We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & good value”
Review of Hotel Daunou Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Daunou Opera
Ranked #487 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location & good value”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My husband and I stayed in Paris for 2 nights. The hotel is in a great location walking distance to the Lourve, and many great shops.

Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly despite being busy when we checked in.
We didnt have breakfast at the hotel as we explored the cafes around us each morning.

Beware,as the hotel is very compact you can hear many of the other guests when you are using your bathroom

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussietra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this nice comment.
We are very happy to see that you had a good time at the Hotel DAUNOU opera.
We appreciate your review and all the staff is warningly thanking you for that.
Your impressions are important and gives us the uportunity to improve.
We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,
The front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    231
    74
    13
    15
See reviews for
139
123
41
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I've stayed in the Daunou Opéra twice for business in the last couple of months. As many other reviewers have stated, the location is simply excellent.
You may have a little trouble locating the hotel, as the hotel entrance is really tiny. As for the rooms themselves, I think the size of the rooms can vary wildly across the hotel - I guess that comes with the building and the location. During one of my stays I even had a room on 2 levels which was unexpectedly large, especially for a hotel in the center of Paris.
Hotel staff was friendly and professional, hotel wifi was slow but reliable and breakfast was good - all good points in my book. What annoyed me most about Daunou Opéra was getting from my room down to the lobby: the corridors and hallways are in desperate need of some work and the hotel only has one - slow - elevator, which is a real pain if your room is on the 5th. Other than that I'd describe Daunou Opéra as a good city hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjdq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this nice comment.
We are very happy to see that you had a good time at the Hotel DAUNOU opera.
We appreciate your review and all the staff is warningly thanking you for that.
Your impressions are important and gives us the uportunity to improve.
We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,
The front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed for 2 nights over bank hol w/e in May, as a family of 2 adults and 3 kids. We booked a double and triple room at total cost of 800 euros for both nights. I was nervous at staying at 3 star hotel, but shouldnt have worried. It is a fantastic little hotel - from the outside you could almost miss it, but once inside I was really impressed. It is a compact and well presented mansion block hotel, based around a courtyard. The rooms are average size, decorated in a smart, low-key chic style. Our triple room had 3 proper beds - very comfortable with spotlessly clean mattresses, duvets and pillows, all in striped white, high quality bedlinen. Bathroom had shower and bath, again very clean and comfortable. We had requested rooms at the back of the building, to avoid street noise (it is opposite several late night bars, inc Paris's branch of Harrys Bar). The receptionists were very friendly and helpful. We did not take breakfast at the hotel as there are several decent breakfast places nearby (branch of Paul Boulangerie in Opera Metro station was great - lovely coffee and croissants). There is also a Starbucks around the corner in a spectacular building. A taxi from Gare du Nord is around 15 E in rush hour, or 10E in quieter times. Its a 10 min walk to the Louvre and Tuileries, and a stone's throw from the Ritz and Place Vendome. Its right in the middle of some of the chic-est streets in Paris, and pretty much everything you need is on the doorstep. It wasn't 'cheap' exactly - but Paris is so expensive, we soon realised it was good value for what we got. Really impressed and hope to stay there again one day.

Room Tip: ask for rooms at the back, overlooking courtyard. We had 408 and 409 away from the lift shaft and st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annatripper68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this nice comment.
We are very happy to see that you had a good time at the Hotel DAUNOU opera.
We appreciate your review and all the staff is warningly thanking you for that.
Your impressions are important and gives us the uportunity to improve.
We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,
The front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed here for three nights and location is really close to the Opera metro stop. There is a good convenient store a block away that stays open late at night and there are tons of neighborhood cafes and bars in the area. This is also walking distance to the Louvre and a Laduree that is not crowded and no line. The room is parisian inspired , really cozy ,and bathroom has a bidet and really clean. We paid for the buffet breakfast and it was worth the money. My only complaint at this place is that they have very limited outlet converter. We were already on our third day by the time they had an available converter for us so my friend couldn't use her hair straightener and I couldn't use my hair curler. My tip is to bring your own outlet converter if you are going to Europe .

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cake639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this nice comment.
We are very happy to see that you had a good time at the Hotel DAUNOU opera.
We appreciate your review and all the staff is warningly thanking you for that.
Your impressions are important and gives us the uportunity to improve.
We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,
The front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Staying two nights for the Paris Marathon, excellent location and good value hotel. Used tripadvisor to find this hotel and we were not disappointed. Typically compact rooms but well appointed, good for the price and chic location. Triple room works well for us, warm and inviting staff.

Room Tip: As others have advised, ask for a room that faces the courtyard not the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank froggyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this nice comment.
We are very happy to see that you had a good time at the Hotel DAUNOU opera.
We appreciate your review and all the staff is warningly thanking you for that.
Your impressions are important and gives us the uportunity to improve.
We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,
The front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosario, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Located near all the sites you want to visit in the city
An excellent relationship between price and quality
Cozy rooms, well equipped
A full breakfast more than expected
Staff always willing to work with the host

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaulDavid_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this nice comment.
We are very happy to see that you had a good time at the Hotel DAUNOU opera.
We appreciate your review and all the staff is warningly thanking you for that.
Your impressions are important and gives us the uportunity to improve.
We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,
The front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

The room was tribble view but it had a good things too like we had a coffee machine in the room
The shower and the toillets was very clean
Because all of the carpets the hotel have a dust smell
The elevator takes alots of time to come
I didnt like one more thing that the cleanning lady leave our room open while she was cleaning another room.. Cause someone could just get in and stole
the hotel have good location

Helpful?
1 Thank Reviroberto
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this review, 20 May 2017
Dear Guest,
The new team is very sorry to see that you had a bad experience at the Hotel DAUNOU Opera.
A new team is managing the Hotel. We also did a lot of renovation.
An all new consideration of service and quality is animating the Daunou.
We will always be happy to welcome you at the DAUNOU.
Best regards,
The front desk /Adrien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Choiseul Opera
Hotel Choiseul Opera
#773 of 1,802 in Paris
233 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Volney Opera Hotel
Volney Opera Hotel
#523 of 1,802 in Paris
323 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Etats-Unis Opera
Hotel Etats-Unis Opera
#597 of 1,802 in Paris
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel France d'Antin
Hotel France d'Antin
#937 of 1,802 in Paris
160 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Westminster
Hotel Westminster
#236 of 1,802 in Paris
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Daunou Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Daunou Opera

Property: Hotel Daunou Opera
Address: 6 Rue Daunou, 75002 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#532 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Daunou Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Daunou Opera enjoys a prestigious location in the heart of the right bank of Paris. It offers every imaginable comfort in a quiet and sophisticated setting. The hotel is superbly located between the Opera and Place Vendome, a few minutes from the Louvre, the Grevin Museum, the magnificent Tuileries Gardens, major department stores (Galeries Lafayette, Printemps Haussmann) and Gare Saint Lazare. It is convenient to the Olympia music hall and theatres such as Theatre De La Michodière, Théâtre de Paris, Théâtre de la Pépinière, Théâtre Edouard VII, Théâtre Daunou, Théâtre des Variétés and Théâtre du Gymnase. The Hotel Daunou Opera offers you Paris in all its splendour : Garnier Opera: 200m The Louvre: 800m Place Vendome: 300m Department stores (Lafayette & Printemps): 400m ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Daunou Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daunou Opera Hotel
Daunou Opera Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing