We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury in Paris” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Paris Le Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Ranked #219 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
155 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Luxury in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is the tops for luxury in the heart of Paris. The staff is ready to please in every aspect. Rooms are smallish but comfortable. Be careful not to touch items in the minibar as you will be charged even if just looking. There is a converter you may borrow stowed in the minibar. The concierge is knowledgeable and provides great service. Truly a great four star hotel. All this luxury does not come cheap. 41 euros for huge buffet breakfast with individually prepared omelets.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mahlonjanwhittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality & Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Mahlonjanwhittle,

First of all, we want to thank you for choosing the InterContinental Paris Le Grand on the occasion of your last stay in Paris and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that our hotel staff, as well as our Concierge team, contributed to your well-being during your stay with us. Be assured that your comment will be share onto them. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests.

Also, we are delighted that the quality of Breakfast that we provide to our guest has met your expectations. Be assured that we will share your comment with our food and beverage department.

However, we regret to read that you found our minibar service overpriced. We are regularly benchmarked against outlets of a similar standing in the neighborhood.

Dear Mahlonjanwhittle, we would like to thank you once again for your review as well as for your kind words and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Intercontinental Paris Le Grand Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Quality & Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,489
    730
    266
    115
    70
See reviews for
491
1,073
153
576
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nederland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Pro's: location, location and location. You simply can't be in a better neighbourhood in Paris.
Then why am I giving this hotel just 2 stars out of 5? Because there are too many cons:
- Breakfast costs 49 euro per person. Not in 49 years am I gonna pay that. That means 100 euro extra per day for 2 persons eating a boiled egg and some toast.
So we had to go out in the morning to have breakfast somewhere
- the bed is extremely small for 2 persons. (only 140) That's really a shame for an executive room in a luxury american hotelbrand...
- we had to shower in the bathtub
- every 10 minutes or so there was a horrible noise and buzz in the room (you could hear it and feel it). When I asked about it I was told it was the metro. I was on the 4th floor! How is that even possible?
Overall not really happy with my stay. Even though I am a HUGE fan of Intercontinental hotels this one I'm not gonna choose again. Sorry IC

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BarbaraKralingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality & Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear BarbaraKralingen,

First of all, we want to thank you for choosing the InterContinental Paris Le Grand on the occasion of your last stay in Paris and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to see that you found our very central location convenient. Our hotel is indeed ideally located for sightseeing or shopping! Thank you for your kind words.

However, we regret that some elements of our service have not met your expectations.

Regarding your comment about our prices, we regret that you found our breakfast at the Café de la Paix overpriced, our prices are regularly benchmarked against other outlets of the same standing in the area.

In the case where your room does not completely meet your expectations do not hesitate to bring us your issue and if we have the availability we will allocate you another room. We’ll do our best to make your stay memorable.
The most important for us is your comfort and your well-being during your stay with us.

We do strive for excellence and we are devoted to meet your expectations.
We can completely understand your frustration regarding the metro noise disturbances and we can only apologize for the troubles that these have caused you.

Dear BarbaraKralingen, we do regret that your last InterContinental Paris Le Grand Experience has not met your expectations.

Dear BarbaraKralingen, we would like to thank you once again for your review.
Hoping that the image of our hotel has not been tarnished by this experience and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Intercontinental Paris Le Grand Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Quality & Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Lavish room that was so comfortable and overlooked Paris. Lots of delicious food that was presented well. Staff were very helpful and courteous. Definitely on the revisit list. The concierge knew so much about Paris and check in very efficient. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality & Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Paul H,

First of all, we want to thank you for choosing the InterContinental Paris Le Grand on the occasion of your last stay in Paris and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that your room contributed to your comfort during your stay with us.

Also, we are thrilled to see that our hotel staff , as well as our concierge team, contributed to your well-being during your stay with us. Be assured that your comment will be share onto them. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests.

Moreover, we are glad that the quality of service, as well as the quality of food have met your expectations.

Dear Paul H, we would like to thank you once again for your great review and for all of your compliments.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Intercontinental Paris Le Grand Hotel soon.

Kind regards,
Quality & Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
483 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great location if you plan to visit the opera as it is located just across the road from the opera. It is a rather big hotel, but staff at the reception will make you feel like a king. The rooms are nicely decorated, but bathroom need to be updated. Famous Cafe de la Paix is located in the hotel, it is rather expensive, but worth every penny. It has even good location for airport access as you can take a taxi or even a Rossy buss which will stop right next to the opera.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ales11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality & Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Ales11_11,

First of all, we want to thank you for choosing the InterContinental Paris Le Grand on the occasion of your last stay in Paris and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to see that you found our very central location convenient.
Also, we would like to thank you for your compliments on our building. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your room despite of some minor inconveniences.
We do regularly carry out room and bathroom refurbishments but we regret that you did find certain areas tired. We apologize for inconvenience that you did experience.

Moreover, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your instants at the Café de la Paix.

Dear Ales11_11, we would like to thank you once again for your review as well as for your very kind words.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Intercontinental Paris Le Grand very soon.

Kind regards,
Quality & Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed for 1 night on Sat 24 May. Arriving early in the morning we were surprised to be able to check in at 10.00am which was great as we expected to have to leave our luggage until the afternoon.
The hotel is large and elegant. The bar / lounge Is situated in an atrium surrounded by rooms. The entrance is somewhat awkwardly located behind the hotel as you look at it from the Opera square.
The rooms are well furnished but not overly luxurious. Bathrooms a little dated.
We had a drink in the bar ( expect €9 for tea, € 12 for a glass of wine and € 14 for beer.) The hotel has a high standard of service but you would expect this for the price paid.
Location is excellent.
We would stay here again despite the fact that it is not a good 'value' hotel. The Opera hall restaurant serves excellent food in a stylish setting and is a few minutes walk from the hotel as we didn't seem inspired by Cafe de la Paix.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rc363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality & Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear IntHealthSol,

First of all, we want to thank you for choosing the InterContinental Paris Le Grand on the occasion of your last stay in Paris and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that your check- in experience has met your expectations.
Be assured that your comment will be shared with our team of front office.

Moreover, we are pleased to read that you liked our Empire style decoration. Thank you for your compliments on our building and on our winter garden, La Verrière.
Also, we are delighted to see that you found our very central location convenient. Our hotel is indeed ideally located for sightseeing or shopping!

However,we do regret that you found the bar overpriced, our prices are regularly benchmarked against other outlets of the same standing in the area.

Dear IntHealthSol, we would like to thank you once again for your great review and for all of your compliments.
We are pleased to read that your overall experience at the Intercontinental Paris Le Grand hotel has met your expectations.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Intercontinental Paris Le Grand Hotel in order to continue to discover everything in Paris and all that the hotel have to offer.

Kind regards,
Quality & Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Intercontinental while in Paris for our anniversary. Having stayed at number of hotels in Paris over the years, this was by far the best one I have stayed in. Well located, friendly staff, and a nice outlook from our room over to the eiffel tower. Would happily stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rupert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality & Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Rupert C,

First of all, we want to thank you for choosing the InterContinental Paris Le Grand on the occasion of your anniversary in Paris and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to see that you found our very central location convenient. Our hotel is indeed ideally located for sightseeing or shopping!

Furthermore, we are delighted to read that our hotel staff contributed to your well-being during your stay with us.
Be assured that we will share your comment onto them, it encourages our team members to work even harder and consistent your guests.

We are thrilled to read that the quality of service that we provide to our guest has met your expectations and contributed to your comfort during your stay with us.
Moreover, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your room with its fabulous Eiffel Tower view.

Dear Rupert C, we would like to thank you once again for your very kind words. We would be pleased to welcome you back at the Intercontinental Paris Le Grand Hotel very soon.

Kind regards,
Quality & Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spent a romantic weekend in the hotel. Based on previous reviews took the bus from the terminal to the corner across from the hotel- couldnt have been any easier.

Hotel is located across from the Opera which is a great location and walking distance to great attractions. We spent half the days just walking.

Rooms are small but gives you a great feel for the city and the high end feel of the hotel. We received breakfast (I believe its 40 euro per person) but it was one of the best breakfasts I ever encountered (every time we think of a great breakfast this one comes to mind).

Two blocks away you can find an underground convenience store/super market so get your water there.

Also did their tea and cake in the evening which was very good. Felt that this hotel and its service are 5 stars.

Would definitely visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronandsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Paris-Le-Grand, Quality & Administrative Assistant at InterContinental Paris Le Grand, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Ronandsam,

First of all, we want to thank you for choosing the InterContinental Paris Le Grand on the occasion of your last stay in Paris and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to see that you found our very central location convenient. Our hotel is indeed ideally located for sightseeing or shopping!

Moreover, we are pleased to read that your room contributed to your comfort and your well-being during your stay with us.

Also, we are delighted that our breakfast and the quality of service that we provide to our guest have met your expectations. Be assured that we will share your comment with our food and beverage department.

Dear Ronandsam, we would like to thank you once again for your review and for all of your compliments. We would be pleased to welcome you back at the Intercontinental Paris Le Grand Hotel soon.

Kind regards,
Quality & Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
Hotel Indigo Paris - Opera
#171 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
InterContinental Paris-Avenue Marceau
Opera / Bourse
Maison Athenee
Maison Athenee
#141 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Westminster
Hotel Westminster
#221 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Paris Le Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Paris Le Grand

Property: InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Address: 2 Rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in Paris
#126 Family Hotel in Paris
#143 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#191 Business Hotel in Paris
#203 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Paris Le Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Paris Le Grand, opened during the reign of Napoleon III, is located in the very heart of the city: across the street from the Opéra Garnier, close to some of the best-known Parisian attractions, world-famous department stores and the wonderful Place Vendôme. The hotel contains 470 rooms, all richly decorated in the colours of the Opéra, and a warmly illuminated haven of peace and serenity in the bustle of Parisian life: la Verrière. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your InterContinental Paris Le Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Paris Le Grand Hotel Paris
Le Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing