We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, clean, well-placed hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Ranked #191 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My son, husband and I shared a first floor triple room at the Hotel d'Albe at the beginning of December.

On arrival, we were greeted by a friendly, helpful receptionist. She added that the extra pillows I had emailed them about a couple of weeks earlier had also been provided...impressive and much appreciated. Full marks for efficiency.

The corner room was spotless, with three big windows facing across the Boulevard St Michel towards the Louvre, with Notre Dame just round the corner! A great location in a very interesting and lively part of Paris. The bathroom was very clean with a hairdryer and toiletries provided, although some not replaced every day. Our beds were very comfortable with crisp white sheets and duvets with lovely soft pillows. Free WiFi is provided as well as a safe which is a useful addition. There is also a tv but who needs that when staying in Paris! Tea or coffee making facilities would have been good for an early morning drink but that's a minor point. Clean glasses each day would also have been appreciated. Although the hotel serves breakfasts, we chose to eat at various cafes nearby, including the reasonably priced Boulangerie de Papa which is next to the hotel's entrance.

Just down the road we found a very good Taverne (Taverne de Cluny) to spend an evening or two...so handy! In fact there are so many great looking cafes and restaurants in the immediate area, you are spoilt for choice. The Metro was just across the road but as the hotel was so well situated and the weather was so good, we walked to most places during our stay but it was useful for catching the train to and from Gare du Nord. We could even leave our luggage at reception, to collect later, on the day of our departure....very useful.

Our 5 night stay at the hotel was perfect.....friendly staff, lovely clean room and great places to visit. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melita2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 1,262 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

Brilliant location, close to bars, restaurants and importantly the RER from CDG Airport. Possible to eat very well at relatively low cost in the Latin Quarter. Hotel was only a few minutes from Notre Dame and may other of the treasures in Paris. The desk service was professional and very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Having tickets for the Theatre de Chatelet, this hotel was perfectly situated. It was a nice short, scenic walk away. We arrived late afternoon to check in, to a welcome that was not as friendly as I would have expected after all the great reviews; it was very good in the morning though, so I guess the young man on the desk was not having his best day :) The room & bathroom were very clean & functional, though a little small, but as we were only staying for one night that wasn't a problem at all.
The temperature in the room was very warm; the two options were fan or heat, air con didn't seem to be available, but maybe I just didn't press hard enough?
The bathroom was fine, though just some small détails: only 1 large towel, when we were 2 in the room (by the time we realised this it was very late so we didn't request a 2nd one), the toilettries were a little meagre, but sufficient. The shower screen was slightly too short compared to the length of the shower & when using the main power head, water tended to splash out onto the bathroom floor.
Our room faced onto the street, but as we arrived late in the afternoon & went straight back out we didn't notice. We also backed onto the lift, so needless to say, it was rather noisy!
Check out was quick & friendly & the receptionist offered to keep our bag while we had breakfast. The dining room was very nice, the food was fine and the staff were friendly.
All in all the experience was positive and we would probably visit this hotel again; but certainly ask for a room on the other side :)

Room Tip: Room n° 101 - backs onto the lift (elevator) and faces out onto the street which is quite a noisy ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue_Saltburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Location is excellent very near to cafes bars restaurants and metro stations it is very easy to go to the airports from station but rooms are small daily cleaning is good grindly persons at reception desk

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahoroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

For first time travellers who are looking for an authentic old village experience, this area is the best of all the latin quarter areas. Cheap authentic french food to classy french restaurants. 10 euro will get you a choice of entree main dessert. The take waway crepes, gyros and paninis ... fabulos french bakeries, homemade chocolate shops and little botiques. Cimes alive at night with street performers etc. The hitel was only 2 star even though they state 3 star. The unpleasant smell in the receotion area is awful. The rooms are dirty and verg small even by french standards and the teceotion staff were un helpful other than one we struck at check out time. The shiwer stunk with a waft from yhe drain as well. The parc hitel in thecsame area just around the corner is leaps ahead of the albe znd on the simolar tariff ... eould drfinitely not stay here again.

Room Tip: Dont book although it does have a comfortable bed.. if you were desperate an overnight stay is just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holtales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We travelled by Eurostar to Paris for 5 nights. This small hotel was ideal for us as a couple. It's 9 stops on the Metro to a station which is about 30 seconds walk from the hotel,although initially we took a taxi from the Gard du Nord. The area is awash with restaurants and bars so you could eat out for a month here and go somewhere different every night. Fairly traditional Plat du Jour menus as well as fondue and raclette but the density of restaurants keeps the prices competitive.
The room was chic and very comfortable. Good double glazing meant nights were restful too.
You're right next to the Seine and Notre Dame here and can walk to the Louuve in about 25 minutes. However unless you're a seasoned walker I'd recommend the Metro and save the walk for the Louvre which is immense and exhausting. A walk along the Rive Gauche to the Eiffel Tower on a lovely December day took about an hour.
We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel as you can wander out and find a cafe.
All the staff we met were very friendly and overall the hotel has an intimate feel. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I took my 20 year old son to Paris for his first visit, of course he loved it and wants to return! I picked Hotel Albe St. Michel for its location and price, and was pleasantly surprised to find the room very comfortable and the staff was exceptional. Everyone spoke English and they were so helpful when we needed questions answered or recommendations. We were able to travel directly from CDG to the hotel via the RER, which is easy and cheaper than a taxi. We walked almost everywhere, but used the Metro to get to further destinations. There are many great restaurants in this neighborhood, shopping, and even a Starbucks if you need a big coffee for your walk along the Seine. Notre Dame, Sorbonne, Pantheon, Louvre, Musee d'Orsay, and many other sights are all walking distance. We loved our trip and having a hotel in a great location was key, plus free wifi! The only thing I wish we had was a coffee maker in the room. Other than that, it was great!

Room Tip: We had a corner room, great view of the street and activity. We kept the windows closed most of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
#231 of 1,802 in Paris
823 reviews
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#237 of 1,802 in Paris
925 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#187 of 1,802 in Paris
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Les Rives De Notre Dame
Les Rives De Notre Dame
#796 of 1,802 in Paris
222 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Holiday Inn Paris - Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albe Saint Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albe Saint Michel

Address: 1 rue de la Harpe | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#154 Family Hotel in Paris
#162 Business Hotel in Paris
#238 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £128 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albe Saint Michel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Albe Saint Michel is a in Paris with a chic, contemporary decor located right by the legendary Place Saint-Michel and rue de la Huchette, just a few steps away from Notre Dame. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Albe Saint Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Albe St Michel
d Albe St Michel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing