We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Paris Republique
Ranked #608 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This was the final stop on our Evergreen Tour from Prague to Paris via the Danube. A wonderful trip ended with probably the most disappointing experience of the whole three weeks. The room was adequate but as it faced on to the Place de la Republique there was no chance of sleeping with the window open and even though the air conditioner was set on 10 degrees the room was far to warm at night and the weather was quite mild (no heatwave!). The biggest disappointment for the whole of our group was the mediocre breakfast. For those who preferred cereal there was the choice of Cornflakes, Special K or Frosties, no muesli or healthy options. The bowls on one day were minute as they must have run out of cereal bowls. One day the toast machine was broken, the plates were not always clean and the coffee was luke-warm from the coffee machine. The venue was not great as another reviewer mentioned the area was somewhat seedy. Definitely not a place I could recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RetiredAussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Customer Service at Crowne Plaza Paris Republique, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear RetiredAussies,

Thank you for taking time to make your observations on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay during the month of August.
We were sorry to see that from a choice standpoint at breakfast that we disappointed you during your stay and that you did not get the desired freshness despite the exceptional bad weather in Paris this season!
We also took good note of your remarks for improvement and rest assured that we have shared them with the concerned head of department in order to put in place corrective measures.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Hotels’ brand in the future.

Yours sincerely,

The Guest Relations Team
Crowne Plaza Paris République

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

823 - 829 of 2,723 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is a very good hotel in a very good location! Right at the Republique Square of Paris, you are steps away from the subway that takes you everywhere. The hotel is very nice, good rooms and a good price. I will say that the square gets a little seedy at nighttime so I would venture out alone late at night, but daytime its a tourist attraction.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRVEGAS711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

WhenI first saw the hotel, I nearly cried as there was renovation going on and the front was covered with plastic. However, once inside, this was forgotten as we spent four days in a hotel that was peaceful, clean and very friendly. A highlight was the amazing american buffet breakfast and especially the bustling, efficient maître d'. I speak a little french and enjoyed hearing the staff talking to each other, especially the chef explaining to a new recruit about poached eggs. The check in and check outs were swift. Our room was amazing , with a massive bathroom and a rear view of a garden terrace. We never saw one maid, but our room was always cleaned beautifully when we were out . There are many restaurants and bistro nearby and it is a short metro ride to almost any part of Paris. Check out the superb cafe/ bar 'le Bon cafe' which doesn't seem to have any reviews on here yet. The owner was so friendly and the prices not so expensive.It is 5 mins walk from the Crowne Plaza.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room facing the courtyard / terrace and it was soo quiet, even with the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 24Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Customer Service at Crowne Plaza Paris Republique, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear 24Julie,

Your comments are very important to us, as they assist us to keep focus on customer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards.
We are proud that we were able to fulfill all your needs and we are happy that you spend a great stay with us while you were in Paris.

We are delighted to read that you appreciated the cleanliness of your amazing room, the location of the hotel next to the Place de la République, the efficiency of service at reception and our efficient staff at breakfast!

We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back often!

Yours sincerely,

The Guest Relations Team
Crowne Plaza Paris République

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was the second time we've stayed at this hotel, and it was very enjoyable both times, not least because it is right on a major Paris Metro station--everywhere in the city is quickly available.

Our room was roomy and comfortable and spotless; additionally,it was ready when we arrived on Bastille Day early in the morning. The staff was friendly and very helpful in all instances. If you want to fuel up at breakfast for a day of sightseeing, this is a good place to be. Breakfast was included with our reservation so I can't comment on its value if it's being paid for separately. With IHG membership, internet access was free, so that was a bonus.

Place de la Republique has pluses and minuses. It's wide open, airy and not very congested, generally, and it is apparently also popular for spontaneous music, play for the kids, and other entertainments. It is also apparently popular for "manifestations," as they say; "demonstrations" as they might be called in the States. This can be entertaining and educational. There are some restaurants nearby (including a French chain that we like, Leon de Bruxelles, which has mussels many different ways) but it is not full of quaint bistros. ATM is across the square. St. Martin Canal isn't far away for a different kind of stroll.

The Metro stop and the hotel started to feel a lot like home. We'll go back if we go to Paris again.

Room Tip: The facade on the square is getting a face lift, but this should be done by the end of summer 2014...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Great rooms and decent location. We arrived early and had to wait for our room. Hotel kept our luggage while we explored. Hotel is directly in front of train station which was very convenient. Tons of restaurants around the hotel for lunch and dinner. Rooms were very nice and clean. The only negative I have about the hotel is the distance to the Eiffel tower and major attractions – 15 minute cab ride.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savvy-Explorer85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on August 8 for one night and from the moment we checked in to the time we checked out, we had the very best service. Checking in was quick and easy, staff was extremely helpful as we needed help finding parking and they were happy to assist us, and friendly. The hotel was a bit older, but clean and neat. We were upgraded to a club room with a beautiful view of the courtyard and a fully stocked bar. We went to the bar for a drink and the bartender was so accommodating as the bar was closed and he stayed for an additional hour. The hotel is located centrally and close to the metro, and most sites....the walk from the hotel to the Eiffel tower is about 30 minutes, in a taxi about 10- 15 minutes. There are plenty of restaurants, bars and cafes in the area. Perfect location!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Genny3168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Customer Service at Crowne Plaza Paris Republique, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Genny3168,

It is with great satisfaction that we read your review. Thanks to comments like yours, we are able to monitor our performance and we can put in place corrective actions for improving our services where our guests feel it is necessary.
We are glad you enjoyed the shopping area around our hotel and the many interesting sites around it.

We have shared your kind comments with our " extremely helpful" team and the team is very proud that we achieved to surpass your expectations during your recent stay.
We will be delighted to welcome you back upon your next Parisian trip.

Yours sincerely,

The Guest Relations Team
Crowne Plaza Paris République

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great location as there is a major metro stop just outside the door.
staff was very nice and they all spoke English, but this is not a 4 star hotel, more like a 3 star. Hotel was clean but run down, needs updating. Our room was larger than most (not many rooms like this) and the beds were very comfortable.
The concierge service is good, but has limited hours.

Room Tip: rooms facing the center are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domstorm37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Novotel Paris Les Halles
Novotel Paris Les Halles
#358 of 1,809 in Paris
3,996 reviews
Hotel Eiffel Seine
#362 of 1,809 in Paris
2,276 reviews
Le Marais
MARAIS HOme Hotel
MARAIS HOme Hotel
#255 of 1,809 in Paris
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#58 of 1,809 in Paris
1,604 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Le General Hotel
Le General Hotel
#224 of 1,809 in Paris
231 reviews
Opéra / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#20 of 1,809 in Paris
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Paris Republique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Paris Republique

Address: 10 Place de la Republique, 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#256 Family Hotel in Paris
#345 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £119 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Paris Republique 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Crowne Plaza Paris Republique is a unique building easily accessible and only few minutes away from all attractions (Grands Boulevards, Montmartre, Eiffel Tower...). Parisian people love going around the numerous bars, restaurants and shops that surround the Place de la République which is easily reached by 5 metro lines. For a comfortable stay, the Crowne Plaza Paris République is newly renovated with its 328 air-conditioned rooms , 1 Restaurant, 1 Bar and WI-FI access in public areas. Come to the restaurant 'Le Dix' to taste our buffet and the 'a la carte menu' featuring French cuisine, or to the 'Le Dix' Bar from where you can enjoy a nice view of the Place de la République Crowne Plaza Paris République also offers 18 meeting rooms, all have natural day light. These rooms can welcome up to 250 persons for conferences, in front of our historic inner courtyard. Last but not least, the hotel is only 3 metro stations away form the Eurostar, Thalys & TGV East Terminal in Paris and from stations where high speed metro arrive from Roissy Charles de Gaulle and Orly Airport to Parc des Exposition de Villepinte, le Bourget and the Stade de France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Paris Republique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Paris Republique Hotel Paris
Paris Crowne Plaza
Holiday Inn Paris Republique
Paris Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Republique Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing