We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort and Calm in the First Arrondissement”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Clef Louvre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
La Clef Louvre
Ranked #33 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Westmount, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Comfort and Calm in the First Arrondissement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

This was my first stay at this newly-renovated boutique-style hotel. The rooms are crisply decorated and large by Parisian standards. There is a fully-equipped kitchen in each room and some rooms have their own clothes washer and dryer. The only room available when I arrived, room 101, featured a beautiful panoramic view onto a fountain in a small square across the street from the hotel. This room, however also featured a lot of street noise (cars and moto's whizzing by and some kind of garbage collection at 2 AM on Rue de Montpensier with bangs, booms and beeps) that awoke me 3 times during the night. Management promptly moved me to a higher room, # 402 facing Rue de Richilieu that was perfectly quiet at night time. The breakfast buffet was good with lots of variety. The hotel has a small decently equipped gym with free weights and aerobic machines, and is right near the Louvre so perfect for runners. The hotel staff are welcoming and warm - a special thank you to Ismael for his professionalism. There are many mediocre and obscenely overpriced French restaurants in the area. I would suggest going to other arrondissements to sample French food for suppertime. Try l'Ambassade d'Auvergne on 22, rue du Grenier for really good food at a fair price. My sunset run from the hotel through the grounds of the Louvre, up along the Seine to the Eiffel Tower and back was a highlight of my stay.
In summary, this is a very good hotel in a great but noisy and touristy area. Light sleepers should request a higher room facing Rue de Richilieu. I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor and up facing rue de Richilieu to avoid street and garbage collection noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JeffWMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, Directeur général at La Clef Louvre, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience at Citadines Suites Louvre.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and to have met your expectations in service and quality standards.

The whole team, as well as myself, were very happy to great you at Citadines Suites Louvre and we hope we have the pleasure to greeting you again soon during your next trip in Paris.

Yours sincerely,

Kim Rousseau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    71
    21
    5
    7
See reviews for
120
315
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I like Citadines very much. I stayed 2 nights in Citadines Suites Louvre Paris. The environment was good and very clean. The service and people there were really nice and polite to me. The decorations of the lobby and room were fantastic and modern! The best thing of Citadines Suites Louvre Paris was its location.

It was very near Louvre museum and the royal palace. There are many cafe and resturants around Citadines. Supermarkets are not far too. The kitchen tools were well-prepared in the room if you want to cook by yourself. If I visit Paris again, I will absolutely stay at Citadines! I highly recommend Citadines to you!

Besides, they also provided many useful services like transportation between the airport and the Citadines. The breakfast in the lobby was also delicious and very fresh!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shao-ren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, Directeur général at La Clef Louvre, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your taking the time tho share your stay experience and your kind comments.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at Citadines Suites Louvre.

Yours sincerely

Kim Rousseau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, On
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

If you are looking for a great little hotel that is in the middle of everything, clean, new and has great service then this place is it. Amazingly new and yet classic French. Service is impeccable. We used the little kitchenette as great bakeries and shops are nearby. The hotel has a cute little gym and a nice reading room. We were surprised how big the apartment was for the price. We will return here for sure.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank wolfie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, Directeur général at La Clef Louvre, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience and your kind words.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and to have met your expectations in service and quality standards.

The whole team, as well as myself, were very happy to great you at Citadines Suites Louvre and we hope we have the pleasure to see you again soon among us during your next trip in Paris.

Yours sincerely,

Kim Rousseau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We have stayed in the 8th district in a luxury hotel before and that doesn't even come close to Citadines Suites Louvre! We loved the comfort and size of the room. Also loved the balcony in the Royal Suite. The location is amazing. Every morning we would just walk out and walk to the metro. We loved talking to Frank in the lounge area. He was so friendly and made us feel welcomed. The hotel has been renovated beautifully. Thank you Citadines Suites Louvre for an amazing stay! Can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Azad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, Directeur général at La Clef Louvre, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and to have met your expectations in service and quality standards.

The whole team, as well as myself, were very happy to great you at Citadines Suites Louvre and we hope we have the pleasure to see you again soon among us during your next trip in Paris.

Yours sincerely,

Kim Rousseau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had hoped to keep the Citadines Louvre as our secret place in Paris. We stayed there twice previously,once for a month, before the recent renovations. We just returned from my birthday week long trip and found the renovations have turned it into the best hotel in Paris. The decor is lovely. We had a one bedroom suite and everything about it was ideal. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom had L'occitane toiletries and large fluffy towels. We made use of the combo washer/dryer and enjoyed the Nespresso maker in the kitchen. Coffee and laundry and dishwasher tablets are provided. We had a small "incident" which Sophie and the front desk handled beautifully . Their Mercedes airport service was only one Euro more than a taxi.

Room Tip: our room was on the first floor and wasn't noisy at all. A higher floor affords a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewYorkgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

During my Paris stay a friend and I had a week at this property. It has recently been renovated and is very stylish and French. Our suite, a Royal Suite, was spacious, clean and had everything we needed. Great shower and L'ooictane products. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Our only hiccup was we had thought we had requested twin beds and were given a queen. It was our mistake but they quickly helped us and provided a roll away bed and offered to move us. Staff are more than helpful with requests and recommendations . It is very handy to the Metro and many many places to eat. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tracey966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

As a 5th-timer in Paris, I have a very clear idea on where I like to stay and what I can get for my money. Although I prefer to stay in Saint Germain and I don’t like apart hotels, I booked this hotel after seeing the pictures and reading the reviews. It was the best choice I made about Paris.

The hotel is situated at the heart of the Louvre (1st Arr.). It is a classic Parisian building on the outside and it is a tastefully designed brand new hotel on the inside. Because our room was not ready, they upgraded us to the royale suite. The vast 40m2 suite was clean, stylishly furnished and had a nice view of the square leading to the Louvre. The king size bed was very comfortable. The sitting room was big and housed a fully functional kitchen (although we didn’t use it). Everything in the room was obviously selected with great taste from the wallpapers to the L’occitane cosmetic products. Getting around was very easy since there are two very close bike rental stations as well as a metro station nearby. The breakfast was not inclusive and we had it once at the hotel. There wan't a huge variety of options but the quality of the food was very good. My only negative feedback is that the reception staff could be in a better mood. Unfortunately, this is typically something to be expected in France.

Room Tip: This is a busy area at any time of the day so try to get a room at one of the top floors to minimize...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Can A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#108 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#43 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel La Tamise - Esprit de France
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#81 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Clef Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Clef Louvre

Property: La Clef Louvre
Address: 8 rue Richelieu | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France (Formerly Citadines Suites Louvre Paris)
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#28 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#111 Business Hotel in Paris
#128 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Clef Louvre 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Clef Louvre Paris is located in the cultural and historical heart of Paris, opposite the Comedie Francaise theatre and the Louvre Museum and just a few minutes' walk away from the Rue de Rivoli and the Opera Garnier. This luxury "Boutique Residence" will seduce by you with its stunning Art Deco architecture, as well as its distinctive elegance and exceptional location. La Clef Louvre Paris is, in itself, a beautiful work of art. Built in 1908, it features an Art Nouveau façade made from dressed-stone, adorned with balconies, sculptures and colonnades, a perfect complement to the immaculately designed suites - your haven in the city. La Clef Louvre Paris offers a fitness room, a living room area equipped with a LCD TV and a computer with free Internet access and a printer. In our lounge area you can savor our buffet breakfast composed of fresh local products or relax at the end of the day with refreshment from our Honesty bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Clef Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Paris Le Louvre Hotel Paris
Citadines Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing