We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some TLC”
Review of Villa Beaumarchais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Beaumarchais
Ranked #485 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Needs some TLC”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

From what we could see practically everything in this hotel needs some TLC spent on it. When we arrived at reception and just saw how warn the top of the desk was we knew things were not going to be so good. As we went to our room we had to find the wall switches to illuminate the way to our room (FWIW LED lights these days don't consume much power and provide a good level of illumination). We got to our room, and found our worst fears were confirmed.

We dare not walk in it with our bear feet and even walking with socks was considered a risque move, yes it had been vacummed but it was not clean, there were areas of what appeared to be mould in the carpet to other more dubious stains.

The bed was clean and the bathroom ok but again both in need of some TLC

The air conditioning does not appear to do anything other than circulate air.

The WIFI restriction to one device for seems odd, how many couples these days have two or more devices .... especially when on vacation ...

In terms of location, its OK, though be prepared for one or two stops on the metro in order to get to the more interesting parts of Paris.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    319
    130
    53
    38
See reviews for
78
366
45
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This was our first trip to Paris and we booked as a 'secret hotel' on Booking.com and was unsure when we read the reviews. However, we were really happy with the hotel; we went with our 9 year old daughter and were able to walk to most tourist areas. The hotel is in a nice area of Paris with some great French restaurants close by and easy access to the more 'touristy' restaurants around Notre Dame (we don't speak French but every where we went everyone was very helpfull). The hotel is really Parisian and was just what we wanted; - small, very friendly and helpfull staff, clean and comfy. I accept it could do with a new bit of carpet here and there, but we felt this added to it's charm. We would go back here. One tip that we picked up from Trip Advisor was to have breakfast at a local cafe, it is a lot cheaper and really nice. There are no children's activities and no restaurant!..... But who wants these on a trip to the heart of Paris?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
459 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This hotel was very convenient to the metro system and walking distance from the Bastille. Room was classically small but had NO ventilation. On a hot late summers day it was horrible returning to a hot room with no way to cool down. The A/C was worthless. The staff was lovely and the overall experience was a good one for the money. The neighborhood was boring though.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We enjoyed this hotel. It was in a quiet area, but convenient to 2 metro stops. The staff was very helpful with anything we needed. It would have been nice to have some more cafes for eating closer to the hotel. But all was good in general.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

A little gem hidden in the corner of the charming Marais. Plenty of lovely restaurants nearby and shopping both for food and fashion. I highly recommend the hotel, with its lovely interior, beautiful rooms and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Kirstine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Hotel has one amazing thing going for it: the location. Am afraid to say that's all folks. Arrived at night to a sad slow night porter/ receptionist that took a while to do anything when I was the only person at reception. Got given my key and went up to a tired old room that was as hot as a sauna. Heating was on and also an extra heater was in the room even though the weather in Paris was super hot. The bin was on the desk. There were footprints on the bathroom floor. Tv remote not working and the bed was as hard as I imagine a prison bed to be with lumpy synthetic cushions and what felt like grit or salt on the sheets so had to take them off and shake them. Bathroom toiletries are cheap and nasty and that old money saving trick of half a loo roll and tissues. I feel ripped off and it is not fair to charge ridiculous prices for something out dated, tired, worn everywhere from carpets to bathroom. Loud cleaning staff talking in corridors and doors constantly slamming. This is not acceptable anymore as travellers and guests don't want to put up with this bad service. This hotel needs to be bought and totally renovated with staff that care and an attention to detail and it would be a fantastic hotel in a fantastic location sadly as it is now it is a sinking ship and glad i was only here for one night also I stayed on a deal with late rooms. Never again am just thankful that I paid a discounted rate because I would even more upset if I was the idiot paying full rate to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgina14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

very disappointed with the hotel, the room was very tired compared with the pictures etc you see online and no tea/coffee in the room. location was good with a metro station close by. but i won't stay there again and not a 4 star as advertise would definately suggest looking at other hotels for your stay as like me i think you would be disappointed for what you get for your money

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clatters2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
1K Paris
1K Paris
#488 of 1,802 in Paris
334 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Duo
Hotel Duo
#395 of 1,802 in Paris
701 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de JoBo
Hotel de JoBo
#35 of 1,802 in Paris
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel de Neuve by HappyCulture
Le Marais
La Chambre du Marais
La Chambre du Marais
#27 of 1,802 in Paris
186 reviews
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#85 of 1,802 in Paris
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Beaumarchais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Beaumarchais

Property: Villa Beaumarchais
Address: 5 rue des Arquebusiers, 75003 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#291 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Beaumarchais 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a quiet street in Paris' 3rd arrondissement, better known as Le Marais, the charming Villa Beaumarchais is ideal for a stay in the capital. Centrally and historically located, the hotel offers modern and comfortable accommodation. Guestrooms are well furnished and equipped with modern en suite facilities. All of the rooms surround the hotel's central patio. This air-conditioned establishment serves a daily buffet breakfast, provides room service, has a car park and offers free Wi-Fi internet access. The Villa Beaumarchais offers you easy access to prestigious museums such as the Picasso Museum and le Louvre, Places des Vosges and Place du Marche Sainte-Catherine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Beaumarchais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Beaumarchais Hotel Paris
Beaumarchais Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing