We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unrivaled Location and Breakfasts. Charming Staff!! Stay in a Superior or Deluxe Room”
Review of Regina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Regina Hotel
Ranked #100 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unrivaled Location and Breakfasts. Charming Staff!! Stay in a Superior or Deluxe Room”
Reviewed 19 October 2009

This is an excellent hotel with an unparalleled location. I stayed here with my two young daughters in September. We were able to go everywhere we wanted walking as right outside of your door....within 5 minutes is the Louvre...the Seine...Angelina's..the Opera..etc....The first night we arrived we had a view of the Eiffel Tower out of our window. However, the standard rooms are tired-unacceptable by American standards. We were upgraded to a suite without a view when we expressed our displeasure to the manager. The breakfasts are sublime..the public rooms are gorgeous and elegant. The staff is marvelous and charming with children! This is a historical hotel that is not perfect. The Ritz is not perfect either. This has the BEST LOCATION in Paris!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juju2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    254
    75
    30
    34
See reviews for
250
470
44
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Bell, Pa
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Did I mention the location is great. Walk to the Lovre, the Muse D Orsay and Monet's at Orangerie (sp?). Nice rooms and clean, staff was very helpful with good reccomendations for dinner and directions. Great place to start our trip in Paris. Our room also had a view of the Eiffel Tower and the Lovre.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrBob5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, CA
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

We stayed at the Regina for six nights in September, our second visit to this hotel. We love it! Walking in to the Regina is like taking a step back in to times long past. The lobby and its ambiance is charming -- elegant but not pretentious. The rooms are also charming -- old fashioned but with modern amenities. This year we treated ourselves to a "Deluxe" room. The deluxe rooms are the slightly larger rooms with the high ceilings and lovely views. I don't recommend staying in the Standard Rooms, as they can be small and even dated for the Regina! The Superior Rooms are probably fine. Be forewarned: The Regina is not an American style hotel nor a "luxury chain hotel." This means that you will see quirks -- slightly warn carpets, chips on furnishings, some water damage around the windows. What you WILL find that you WON'T find in a luxury chain hotel is depth of character. The Regina is Old School -- staff who have been with the hotel for years, a tradition of high quality european service, a legendary English style bar, crisp clean linens, predictably hard Parisian beds! Don't come to this hotel if you are looking for miles of marble, fresh paint, consistently sized and decorated rooms and new Louis IV style furnishings. Do stay at the Regina if you have an appreciation for Old School, if you don't mind quirks, want good value for the money, and if you fancy being in the BEST location in Paris.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenya2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Something needs to be said about this disgraceful enterprise. The place is literally falling apart. It looks like nothing's been spent for 60 years. The paint is peeling off, the carpets filthy and stained, fittings antiquated and faulty, no wireless internet and the whole place smells stale and musty. The floor of the breakfast room is covered in the stains of dropped food. The staff are dismissive and unhelpful. The public area is tiny, the bar is dark and un-inviting. It is truly the worst hotel I have ever been in. We walked up for a drink to Les Meurice and confirm how much we'd been shafted. Do NOT stay in this hotel under any circumstances!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelmsfordhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2009

This hotel was recommended to us by our travel agent & we were really impressed by the service, value & the location was incredible. The front desk staff, the concierge, the waitstaff (at breakfast) & the maid service were all exceptional. Also, it's more of a boutique hotel, which gives it a warmer more personal feeling. It is located across from the Louvre & on the '1 Line' of the Metro, which couldn't be better. We would stay there again in a heartbeat & highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane66USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oaks, California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Lovely public areas, and such a history. You have all seen this hotel in many, many movies. The rooms are older, but clean. The ambiance and service wonderful. The location is unbeatable, in walking distance of many major attractions; ie, the Louvre, Jardins Tuilleries, Musee d'Orsay, l'Opera, subways....and so much more. We enjoyed the full hot breakfasts each morning, which were included in our rate. Our room overlooked the Louvre, Tuilleries and the Eiffel Tower in the distance. What could be more Paris?! After several trips to Paris, this is my favorite hotel. Would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JinFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

A beautiful hotel in a great location with wonderful service-what more could anyone want! Room service for breakfast was so quick we thought they brewed the coffee in the service elevator! Concierge recommended 2 fabulous restaurants and obtained a tour of Versailles in a mini van with an exceptional guide. We loved every minute of this stay!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelliMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Louvre / Palais-Royal
La Clef Louvre
La Clef Louvre
#23 of 1,801 in Paris
604 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#41 of 1,801 in Paris
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel La Tamise - Esprit de France
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel du Continent
Hotel du Continent
#86 of 1,801 in Paris
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Hotel

Property: Regina Hotel
Address: 2 Place des Pyramides, 75001 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Paris
#80 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#176 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#183 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Regina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The prestigious Regina Hotel, recently renovated, belongs to a long French tradition of luxury hotels. In the heart of the trendy district which is home to fashion design, shopping and museum, Paris aficionados will find the ideal place to stay, across the Louvre museum and the Tuileries Garden. Thanks to its wonderful situation, the capital's major attractions are just a stone's throw away including the Palais Royal and the Champs Elysees. From here, the luxurious Place Vendome, Orsay museum and the shopping centre Les Halles can be reached within 15 minutes on foot. Furthermore, the 'Tuileries' and 'Pyramides' metro stop at 150 meters provide quick and easy access throughout the city. First opened in 1900 for the World's Fair, Hotel Regina welcomes you in an intimate, spacious, sophisticated haven, where fine woodwork and designer lighting reinforce its anchor in Paris' history. This fully air conditioned property offers an array of services including a 24h reception, concierge, room service, laundry and limousine service amongst other. Furthermore, complimentary wireless Internet is accessible throughout the property. Each of the 99 rooms at the Regina Hotel in Paris has been elegantly furnished with antiques and period furniture, creating a traditional and luminous decor. Modern in-room amenities include a safe, direct dial telephone and flat screen television with satellite channels. Some of the bedrooms offer breath-taking views of the Louvre museum, the Tuileries Garden and the Eiffel Tower. Let yourself be charmed by its pretty Patio (opened on sunny days) and its staff dedicated to your personal needs. In its British atmosphere of the hotel bar, you will enjoy a drink or a cocktail from our Chef Barman. You will have also the opportunity to relish pastries from our pastry chef and our selection of teas. For lunch and dinner the Hotel Regina Restaurant will propose you a French and seasonal cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Regina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Paris
Regina Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing