be much quieter, and this proved to be the case. We had five very peaceful nights in very comfortable beds. The breakfast was adequate and as children are free we ate well on two mornings which sustained us for a long day, at fairly good value. Had we had to pay just the adult price for everyone though I am not sure we would have felt the same. The main selling point of this hotel is its location. Just two metro stops from Gare du Nord, 2 mins walk from the nearest station which links to 5 different metro lines, a staffed station enabling you to buy passes etc, bus stop outside - and also quite a pleasant walk into the big tourist areas. Also a selection of great restaurants right on the doorstep if you don't want to travel far in the evening. We got a good deal booking via Eurostar and were very pleased overall.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor with courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milliej27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Customer Service at Crowne Plaza Paris Republique, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear milliej27,

Thank you for your preference and loyalty towards the Crowne Plaza Paris République and for your recommendations for our future clients.
We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and we will make sure to share your comment with our teams.
Hoping to hear from you, we remain at your entire disposal.

Yours sincerely,

The Guest Relations Team
Crowne Plaza Paris République

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The location is great right on the Place de la Republique but the rest was mediocre. Check-in was very slow. I waited at least 15 minutes and think that a large hotel should have more than 2 reception staff on duty on a Friday evening in a tourist city. The staff were friendly however. The room was large with 2 double beds which was great and the beds were clean and comfortable. However the room was very tired - 1980s decor and in need of a complete refurbishment. Lots of small things were broken like the tap, the bottle-opener and the hook on the back of the door. I was disappointed. the hotel is not cheap and definitely does not merit its 4 star + category. I doubt I will return and would not recommend other than big beds and large room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IbizaGuy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Customer Service at Crowne Plaza Paris Republique, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear IbizaGuy1,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent experience about your stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Paris République.

Your review is very important to us and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our large and comfortable rooms with two double beds and the convenient location, right next to the metro station : République.
We apologize you did not like our décor but be informed each year we undertake major investments for upgrading the product and services of our hotel.

We hope that should you have the occasion to return to Paris, you would consider our group again.

Yours sincerely,

The Guest Relations Team
Crowne Plaza Paris République

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

There are mixed feelings for this hotel but mine was exceptional. Cecile Fevre who i dealt with many times always went above and beyond to assist me and my family on the many business stays i had here.

It was even better whilst using my Priority Club status to get the suites but really loved this place. At one stage i spent close to 3 months here at once was met the Metallica road crew, made my stay even better.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Customer Service at Crowne Plaza Paris Republique, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Tina N,

It was a treat to read your excellent remarks and Cecile is so proud of your kind words!
We are definitely willing to have you back at crowne plaza Paris Republique

Yours sincerely,

The Guest Relations Team
Crowne Plaza Paris République

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is a fine hotel with comfortable, reasonably well equipped rooms within fair walking distance of Notre Dame for a fairly fit person.
However the basic Continental Breakfast -- admittedly with an omelette nature thrown in -- costs an unearthly Euro 25. This is 3 times the cost at Café Richard just across the square, even only twice if one wants an omelette there as an option. It is NOT an option costwise at the Crowne Plaza. Great Shame really.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Customer Service at Crowne Plaza Paris Republique, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Ian K,

We highly appreciate your feedback, as they assist us to improve our products and services in order to better meet your expectations during your next stay with us.
Thanks for your review saying that Crowne Plaza Paris Republique is " a fine hotel with comfortable, reasonably well equipped rooms ".

Can we remind you that our full American Buffet Breakfast ( at 25€ ) is composed of a great variety of cold cuts, hot dishes and a selection of egg dishes prepared in front of you at our show cooking station, not to forget the good selection of pastries and fresh fruits. This also includes juices and a variety of hot drinks. Otherwise, a continental breakfast is also served from Monday to Friday included in our Bar. This last one costs only 8€50 and is composed of hot beverage, fresh squeezed orange juice, pastries and jam.
We hope that you will continue to trust us during your next stay in Paris and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

The Guest Relations Team
Crowne Plaza Paris République

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We are not thrilled with this hotel. Was told it is close to & walkable to all the sites, but not true. It costs a small fortune to take the taxi cabs to get places, the room has NO heat (can't believe that), and the staff is not user friendly. No dressers for folded clothes. Bathroom is tiny. Room needs a total renovation. The room is just okay by European standards. We will not be back. Very disappointed.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank annehassel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Customer Service at Crowne Plaza Paris Republique, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear annehassel,

We are most embarrassed to read your posting on TripAdvisor and it is with great regret we read that your stay was not to your expectations.
Our hotel is indeed ideally situated for shopping or visiting Paris with its great metro access with 5 metro lines which costs less than taxi cabs of course.
We hope that should you have the occasion to return to Paris, you would consider our group again.

Yours sincerely,

The Guest Relations Team
Crowne Plaza Paris République

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Novotel Paris Les Halles
Novotel Paris Les Halles
#345 of 1,804 in Paris
3,873 reviews
Hotel Eiffel Seine
#335 of 1,804 in Paris
2,231 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#136 of 1,804 in Paris
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Francais
#101 of 1,804 in Paris
2,044 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel du Cadran Tour Eiffel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Paris Republique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Paris Republique

Address: 10 Place de la Republique, 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#256 Family Hotel in Paris
#336 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £112 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Paris Republique 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Crowne Plaza Paris Republique is a unique building easily accessible and only few minutes away from all attractions (Grands Boulevards, Montmartre, Eiffel Tower...). Parisian people love going around the numerous bars, restaurants and shops that surround the Place de la République which is easily reached by 5 metro lines. For a comfortable stay, the Crowne Plaza Paris République is newly renovated with its 328 air-conditioned rooms , 1 Restaurant, 1 Bar and WI-FI access in public areas. Come to the restaurant 'Le Dix' to taste our buffet and the 'a la carte menu' featuring French cuisine, or to the 'Le Dix' Bar from where you can enjoy a nice view of the Place de la République Crowne Plaza Paris République also offers 18 meeting rooms, all have natural day light. These rooms can welcome up to 250 persons for conferences, in front of our historic inner courtyard. Last but not least, the hotel is only 3 metro stations away form the Eurostar, Thalys & TGV East Terminal in Paris and from stations where high speed metro arrive from Roissy Charles de Gaulle and Orly Airport to Parc des Exposition de Villepinte, le Bourget and the Stade de France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Paris Republique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Paris Republique Hotel Paris
Paris Crowne Plaza
Holiday Inn Paris Republique
Paris Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Republique Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing