We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4th visit, disappointment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Ranked #219 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
376 reviews
265 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
“4th visit, disappointment!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Yes, it was our 4th visit in this hotel. Though it is overpriced, we loved it so much. Centrally located, a lot of favorite cafes and good for shopping. Btw, we had issue this time.
We have been downgraded, because our initial "upgraded" room was above the jewish wedding, VERY loud and VERY loud-loud again. OK, have to move once again one day after. 3 movings in total.
Our 3rd room was good, but we still can feel the metro vibration (!).
Have to say, the hotel gave us a pleasant gesture, the dinner in Cafe De La Paix which was good.
Anyway, we are continuing being IC Ambassador members and happy because of that.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexzhdanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality & Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear alexhdanov,

First of all, we want to thank you for choosing the InterContinental Paris Le Grand on the occasion of your last stay in Paris and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to read that you found our very central location and facilities convenient.
Also, we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience in your room. We are please that the bathroom with all of the bathroom supplies and amenities provided were up to your expectations.

On the other hand, we are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations particularly on the issues you have pointed out. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually

Finally, we apologize for the disagreements concerning your rooms and noises issues

Dear alexhdanov, we want to thank you once again for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the InterContinental Paris Le Grand soon.

Kind regards,
Quality & Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,511
    740
    269
    115
    70
See reviews for
497
1,085
156
588
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

The rooms are tiny but cozy, out of date mattress but comfortable. Great location and helpful stuff. The bathtub and shower should be replaced with new ones. Yet, it is a very big, traditionally decorated hotel, with good old style.

Room Tip: Not inner side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarakz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality & Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Sarakz,

First of all, we want to thank you for choosing the InterContinental Paris Le Grand on the occasion of your last stay in Paris and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are please that the bathroom with all of the bathroom supplies and amenities provided were up to your expectations. We are attached to conserve an old-fashioned style on your hotel in Paris.

Moreover, we are pleased to see that your room was up to your expectations. What a pleasure it will be to share your comments with our teams. Thank you for your very kind comments!

Dear Sarakz, we want to thank you once again for you great review and we hope that your comment will be useful for many travelers.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the InterContinental Paris Le Grand soon.

Kind regards,
Quality & Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I had a 1 night layover in Paris and since I am a platinum ambassador I picked this hotel. After reading reviews, I decided to take the roissey bus from the airport to the hotel and took a taxi from the hotel back to the airport. It was quite fun taking the bus for €10. and it took about 50 min. It dropped me off in front the opera house and a block or so from the hotel. It was very easy to spot the hotel once I got off the bus. As I walked over to the hotel I was just in awe to be in Paris and the opera house was the first impressionable building I saw. Upon check in my ambassador status was acknowledged extensively. They had upgraded me to an executive suite on the lounge floor but my room was not ready. I was welcome to have a complimentary drink while waiting for my room or I could go up to the lounge and relax. I chose the latter so I could relax, and charge my phone. They did offer me a standard room which was available immediately but I decided to wait for the larger room.
The lounge is 2 floors and had a nice pastry selection along with wine, coffee and sodas. It was definitely and nice place to relax for an hour after my flight. Once my phone was charged and I was ready to explore the city, I went downstairs and inquired if my room was ready. Fortunately it was and my bag was brought up. I inquired when breakfast was available as i had a mid-morning international flight. My breakfast was to be in the lounge but didn't open until 7:30. I needed to be in a taxi headed to the airport by 7:30. Fortunately, the hotel staff allowed me to take my breakfast downstairs in the restaurant for no extra charge. Back to my room- It was a charming room on the 5th floor with a large sitting area, king bed and a nice updated bathroom. The view just looked out into a courtyard which basically means I was looking at other rooms... Not really a nice view but I wasn't in the room to look out the window anyway. After cleaning up a bit, I headed out to take in the sites. The hotel is in a superb location. I walked all over - to the Eiffel Tower, up and down the Champ de élysées, several christmas markets and many places in between. When I returned to my room that night, I had a lovely note from the hotel manager welcoming me to the hotel, a bottle of water and a nice box of little pastries.
Overall, the hotel staff was exceptional - they were extremely friendly and helpful. The service was absolutely impeccable. My room was delightful and the lounge was a lovely retreat. My only regret was my family could not experience the hotel and Paris with me. I will definitely be back. Thank you for making my one night in Paris amazing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2momstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality & Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear 2momstravel,

First of all, we want to thank you for choosing the InterContinental Paris Le Grand on the occasion of your last stay in Paris and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
Moreover, we are pleased to see that you found our very central location, your room and our facilities convenient.
Also, we are delighted to that our hotel staff contributed to you well-being during your stay with us. Your comments will be shared onto them.

Dear 2momstravel, thanks once again for your kinds compliments.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon to continue to discover everything Paris and the InterContinental Paris Le Grand have to offer.

Kind regards,
Quality & Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

The rooms are outdated. Service is deficient. Of course the location is great, but at the end of the day the cost seems to high for what you get. Not to mention the place is overcrowded. For instance, I had to wait 20 mn to get a taxi...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NPMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear NPMalta,

Thank you for your comments about your visit. It is unfortunate that we were not able to meet your expectations due to the level of service received and if you found our rooms to be outdated. These points you have raised in your review will be addressed immediately to consider for upgrades needed on premises.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We (my wife, teenage daughter and I) stayed at this hotel recently in two different occasions for several nights. Location is very convenient, rooms are clean and confortable. We had an Opera View Room which was great. Friendly staff, but overwhelmed by a hotel which is too busy. Good breakfast..

Room Tip: Ask for either opera view or street view rooms with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indiansfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality & Administrative assistant at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Indiansfo,
First of all, we want to thank you for choosing the InterContinental Paris Le Grand on the occasion of your last stay in Paris and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to read that you found our very central location and facilities convenient.
Also, we are thrilled to see that your room contributed to your comfort during your stay us and that you enjoyed the fabulous Opera view from your room.
Moreover, we are glad to read that our hotel staff contributed to your well being during your stay and that the quality of breakfast that we propose has met your expectations. Dear Indiansfo, we want to thank you for your compliment we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon to continue to discover everything Paris and the InterContinental Paris Le Grand have to offer.
Kind regards,
Quality & Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel Dec25th-30th 2013 and loved it. We booked for classic room originally but since room was very small for us , we changed it to superior room with balcony.
As far as we understood, all the rooms looking at court yard doesnt have balconies, the ones looking at street has balconies.
Only small issue we had was the temperature of the room. It is either too cold and too warm.
Housekeeping did excellent job with cleaning the room.
Room service and restaurant little pricey but good food.
Breakfast was great with lots of options.
Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nes1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality & Administrative assistant at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Nes1745,
First of all, we want to thank you for choosing the InterContinental Paris Le Grand on the occasion of your last stay in Paris and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
Due to the fact that our property is a Haussmanian building, some differences may happen between two rooms of the same category. The configuration can vary depending on location and levels. Of our 470 rooms, no two are the same and the disposition can be different in each room. Furthermore, we are sorry to read that you experienced some difficulties in the room concerning the thermostat.
However, we are glad to see the quality of service that we propose to our guests has met your expectations and that our hotel staff contributed to your comfort and your well-being during your stay with us.
Dear Nes1745, we want to thank you once again for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon to continue to discover everything Paris and the InterContinental Paris Le Grand have to offer.
Kind regards,
Quality & Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights 30th December 2013 to 1st January 2014. We booked via our IHG points and it was nice for the hotel to email us one week prior to our arrival asking for flight details so they knew what time we would be arriving.

We had an early flight and arrived at the hotel at 10.00am and were checked in an efficient and professional manner. To our surprise our room was ready and we had been upgraded to the club floor on the 5th. The room was lovely, spotlessly clean and had a large bathroom with separate walk in shower and bath. It was also a quiet room with it being on a high floor therefore enabling two good nights sleep. Lovely turndown service in the evening.

We had dinner on Monday in Café de la Paix (separate review).

All the staff we encountered were professional and very friendly.

The only gripe we had was with regard breakfast. You can either have room service or dine in Café de la Paix and at 39 euros per person we thought expensive. We ordered room service and only had one tea and coffee and some toast and was charged 78 euros. I really think they need to look at this.

As our flight on New Year's Day wasn't until late evening we were able to leave our luggage knowing that it was secure until we returned back. It was promptly brought to us and a taxi arranged to take us to the airport.

Overall, we thought the hotel was beautiful and the staff went out their way to make your stay enjoyable and we will certainly would be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLTN477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality & Administrative assistant at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear BLTN477,
First of all, we want to thank you for choosing the InterContinental Paris Le Grand on the occasion of your last stay in Paris, for your loyalty as an IHG Rewards Club member and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to read that the quality of services and the benefits of our loyalty program that we provide to our guest members have met your expectations.
Also, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your room that we have attributed you and that it contributed to your comfort during your stay with us.
We certainly appreciate your comment about our hotel staff and we are pleased that our hotel staff have contributed to your well-being during your stay.
However, we are sorry to see that you were disappointed regarding the price of breakfast that we propose. We are regularly benchmarked against outlets of a similar standing in the neighborhood.
Dear BLTN477, what else to say but thank you for the very complete and positive review and we hope that your description will be useful to many travelers.
Thank you so much once again for your very kind comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon at the InterContinental Paris Le Grand.
Kind regards,
Quality & Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
#146 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
InterContinental Paris-Avenue Marceau
Opera / Bourse
Maison Athenee
Maison Athenee
#118 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Opera / Bourse
W Paris - Opera
W Paris - Opera
#338 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Paris Le Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Paris Le Grand

Property: InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Address: 2 Rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Paris
#126 Family Hotel in Paris
#145 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#191 Business Hotel in Paris
#203 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Paris Le Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Paris Le Grand, opened during the reign of Napoleon III, is located in the very heart of the city: across the street from the Opéra Garnier, close to some of the best-known Parisian attractions, world-famous department stores and the wonderful Place Vendôme. The hotel contains 470 rooms, all richly decorated in the colours of the Opéra, and a warmly illuminated haven of peace and serenity in the bustle of Parisian life: la Verrière. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Paris Le Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Paris Le Grand Hotel Paris
Le Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing