We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique experience”
Review of La Clef Louvre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Clef Louvre
Ranked #18 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is in a great location, in the city centre with a beautiful view on musee du Louvre .
The common parts are elegant, in a luxurious Parisian style.
The suite is charming and spacious, every detail had been taken care of. Had the chance to see the Parisian roofs from the bath tub in the room.. A unique experience!
The breakfast is rich and a large range of choice is available, the breakfast room is quiet and
nicely decorated.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank starglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

469 - 475 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

Our first trip to Paris didn't disappoint because of our wonderful experience with the Citadines Louvre. Firstly i emailed a request for a Airport transfer, it was arranged immediately and worked like clockwork, check in was informative and friendly, our room was beyond our expectations we booked a Premiere Suite, being the cheaper option i thought it would be rather small, but was spacious, large bed,great amenities,everything you needed was there plus the bonus of a washing machine/dryer after travelling and staying in some inferior hotels, this was a welcome piece of luxury. Did not have breakfast at the hotel, but bought lovely fresh food for our fridge and got great use of the nespresso machine. Didnt have a problem with noise, i was concerned after reading a previous review because we were on the first floor, but all good. We found that the apartment was in an excellent location and would definitely recommend and cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank fowler2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, Directeur général at La Clef Louvre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your inspiring Feedback.

We are delighted to learn that your fully equipped Suite exceeded you expectations and that you enjoyed the comfort and the calm of our Residence.

We are also very happy to know that we were able to have also met your expectations in terms of service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback from our guests motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering excellent service.

Once again, thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at Citadines Suites Louvre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Citadines Suites is a must place to stay if you are planning to visit Paris. Recently renovated , it is the new "Jewel of the city". My husband and I were there from September 26 to October 10, 2013. All of the conveniences to insure a delightful stay were provided. The suites are luxurious and beautiful with the most attention paid to detail and amenities that I have ever experienced. There are separate rooms for the bath and toilet. The addition of a washer/dryer to a beautifully appointed, fully equipped kitchen was a huge plus(I will definitely will pack even less for our next visit and we loved the Nespresso fresh coffee every morning). Numerous L'Occitane travel size necessities in case you forgot something, which I did of course. The lovely and very comfortable queen size bed was heavenly. I did not long for my bed at home once. Our Suite had two set of French doors welcoming you to a balcony with a table and chairs if you would prefer to have your breakfast coffee or a pre dinner glass of wine outside. We have stayed in different areas of Paris and we think this location is simply the best. There are so many places you can walk to. The Louvre Musee, the Opera, the Comedie Francaise for entertainment and Printemps, Galleries Lafayette, the Tuileries and St. Honore` offer unbelievable shopping experiences, and numerous dining possibilities. Metro and Taxi access is very nearby, or right outside the door if the staff calls the taxi for you. The Staff of Citadines Suites are exceptional. Everyone we met continuously exceeded our expectations. My husband and I are senior citizens and the help and comfort provided by our surroundings and the staff at Citadines Suites was a wonderful experience. The manager and all of the staff treated us as if we were family and like family they all helped us to our taxi to see us off when we had to leave. If we get to return to Paris we will come back to Citadines Suites Louvre.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I wanted to surprise my wife for our 10th anniversary by booking a trip to Paris for a week in September. I researched months in advance for the perfect place and hotel and I believed I found it at the Citadine Suites. However when checking in, we had our two young daughters with us, age 10 and 6, which I believed would not be an issue but they refused to allow us to be in the same room and wanted us to book a separate room (supposedly the only one available) at an additional cost of $3700 U.S. and expected us to split one parent with one child. Who in their right mind would split a family apart?! I even told them I would sleep on the floor if I had to. Since I already prepaid for the hotel they would not refund us our money. The "best" they could do was to send us to a sister hotel which I had to pay an extra $500 for the privilege. So, when they say maximum occupancy 2 adults, they really mean two people, kids included. I never write reviews but this experience left me very bitter. When they say the French are uptight and snobbish, they really mean it. I am sure they hotel would have been really nice to stay at if we were only given the chance. Cry me a river right?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank simon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, Directeur général at La Clef Louvre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guests,

We are sorry to hear of your unhappiness during your recent stay with us. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to address your concerns.

Our Suites are adapted for a maximum of two people, children being included. In some of our Suites, on request and upon availability, we have the possibility of placing a baby cot to accommodate two adults as well as a baby under 4 years old. We also have Imperial Suites, offering the possibility of two connecting Suites that can be proposed for families, again on request and upon availably. This information is clearly noted on our Web site as well as on the different Web sites of our online reservation partners, including the Web site you used for your booking that clearly states upon reserving that the maximum of people authorized is either two adults or one adult and one child. Therefore, as your reservation had been made for two adults, we were not aware that you would be accompanied by your two children. Had we received such a request we would have been happy to explain this to you before your arrival as to avoid you this unpleasant experience.

As we have the responsibility of insuring the comfort of our guests as well as their security we cannot accommodate additional people in our Suites, as the facilities do not allow us to do so. This is why, upon your arrival, we could not respond favorably to your request of accommodating you and your family in one same Suite.

I assure you that our team is dedicated to accompanying our guests and did everything possible to find the best solution for you by proposing the possibility of booking a second Suite if you wished to stay at Citadines Suites Louvre, which we understand was not adapted for you as you wished to be in the same Suite as your family. This is why we also proposed to move you to our Residence Citadines Prestige Saint-Germain, by offering you an apartment adapted to accommodate you and your family. As the initial reservation was based on an apartment for two people the supplement that was charged to you corresponds to an upgrade to an apartment for four people. However, in order to find once more the best solution for you and your family, a special rate supplement of 50€ per night was charged instead or 95€.

Please accept all our apologies if the explanations given during your stay where not clear enough and for the inconveniences that you experienced. I sincerely hope that I have been able to answer and clarify your different areas of concerns.

We hope to be able to welcome you again at Citadines Suites Louvre giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just perfect! We stayed 4 nights at Grande Suite room in October 2013. The Grande Suite has separate bedroom, living room and fully equipped kitchen with everything you might need including espresso machine, stove, washing machine etc. The room is exceptionally clean and lovely decorated. Friendly and helpfull staff and great location make this hotel almost ideal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dima S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, Directeur général at La Clef Louvre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Guests,

We are thrilled to know that we have exceeded your expectations and that we are your ideal accommodation choice in Paris.

Thank you so much for your kind words and compliments.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon at Citadines Suites Louvre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at the Citadines Suites Louvre, in Paris from the 13th to the 28th of September 2013. We had stayed there a few times in the past. Our stays were always good. The place has been totally renovated without destroying its character.
The location cannot be better. It is a few hundred feet from Le Louvre, close to Place de l'Opéra Garnier, with a métro station on line one just nearby. The view from our suite was on Place André Malreaux, la Comédie française (severa centuries old) and le Palais royal. One cannont ask for better.
We stayed in a studio. A good size by Paris standards. The equipment is ultra modern, in fact so modern that we had to ask for assistance to figure out how some components worked. For instance, we had never seen a washer and dryer being a single appliance. It works perfectly. The place was very comfortable and the service excellent. The staff is very competent and super friendly. We had a good time in Paris..
The only negative point is related to the air conditionning. As we were in the second part of September, the hotel, we were told, had moved from the air conditionning mode to the heating mode. The problem is that during the second week of our stay, there was a heat spell and there was no air conditionning. We were supplied with a fan. That helped a bit but not much.
On the overall, we highly recommend the Citadines Suites Louvre in Paris

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RonMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, Directeur général at La Clef Louvre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Guests,

It was a pleasure welcoming you again at Citadines Suites Louvre. We are always happy to have feedbacks from Guests having known our Residence before renovation and we are very pleased to hear that you appreciated your stay and that above all that you still feel at home and the very special character and charm of our Residence.

We would like to thank you for your compliments, epically concerning our staff members, your kind words will be shared with them.

However we are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced concerning the air conditioning. As you mentioned, having had cooler temperatures in September we had moved to the heating mode in mid September. Please be assured that we are now working on this issue in order to be able to offer the choice of both modes to our Guests in the future.

We thank you for your fidelity and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at Citadines Suites Louvre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located near rue rivoli 1 miniute from the louvre.
Its brand new, spotlessly clean, with great rooms that include a small kitchen equipped with all the facilities including a washer/dryer.
The staff is nice and helpful and it's altogether a great hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank szlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, Directeur général at La Clef Louvre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience at Citadines Suite Louvre.

We're delighted to know that you enjoyed your fully equipped Suite as well as the location and also thank you for your kind words concerning our staff.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon in Paris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Regina Louvre
Hotel Regina Louvre
#93 of 1,804 in Paris
1,124 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#21 of 1,804 in Paris
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Maison Souquet
Maison Souquet
#1 of 1,804 in Paris
666 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel d'Aubusson
Hotel d'Aubusson
#29 of 1,804 in Paris
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Clef Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Clef Louvre

Address: 8 rue Richelieu | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France (Formerly Citadines Suites Louvre Paris)
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#28 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#110 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £277 - £452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Clef Louvre 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Clef Louvre Paris is located in the cultural and historical heart of Paris, opposite the Comedie Francaise theatre and the Louvre Museum and just a few minutes' walk away from the Rue de Rivoli and the Opera Garnier. This luxury "Boutique Residence" will seduce by you with its stunning Art Deco architecture, as well as its distinctive elegance and exceptional location. La Clef Louvre Paris is, in itself, a beautiful work of art. Built in 1908, it features an Art Nouveau façade made from dressed-stone, adorned with balconies, sculptures and colonnades, a perfect complement to the immaculately designed suites - your haven in the city. La Clef Louvre Paris offers a fitness room, a living room area equipped with a LCD TV and a computer with free Internet access and a printer. In our lounge area you can savor our buffet breakfast composed of fresh local products or relax at the end of the day with refreshment from our Honesty bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Clef Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Paris Le Louvre Hotel Paris
Citadines Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing