We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel and location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris
Ranked #285 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel and location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel really is an amazing place to stay. Paris rooms are usually quite small, and completely overpriced if you plan on being close to any landmarks; however the Citadines Prestige Saint Germain isn't one of them.

First of all, the staff is very friendly. For those who don't speak much French or have never been to Paris, they will take the time to show you some helpful hints on a personal map to keep you from getting ripped off (which will likely happen your first time here). Secondly, as much as you're hoping to rush out and spend the €8 on a cappuccino while you sit in a cafe along the Seine, be prepared to save a little cash as the hotel offers this plus fruit for free at all hours of the day.

The rooms are spacious, even to American standards, and each has a kitchenette even a Parisian would be jealous of. There is a €12 tariff for each day of your stay' that includes the free coffee/hot chocolate/tea, free wifi, free filtered water, and all room cleaning.

The hotel itself is only a 5 minute walk from Notre-Dame and the Louvre, 10 minute walk from the Pantheon, and 30-45 minute walk from the Eiffel Tower and Arc de Triomphe. If you're feeling adventurous, there are multiple Vélib' (bike rental) stations surrounding the hotel that will save you tons of precious Euros and cut your commute time by 2/3. Purchase a 7 day pass online for €4 and save yourself even more.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    824
    689
    130
    34
    31
See reviews for
705
615
56
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Paris has horrible traffic and to that end you want to ensure that you put up at a location that gives you good access to everywhere you want to go.

It's a 60 Euro taxi ride to Charles de Gaulle Airport and about 25 Euros from Gare du Nord. We didn't get a chance to try the Metro but the closest ones are a fair distance away and therefore not the most convenient. But, Paris is for walking and you'd be missing out the amazing strolls along the Seine otherwise.

A fair number of restaurants nearby but no convenience store or supermarket we could spot in the immediate vicinity.

Room was compact and in relatively good condition. Had a room that appeared to face a courtyard or at least was not facing the Seine. Relatively quiet.

Would I come back? The service was good and I can't complain about anything but I might want to try another location if I were back on another trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeloGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshine coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This accommodation is really comfortable, secure, in a great position and has amazing staff who are kind, thoughtful and provide really efficient and friendly services. It makes a holiday really fantastic when you have a little home away from home to come back to, and the warmth of the staff make being in a foreign country with new language skills so much easier. The complimentary wi-fi allowed me to talk to my family regularly which meant a lot. Overall I would not hesitate to recommend this as the perfect Paris place to stay. It has absolutely everything you need or want:-)

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank liss07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and two adult sons stayed here for two days in August and absolutely loved it. The lobby is very classy with a beautiful angled glass ceiling. It was raining when we arrived and watching the rain hit the glass was cool. Inside the lobby is an espresso/coffee machine that serves you cappuccinos, espressos etc at the push of a button for free. We made use of this many times! The staff was very friendly and helpful. A continental breakfast was available for 12 Euro a person but we passed on that. The hotel did provide free apples in the lobby in the morning. We had a two bedroom apartment with a kitchen on the lobby floor and the location was great. We literally walked 50 steps out of our room and we were in the lobby! The apartment had a queen bed in one room and a couch, chairs and desk in the other room. The couch pulled out into two twin beds. It was very comfortable for the four of us when the couch was assembled, a bit tight to get around in when the two beds were out. Aside from the refrigerator we really didn't make use of the kitchen but it had all the amenities. The best part of this hotel was the location!! We were just a five minute walk away from the fabulous Latin Quarter. This area is filled with TONS of restaurants and bars. You can walk up and order food or sit down in a restaurant. We had delicious Gyros one night and sat down the next for a great 3 course meal that cost us just 74 Euros. We were also just a 15 minute walk away from the Louvre, 5 minute walk from Notre Dame and a 10 minute walk from great shops along the streets on Ile St. Louis (including great ice cream.) I want to point out one staff member who helped me tremendously. Trinh was a huge help in setting up transport to the hotel for 5am the following morning. I mentioned we had a 8 hour layover in London and planned on a tour while there. He helped me check to make sure we'd be able to leave Heathrow during the layover. We booked a cab for 4:45am for a flat 75 Euro fee to Charles de Gaule airport. Our one disappointment at hotel was the cab didn't arrive on time. We ended up leaving hotel at 5:10am, later than planned. We paid the flat 75 Euro fee but the streets were empty and the cab price would have been on 65 Euros based on meter. Oh well. I would highly recommend this hotel, we loved it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent B, Responsable relations clients at Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your generous support and for taking the time to write this review.

We are glad that you had a nice stay with us. It is always a pleasure to learn that our valued guest enjoyed our facilities and services and feedback such yours is our best reward.I will share your compliments with my colleagues.

We hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

As has been said before, Location, Location, Location. The Citadine Prestige pres St. Germain is a apartment/hotel right in the middle of central Paris. It is on the Pont Neuf and right across from the Lourve and just down the street from the Museum d'Orsay. It is surrounded by many restaurants and cafe's and is near metro stops and on the tour bus routes. The efficiency apartment (which was in the new section) we had was very modern and well maintained with a kitchenette which even included at dishwasher. The staff was very friendly and helpful (I don't know who other reviewers dealt with but our staff was great) with maps of the local points of interest and ability to make restaurant reservations. Groceries, bakeries etc were just down Rue Dauphine from the hotel where you can get all the items you need for snacks or a full diner to cook in your efficiency or apartment. Notre Dame and St. Michael plaza were just minutes away and there is even bicycles there to rent. Our diner cruise ship (Le Calife) was docked just off the Pont D'Arts a short distance from the hotel and it was definitely a wonderful evening trip. Although we had only three days to spend in Paris it was a perfect place to stay since everything was so close. We hope to return to spend a longer time in Paris and at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcbeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel was in a great location, was clean and more than adequate. However, the weather was warm and muggy, and the air conditioner was broken. We informed the front desk in the afternoon and were told that the air conditioner in the hotel was having trouble keeping up. We accepted the explanation and tried toughing it out. However, shortly thereafter, we entered the hotel lobby and 2 rooms of friends and each was being cooled fine--ours still was not. Again, we pointed it out, but to no avail. Finally about 11:30 at night after calling a final time, a gentlemen from the front desk came up to check the air conditioning and found that it was not working and switched rooms for us. If staff had been more responsive to our concerns in a timely manner, I would have given a higher rating.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawlady87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights in July 2014, location is fantastic walking distance to so many of the main attractions, to shops and so many restaurants.
Even though we waited around 10 minutes to check in the reception staff took their time to explain the facilities and also showed where the local bank, supermarket, bakery etc were.
The room was fine, we stayed in a one bedroom apartment with two teenagers sleeping in the lounge/kitchen area. The pull out bed was a little uncomfortable (according to our 17 year old).
There is a laundry in the basement with commercial washers and dryers, but you need to get there early.
The restaurant choice in the area is endless, there are so many cafes and all the meals we had were great.
Overall a great place to stay and the area in sensational, we would stay here again and have already recommended this to other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Citadines Les Halles Paris
Citadines Les Halles Paris
#441 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Citadines Bastille Marais Paris
Louvre / Palais-Royal
La Clef Louvre
La Clef Louvre
#33 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citadines Tour Eiffel Paris
#352 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Left Bank Saint Germain
Left Bank Saint Germain
#202 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Madison Hotel by MH
Madison Hotel by MH
#144 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris

Property: Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris
Address: 53, ter Quai des Grands Augustins, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#168 Family Hotel in Paris
#178 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#247 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#416 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Seine, Apart'hotel Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Prés Paris is set in the heart of the Latin Quarter. Soak up the truly exceptional atmosphere of the famous Boulevards Saint-Michel and Saint-Germain, its narrow streets and its art galleries. You'll have front-row seats to a historical performance. In addition to numerous bus routes, you can count on Metro lines 4 and 7 as well as RER lines B (direct to Charles de Gaulle Airport) and C to get you where you need to go. Our reception is open 24/7. Since parking in this district can prove something of a challenge, a private car park (charges apply) is available. Because we are committed to guaranteeing you an exceptional stay, enjoy our many lounge areas, where coffee and tea are available, as well as our fitness room. Your Apart Hotel offers you an uninterrupted view of the banks of the Seine and its bookshops that will plunge you into a typically Parisian atmosphere. The Pont-Neuf, the oldest bridge in Paris, is directly opposite your door. Cross it to reach the Ile de la Cité and Notre-Dame. You can then head off to drink a hot chocolate at the Café de Flore, one of the iconic institutions of Saint-Germain-des-Prés. In the afternoon, why not go to sample one of the famed ice-creams at Berthillon, on the Ile Saint-Louis? But perhaps you would prefer to go shopping along Rue de Buci, visit the Louvre or stroll along the paths of the Luxembourg gardens. For your evening, don't forget to book a theatre seat at the Théâtre de la Ville, the Théâtre de l'Odéon or the Théâtre du Châtelet. Whether you are in Paris on business or for your holidays, our serviced apartments hotel offers you modern accommodation that is suited to your needs. From our studios for one or two people to our two-room apartments for three or four, all offer a fully equipped kitchen, cable television, air conditioning and complementary WiFi. Personalise your stay with a whole range of à la carte services: daily housekeeping, laundry and dry cleaning, buffet breakfast and flexible modular meeting rooms with views of the Seine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia and Agoda so you can book your Citadines Saint-Germain-des-Pres Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Prestige Saint-Germain-Des-Pres Hotel Paris
Citadines Paris
Citadines St Germain Des Pres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing