We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, lovely rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Clef Louvre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Clef Louvre
Ranked #33 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here two years ago before the major refurb last year. The place looks a treat, the suites have been attractively and comfortably furnished. We like this location because it is in walking distance of most things we like to visit in Paris. The only downside is the noise. Our suite was on the rue de Richelieu and due to the fact that there appears to be very little sound proofing we had our sleep disturbed every night. We have stayed in a hotel in a busy part of Rome but the hotel invested money in sound proofing with a much improved outcome. Maybe suites on the other side of the hotel are quieter. Given how much they charge, we'll be staying elsewhere next year.

Room Tip: Choose the Palais Royal side of the building, it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    71
    21
    5
    7
See reviews for
120
316
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stayed with my family, husband and 2 sons in December 2013 for 5 nights. It was our last leg after skiing in Courcheval and dinning experience in Lyon.

We stayed in a communication room, 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms with an external main door. The rooms are spacious with kitchenette and laundry facilities. We were on holiday so I did not cook but it was good to prepare simple breakfast. The beds were very comfortable , just like home.

The staff were all friendly and accommodating. They gave good suggestions and excellent directions.

The location is excellent. Within walking distance to lots of local attractions and 2 tube stations. It is also with walking distance to high end stores and the galleries Lafayette. There are many eateries around and most serve authentic French cruisine. There are also a Chinese restaurant and a few ramen outlets.

Arriving from train station via taxi, we had to walk with our bags across the roundabout (about 50m) as taxi cannot stop directly in front of the hotel entrance. It is ok as it was a short walk. Going back via taxi to airport was a breeze too, especially in the early morning as there were taxis waiting at the roundabout. Otherwise, get the hotel to assist to book a taxi during other times.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were booked in this hotel with the impression that Paris has really small hotel rooms... thus there wasn't any expectations at all. But i would tell you that the experience is amazing!

Firstly, the room is decently spaced and brightly-lighted since we have 2 large windows with balcony (we stayed in a corner room). Although not large, the furnishing is efficiently-planned with all the necessities in place - generous number of power points; a small but more than adequate kitchenette with a microwave, a dishwasher, a mini fridge, pots, pans, all the cutleries you can think of!; multiple shelves for you to store your items; and a toilet with all the amenities you need - largely by my favourite brand, l'occitane :)

Comfort level is amazing! the bed is amazing and service is impeccable! The room spotless clean and is turned everyday with bottle of water and amenities replenished. Hosts at the desk were very professional and warm :)

Location is perfect as it's next to the Louvre and of walkable distances to many of the tourist sites... seriously, to date, i have yet to take the infamous metro! #jitters

~ checking out in another 2 days time. sobs. I'll miss this place!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dynelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I only have good things to say about the staff and the location. The staff are always ready to help; they are friendly and always have a smile for you. Breakfast is good and the lounge is open the whole day with snacks and juice, and its handy. The location is priceless; it is just a block from the Louvre Museum. Most sites are within walking distance. There is a supermarket (small) just across the street and you can get your groceries there if you don't want to eat out, very convenient (you have your own kitchen in the room). Definitely a place that I will come back when I am in Paris next.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the side street at the back, it can be a bit noisy even though you are on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 688t_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

My partner and I stayed here as a joint 40th birthday treat. We wanted to stay as centrally as possible, somewhere stylish and grown up (we were travelling without our young children) that felt a bit special. Citadines was perfect. Excellent service (complimentary champagne on arrival), beautiful decor and on the doorstep of all Paris' many beautiful attractions. I am hoping to return again soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayville, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Perfectly situated to explore Paris in all directions. My wife and I love to walk when visiting cities. From the hotel we walked to the Louvre, the Musee d'Orsay, Notre Dame, St. Chapelle and many other sites. It is also right around the corner from the subway and a short taxi ride to many other locations.

The suite itself was beautiful. We did our own shopping at the Monoprix and the Fran Prix which were both a 2 minute walk away and enjoyed breakfast in our room each morning.

The staff was extremely helpful. The concierge booked us tickets for a concert at St Chapelle and even saved us money on the service charges by using a local French ticketing site

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BGregoryR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at Citadines Suites last year in August and loved it so much we went back in May! We love everything about this hotel. From the comfortable bed to the wonderful staff and fantastic location. Thank you Citadines Suites for making our stay amazing again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#108 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#43 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel La Tamise - Esprit de France
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#81 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
#12 of 1,798 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Clef Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Clef Louvre

Property: La Clef Louvre
Address: 8 rue Richelieu | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France (Formerly Citadines Suites Louvre Paris)
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#28 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#111 Business Hotel in Paris
#128 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Clef Louvre 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Clef Louvre Paris is located in the cultural and historical heart of Paris, opposite the Comedie Francaise theatre and the Louvre Museum and just a few minutes' walk away from the Rue de Rivoli and the Opera Garnier. This luxury "Boutique Residence" will seduce by you with its stunning Art Deco architecture, as well as its distinctive elegance and exceptional location. La Clef Louvre Paris is, in itself, a beautiful work of art. Built in 1908, it features an Art Nouveau façade made from dressed-stone, adorned with balconies, sculptures and colonnades, a perfect complement to the immaculately designed suites - your haven in the city. La Clef Louvre Paris offers a fitness room, a living room area equipped with a LCD TV and a computer with free Internet access and a printer. In our lounge area you can savor our buffet breakfast composed of fresh local products or relax at the end of the day with refreshment from our Honesty bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Clef Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Paris Le Louvre Hotel Paris
Citadines Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing