We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great venue”
Review of La Clef Louvre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Clef Louvre
Ranked #29 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great venue”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We booked this apartment knowing it was more expensive but it has a very central location so we thought there would be less walking for my 86 year old mother. We have not been disappointed. The suite is very well furnished and spacious (although the bathroom is a little small) and the general facilities are very good. The kitchen area has enough to cook in and certainly goodfor breakfast and pre dinner drinks. We had a slight problem with the booking a week before but they sorted that out promptly and gave us a bottle for the disturbance. There is a very nice lounge downstairs with complimentary tea and coffee throughout the day. The staff are very knowledgeable and helpful and booked some excursions for us. Although a little pricey the facilities and location make up for and it has served us very well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeraldineUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    72
    21
    5
    7
See reviews for
125
328
22
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I travelled with my wife and two children and we stayed here for a week. It was my wife's 40th birthday. It was great. So close to the attractions, the Louver, the Metro and bus tour stops right out the front door of the hotel. The staff can speak several languages. They spoke English, French and German to us and I heard them speaking Italian and Spanish to other guests. Being close to the Louver allowed my wife to step out while we slept in to see the museum without the kids or me bothering her. My daughter 15 and my son 12 enjoyed the location. We had a One bedroom with twin beds with a double sofa bed in the living room with our own full bathroom and full kitchen to cook meals at our own pace. The staff were nice. The room is will appointed, everywhere. The in room safe was very handy. There is a grocery store about a 6 minute walk up the rue de Opera. We also went to a pizzeria on Richelieu that was good for take out and meeting locals with great info for us on things to see and do. Plenty of restaurants and cafes with in walking distance that kept us busy. As far as the city tours go use the Boat Taxi to get around the inner city. The Metro will take you anywhere. If you are going to Versailles buy your train ticket and admission ticket to Versailles together in Paris to avoid line ups at Versailles. Go when the Versailles fountains on to be on, they are so beautiful. Make sure to be in right line so no time wasted in wrong one..we saw many tourists waste time in the wrong lines..have fun and enjoy your stay at Louvre Paris hotel we did!!!

Room Tip: book rooms that are X08 like 508 if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank betherein2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed in late March-early April for 5 days to celebrate a wonderful 17th anniversary with my partner.

We arrived earyl on a Sunday (8:30am) so understandably the room was not ready. Sophie, the nicest lady I've met in Paris, helped check in our luggage. We had a walking tour (with Wego Tours, highly recommended) scheduled in the morning so this worked out well. By the time we came back at 1:30pm, Sophie provided the keys to our room on the 4th floor. it was a corner suite, facing the water fountain in the small square in front of the hotel. The room was large and has a separate bedroom. it could have accommodated 5 people easily, but palatial for two people by Parisian standards. The bathroom amenities (L'Occitane) was a luxurious touch. I loved that the shower and the water closet was separate as it made getting ready in the morning much easier.

The hotel is a couple of crosswalks away from the Louvre. You are literally at the gates of the museum within 5 minutes of closing your room's door. It is about 10-15 minutes walk to Notre Dame or Musee D'Orsay. On your walk to Notre Dame, you will pass Pont Des Arts, the famous bridge where people leave their etched locks.

We eat light breakfasts and dinners so the fully equipped kitchen was appreciated and much utilized. The combo washer/dryer was a godsend as it allowed us to pack lighter than normal. The hotel does have a buffet breakfast available for a fee. It looks delicious but way too scrumptiously heavy for us to start the day with.

The hotel is about 30 minutes from the airport, and the cab fare is between 50-55 euros each way. I'm keeping this hotel on top of my list when I return to Paris as it is close to everything I want to revisit and new places to explore.

Room Tip: Corner suites seem to be the best and most spacious. They also have nice views of the neighborhook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Flipboy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
147 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Once I understood that Citadines Suites is not a hotel, but rather a condo development, the lack of service made perfect sense. It is designed to maximize value to the condo owners, not the guests.

I had to unload my luggage from the car when we arrived, then reload my luggage when we left.

Their website says that 'parking is available.' By that logic, every restaurant, hotel, tabac shop and kiosk in Paris has 'parking available,' since there is only public parking and the nearest lot is a few blocks away. Incidentally, the actual price for parking is 50% more than the price listed on the site, although compared to the cost of the room, it's inconsequential.

The employees should experience one of the many fine Parisian restaurants, the ones where Madame is handed a menu with no prices (Guy Savoy and Jules Verne come to mind). While I was parking the car, the front desk had my fiance sign us in, making the price a topic of conversation.

Unfortunately, our room backed up to the service street for the Royal Palace. Large trucks started their deliveries at 7:30am, causing an incredible racket. Ask for a room in front.

Citadines is very near the Louvre. Initially that sounds good until you realize that the place is quiet at night, giving a vacuous feeling if you want to stroll the neighborhood after hours. If you're a day person, great. If you like to go out at night, you'll want to take a taxi somewhere lively.

The bright spot are the actual condos. They are lovely, well appointed and comfortable.

If you are considering staying at the Citadines, my recommendation would be to book something on VRBO or a similar site. If you're going to get little or no service, you might as well get an even nicer location and better accomodations for less money.

I'm giving this three stars because the rooms are very nice and it is near some of the major attractions in Paris. Other than that, this was the single biggest disappointment of our three weeks in France this year. In fact, I spent a month in Europe last summer, staying at a full range of hotels, and Citadines delivered the least value for the money overall between the two trips.

Perhaps I expected Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton service. My mistake.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank kbinsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R, Directeur général at La Clef Louvre, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guests,

We are sorry to hear of your unhappiness during your recent stay with us. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to address your concerns.

Firstly, Citadines Suites Louvre is Boutique serviced Residence. As a five star Residence we offer luxury apartment Suites in addition to a large range of services one might find in a luxury Boutique Hotel.
Therefore I am surprised to read your comments concerning the lack of services offered in our Residence. I am sincerely sorry if we did not satisfy your expectations as service is the heart of the concept of Citadines Suites Louvre and I assure you that we pride ourselves on having a team dedicated to satisfying all of our guest whishes and to making their stay as comfortable and memorable as possible.

We are also sorry to hear that you did not wish for your wife to be informed of the price of the Suite.
In order to insure the accuracy of the information concerning our guest’s reservation and as a standard check-in procedure, we validate the reservation information during the check-in to avoid any eventual inaccuracies, this in order to insure the comfort of our guests and to avoid any imprecision’s. As your wife did the check in, this information was validated with her. Please accept our apologies if this was an inconvenience for you and be assured that we would have avoided giving this information had we been informed.

As for the location of our Residence, we are situated in the cultural heart of Paris. The district is indeed known as a safe and quiet one in Paris and normally appreciated by our guests.
However our Hosts are at our guest’s disposal, at all times, to propose different attractions in Paris as well as areas that are more animated.

To finish, We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced concerning the noise from the street. Please be assured that we fully understand that this was unpleasant for you. This is why Sophie, our Guest Host, tried to find the best solution for you by offering a complimentary upgrade to our Royale Suite situated on the highest floor of our Residence. I am sorry that this solution was not up to your expectations and that you did not wish to accept our proposal.

Lastly as your stay with us was very brief, we regret that we did not have the opportunity to be able to satisfy your expectations or to have you experience our different services. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at Citadines Suites Louvre, giving us the chance and the possibility to serve you better.

Remaining at your entire disposal,

Kim Rousseau
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

To be honest I don't really want to share this review. It is almost impossible to fault this place.
The position is 2nd to none, less than a minutes walk to the Louvre and the Seine. All the major sites and shopping are within easy walking distance, in fact they are on your doorstep. The suites themselves are stunning, not much more to say really, the only downside is that the front suites are a little noisy with the main road so higher the better and the cleaning staff could be a little more conscientious, there was no soap in our toilet dispenser and we had to call twice to get it filled, additionally the cleaner left us with no spare toilet roll so we had to call for that also, apart from these couple of points it was perfect and the reception staff were an inspiration, thank you.

Room Tip: Try not to get a front room and if you have to then get a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happyhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 4-night stay at the Citadines Suites, and liked almost everything about it. The location is next to perfect for walking distances to all the key spots like the Louvre, Opera, Metro stations and bus stops, shops and restaurants. The reception staff is very welcoming, knowledgeable, and helpful. The room is well appointed and spotless. Our room was on the 7th floor (top floor) and we had pigeons nesting just outside our window; their cooing/peeping were the best sounds to wake up by. My only complaint (and it's not an important one) is that the windows on the 7th floor look skyward rather than toward the city for a great view--this floor must have been the attic for the original use of the building since the walls tilt inward. The room itself was spacious and very comfortable.

Room Tip: I believe the best rooms are on the 3rd-6th floors since there are no views from the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDionne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

One the good side:
Prepaid booking worked well via Booking.com
We got a welcome e-mail before our arrival. Cool !
Check in at the hotel was good. We love a welcome with a big smile. And we got it !
We got one of the rooms (107 - 2nd. floor) to a quiet street as requested and thank you for that.
The room was compact but very nice equipped with all you needed. The condition of the room was excellent and the daily cleaning was also excellent.
The free wifi worked fine with a good download speed of 10Mbit in average.

On the other side:
To be honest, we have expected a little larger room, considering that this is a 5 star hotel. But OK, we got used to it.
The air con needs an upgrade. It was very noisy on max. and it did not work the best. We had to open the windows during the night, to get cooler air in the room.
It was a quiet room, yes - but be aware of lorrys in the street very early in the morning loading and unloading goods.

Will we come back ? Yes - we love this hotel and the smiling and helpful staff.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#99 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#39 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel La Tamise - Esprit de France
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#82 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
#10 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Clef Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Clef Louvre

Property: La Clef Louvre
Address: 8 rue Richelieu | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France (Formerly Citadines Suites Louvre Paris)
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#28 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#111 Business Hotel in Paris
#127 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Clef Louvre 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Clef Louvre Paris is located in the cultural and historical heart of Paris, opposite the Comedie Francaise theatre and the Louvre Museum and just a few minutes' walk away from the Rue de Rivoli and the Opera Garnier. This luxury "Boutique Residence" will seduce by you with its stunning Art Deco architecture, as well as its distinctive elegance and exceptional location. La Clef Louvre Paris is, in itself, a beautiful work of art. Built in 1908, it features an Art Nouveau façade made from dressed-stone, adorned with balconies, sculptures and colonnades, a perfect complement to the immaculately designed suites - your haven in the city. La Clef Louvre Paris offers a fitness room, a living room area equipped with a LCD TV and a computer with free Internet access and a printer. In our lounge area you can savor our buffet breakfast composed of fresh local products or relax at the end of the day with refreshment from our Honesty bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your La Clef Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Paris Le Louvre Hotel Paris
Citadines Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing