We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Clef Louvre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Clef Louvre
Ranked #34 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Grimbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

this hotel is idealy located in the centrer of Paris, just at the Louvre and metro-entrance

we've got an upgrade due to non-availabilty of the rooms booked, these rooms are very spacious, equiped with kitchenette, micro-wave, dishwasher and even washing machine

the breakfast is outstanding, wtith a great choice of cereals, fresh fruit, . .and very helpfull waiter

staff are as friendly as can be, it is not the most cheapiest hotel in Paris, but price qualioty is outstanding

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Herman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    71
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
118
308
20
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at this wonderful hotel between 4 and 8 November 2013 for my wife's 30th birthday.

It is in a great location, being only minutes from both the Louvre, Opera and Galleries Lafayette. Upon arrival, we were warmly welcomed by Francois who was of great assistance to us throughout our stay by offering tips, directions, restaurant recommendations and reservations. Another gentleman on reception (with blonde hair and glasses) was equally helpful and was a pleasure to speak to.

Our room was immaculately clean and was very stylishly decorated. On my wife's birthday the head of housekeeping personally delivered a box of chocolates and handwritten card to mark the occasion which was a very thoughtful touch.

We have stayed in many five star hotels around the world and this was, by a considerable margin, the best hotel we have stayed in.

We would, without hesitation, recommend this hotel to anyone and cant wait to return to explore more of Paris!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craig k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We were very satisfied with Citadines as our choice of hotel in Paris and recommend it to other couples.
The location is ideal. We stayed in a junior suite with high ceilings, French doors opening onto a small balcony that overlooked a typical Paris intersection, trees, buildings, rooftops.
The room decor is in the typical Parisienne style.
Breakfast is optional. We stayed for breakfast on one morning and it was good value and delicious.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is in a great location, in the city centre with a beautiful view on musee du Louvre .
The common parts are elegant, in a luxurious Parisian style.
The suite is charming and spacious, every detail had been taken care of. Had the chance to see the Parisian roofs from the bath tub in the room.. A unique experience!
The breakfast is rich and a large range of choice is available, the breakfast room is quiet and
nicely decorated.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank starglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Our first trip to Paris didn't disappoint because of our wonderful experience with the Citadines Louvre. Firstly i emailed a request for a Airport transfer, it was arranged immediately and worked like clockwork, check in was informative and friendly, our room was beyond our expectations we booked a Premiere Suite, being the cheaper option i thought it would be rather small, but was spacious, large bed,great amenities,everything you needed was there plus the bonus of a washing machine/dryer after travelling and staying in some inferior hotels, this was a welcome piece of luxury. Did not have breakfast at the hotel, but bought lovely fresh food for our fridge and got great use of the nespresso machine. Didnt have a problem with noise, i was concerned after reading a previous review because we were on the first floor, but all good. We found that the apartment was in an excellent location and would definitely recommend and cant wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank fowler2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, Directeur général at La Clef Louvre, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your inspiring Feedback.

We are delighted to learn that your fully equipped Suite exceeded you expectations and that you enjoyed the comfort and the calm of our Residence.

We are also very happy to know that we were able to have also met your expectations in terms of service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback from our guests motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering excellent service.

Once again, thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at Citadines Suites Louvre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Citadines Suites is a must place to stay if you are planning to visit Paris. Recently renovated , it is the new "Jewel of the city". My husband and I were there from September 26 to October 10, 2013. All of the conveniences to insure a delightful stay were provided. The suites are luxurious and beautiful with the most attention paid to detail and amenities that I have ever experienced. There are separate rooms for the bath and toilet. The addition of a washer/dryer to a beautifully appointed, fully equipped kitchen was a huge plus(I will definitely will pack even less for our next visit and we loved the Nespresso fresh coffee every morning). Numerous L'Occitane travel size necessities in case you forgot something, which I did of course. The lovely and very comfortable queen size bed was heavenly. I did not long for my bed at home once. Our Suite had two set of French doors welcoming you to a balcony with a table and chairs if you would prefer to have your breakfast coffee or a pre dinner glass of wine outside. We have stayed in different areas of Paris and we think this location is simply the best. There are so many places you can walk to. The Louvre Musee, the Opera, the Comedie Francaise for entertainment and Printemps, Galleries Lafayette, the Tuileries and St. Honore` offer unbelievable shopping experiences, and numerous dining possibilities. Metro and Taxi access is very nearby, or right outside the door if the staff calls the taxi for you. The Staff of Citadines Suites are exceptional. Everyone we met continuously exceeded our expectations. My husband and I are senior citizens and the help and comfort provided by our surroundings and the staff at Citadines Suites was a wonderful experience. The manager and all of the staff treated us as if we were family and like family they all helped us to our taxi to see us off when we had to leave. If we get to return to Paris we will come back to Citadines Suites Louvre.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I wanted to surprise my wife for our 10th anniversary by booking a trip to Paris for a week in September. I researched months in advance for the perfect place and hotel and I believed I found it at the Citadine Suites. However when checking in, we had our two young daughters with us, age 10 and 6, which I believed would not be an issue but they refused to allow us to be in the same room and wanted us to book a separate room (supposedly the only one available) at an additional cost of $3700 U.S. and expected us to split one parent with one child. Who in their right mind would split a family apart?! I even told them I would sleep on the floor if I had to. Since I already prepaid for the hotel they would not refund us our money. The "best" they could do was to send us to a sister hotel which I had to pay an extra $500 for the privilege. So, when they say maximum occupancy 2 adults, they really mean two people, kids included. I never write reviews but this experience left me very bitter. When they say the French are uptight and snobbish, they really mean it. I am sure they hotel would have been really nice to stay at if we were only given the chance. Cry me a river right?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
26 Thank simon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, Directeur général at La Clef Louvre, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guests,

We are sorry to hear of your unhappiness during your recent stay with us. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to address your concerns.

Our Suites are adapted for a maximum of two people, children being included. In some of our Suites, on request and upon availability, we have the possibility of placing a baby cot to accommodate two adults as well as a baby under 4 years old. We also have Imperial Suites, offering the possibility of two connecting Suites that can be proposed for families, again on request and upon availably. This information is clearly noted on our Web site as well as on the different Web sites of our online reservation partners, including the Web site you used for your booking that clearly states upon reserving that the maximum of people authorized is either two adults or one adult and one child. Therefore, as your reservation had been made for two adults, we were not aware that you would be accompanied by your two children. Had we received such a request we would have been happy to explain this to you before your arrival as to avoid you this unpleasant experience.

As we have the responsibility of insuring the comfort of our guests as well as their security we cannot accommodate additional people in our Suites, as the facilities do not allow us to do so. This is why, upon your arrival, we could not respond favorably to your request of accommodating you and your family in one same Suite.

I assure you that our team is dedicated to accompanying our guests and did everything possible to find the best solution for you by proposing the possibility of booking a second Suite if you wished to stay at Citadines Suites Louvre, which we understand was not adapted for you as you wished to be in the same Suite as your family. This is why we also proposed to move you to our Residence Citadines Prestige Saint-Germain, by offering you an apartment adapted to accommodate you and your family. As the initial reservation was based on an apartment for two people the supplement that was charged to you corresponds to an upgrade to an apartment for four people. However, in order to find once more the best solution for you and your family, a special rate supplement of 50€ per night was charged instead or 95€.

Please accept all our apologies if the explanations given during your stay where not clear enough and for the inconveniences that you experienced. I sincerely hope that I have been able to answer and clarify your different areas of concerns.

We hope to be able to welcome you again at Citadines Suites Louvre giving us another opportunity to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#109 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#43 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel La Tamise - Esprit de France
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#69 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel d'Aubusson
Hotel d'Aubusson
#36 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Clef Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Clef Louvre

Property: La Clef Louvre
Address: 8 rue Richelieu | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France (Formerly Citadines Suites Louvre Paris)
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#28 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#111 Business Hotel in Paris
#128 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Clef Louvre 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Clef Louvre Paris is located in the cultural and historical heart of Paris, opposite the Comedie Francaise theatre and the Louvre Museum and just a few minutes' walk away from the Rue de Rivoli and the Opera Garnier. This luxury "Boutique Residence" will seduce by you with its stunning Art Deco architecture, as well as its distinctive elegance and exceptional location. La Clef Louvre Paris is, in itself, a beautiful work of art. Built in 1908, it features an Art Nouveau façade made from dressed-stone, adorned with balconies, sculptures and colonnades, a perfect complement to the immaculately designed suites - your haven in the city. La Clef Louvre Paris offers a fitness room, a living room area equipped with a LCD TV and a computer with free Internet access and a printer. In our lounge area you can savor our buffet breakfast composed of fresh local products or relax at the end of the day with refreshment from our Honesty bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Clef Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Paris Le Louvre Hotel Paris
Citadines Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing