We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Daunou Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Daunou Opera
Ranked #664 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

The hotel location and staff are great. The room is older and we were able to hear plumbing (other guests showering or running water) and the walls are thin too - if you are a light sleeper, this might not be the right fit. The location is great and we did a ton of walking when we were there. The hotel charges $18 euros for breakfast - I would highly recommend going to a nearby cafe instead - there are several in the area. Be very careful when you are in Paris - there are several gypsies with a list full of "con artist tricks" make sure to do your research about them.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScillinTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this nice comment.
We are very happy to see that you had a good time at the Hotel DAUNOU opera.
We appreciate your review and all the staff is warningly thanking you for that.
Your impressions are important and gives us the uportunity to improve.
We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,
The front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    219
    74
    13
    15
See reviews for
133
120
38
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Great location with helpful staff at front desk. Only 5 minutes to opera station and roissy bus to the airport is just around the corner. Room size is acceptable. Plenty restaurants cafes and eating outlets around. Breakfast is good but is a bit on the pricy side ( euro 18 per person)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fwwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this nice comment.
We are very happy to see that you had a good time at the Hotel DAUNOU opera.
We appreciate your review and all the staff is warningly thanking you for that.
Your impressions are important and gives us the uportunity to improve.
We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,
The front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

My husband and I stayed in Paris for 2 nights. The hotel is in a great location walking distance to the Lourve, and many great shops.

Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly despite being busy when we checked in.
We didnt have breakfast at the hotel as we explored the cafes around us each morning.

Beware,as the hotel is very compact you can hear many of the other guests when you are using your bathroom

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussietra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this nice comment.
We are very happy to see that you had a good time at the Hotel DAUNOU opera.
We appreciate your review and all the staff is warningly thanking you for that.
Your impressions are important and gives us the uportunity to improve.
We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,
The front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

I've stayed in the Daunou Opéra twice for business in the last couple of months. As many other reviewers have stated, the location is simply excellent.
You may have a little trouble locating the hotel, as the hotel entrance is really tiny. As for the rooms themselves, I think the size of the rooms can vary wildly across the hotel - I guess that comes with the building and the location. During one of my stays I even had a room on 2 levels which was unexpectedly large, especially for a hotel in the center of Paris.
Hotel staff was friendly and professional, hotel wifi was slow but reliable and breakfast was good - all good points in my book. What annoyed me most about Daunou Opéra was getting from my room down to the lobby: the corridors and hallways are in desperate need of some work and the hotel only has one - slow - elevator, which is a real pain if your room is on the 5th. Other than that I'd describe Daunou Opéra as a good city hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjdq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this nice comment.
We are very happy to see that you had a good time at the Hotel DAUNOU opera.
We appreciate your review and all the staff is warningly thanking you for that.
Your impressions are important and gives us the uportunity to improve.
We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,
The front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed for 2 nights over bank hol w/e in May, as a family of 2 adults and 3 kids. We booked a double and triple room at total cost of 800 euros for both nights. I was nervous at staying at 3 star hotel, but shouldnt have worried. It is a fantastic little hotel - from the outside you could almost miss it, but once inside I was really impressed. It is a compact and well presented mansion block hotel, based around a courtyard. The rooms are average size, decorated in a smart, low-key chic style. Our triple room had 3 proper beds - very comfortable with spotlessly clean mattresses, duvets and pillows, all in striped white, high quality bedlinen. Bathroom had shower and bath, again very clean and comfortable. We had requested rooms at the back of the building, to avoid street noise (it is opposite several late night bars, inc Paris's branch of Harrys Bar). The receptionists were very friendly and helpful. We did not take breakfast at the hotel as there are several decent breakfast places nearby (branch of Paul Boulangerie in Opera Metro station was great - lovely coffee and croissants). There is also a Starbucks around the corner in a spectacular building. A taxi from Gare du Nord is around 15 E in rush hour, or 10E in quieter times. Its a 10 min walk to the Louvre and Tuileries, and a stone's throw from the Ritz and Place Vendome. Its right in the middle of some of the chic-est streets in Paris, and pretty much everything you need is on the doorstep. It wasn't 'cheap' exactly - but Paris is so expensive, we soon realised it was good value for what we got. Really impressed and hope to stay there again one day.

Room Tip: ask for rooms at the back, overlooking courtyard. We had 408 and 409 away from the lift shaft and st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annatripper68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this nice comment.
We are very happy to see that you had a good time at the Hotel DAUNOU opera.
We appreciate your review and all the staff is warningly thanking you for that.
Your impressions are important and gives us the uportunity to improve.
We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,
The front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed here for three nights and location is really close to the Opera metro stop. There is a good convenient store a block away that stays open late at night and there are tons of neighborhood cafes and bars in the area. This is also walking distance to the Louvre and a Laduree that is not crowded and no line. The room is parisian inspired , really cozy ,and bathroom has a bidet and really clean. We paid for the buffet breakfast and it was worth the money. My only complaint at this place is that they have very limited outlet converter. We were already on our third day by the time they had an available converter for us so my friend couldn't use her hair straightener and I couldn't use my hair curler. My tip is to bring your own outlet converter if you are going to Europe .

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cake639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this nice comment.
We are very happy to see that you had a good time at the Hotel DAUNOU opera.
We appreciate your review and all the staff is warningly thanking you for that.
Your impressions are important and gives us the uportunity to improve.
We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,
The front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Staying two nights for the Paris Marathon, excellent location and good value hotel. Used tripadvisor to find this hotel and we were not disappointed. Typically compact rooms but well appointed, good for the price and chic location. Triple room works well for us, warm and inviting staff.

Room Tip: As others have advised, ask for a room that faces the courtyard not the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank froggyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this nice comment.
We are very happy to see that you had a good time at the Hotel DAUNOU opera.
We appreciate your review and all the staff is warningly thanking you for that.
Your impressions are important and gives us the uportunity to improve.
We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,
The front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Choiseul Opera
Hotel Choiseul Opera
#791 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Volney Opera Hotel
Volney Opera Hotel
#489 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel France d'Antin
Hotel France d'Antin
#756 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Etats-Unis Opera
Hotel Etats-Unis Opera
#637 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel L'Horset Opera BW Premier Collection
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel
Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel
#230 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Daunou Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Daunou Opera

Property: Hotel Daunou Opera
Address: 6 Rue Daunou, 75002 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#532 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Daunou Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Daunou Opera enjoys a prestigious location in the heart of the right bank of Paris. It offers every imaginable comfort in a quiet and sophisticated setting. The hotel is superbly located between the Opera and Place Vendome, a few minutes from the Louvre, the Grevin Museum, the magnificent Tuileries Gardens, major department stores (Galeries Lafayette, Printemps Haussmann) and Gare Saint Lazare. It is convenient to the Olympia music hall and theatres such as Theatre De La Michodière, Théâtre de Paris, Théâtre de la Pépinière, Théâtre Edouard VII, Théâtre Daunou, Théâtre des Variétés and Théâtre du Gymnase. The Hotel Daunou Opera offers you Paris in all its splendour : Garnier Opera: 200m The Louvre: 800m Place Vendome: 300m Department stores (Lafayette & Printemps): 400m ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Daunou Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daunou Opera Hotel
Daunou Opera Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing