We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst experience”
Review of Hotel Daunou Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Daunou Opera
Ranked #456 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Very dirty and old carpet,it's over you can image and no slipper.women's hair on our bed and you can smell someone is smoking in other room.
The air condition control panel in our room doesn't work.When we told the manager the temperature in room is too hot,she ask us to open the window and her attitude was really really bad, this is our worst experience.
We pay EUR235 for the first night and then check out ASAP in the next morning.
3 star (???)Hotel Daunou Opera, it's super terrible!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Li W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Dear Guest,
The new team is very sorry to see that you had a bad experience at the Hotel DAUNOU Opera.
A new team is managing the Hotel. We also did a lot of renovation.
An all new consideration of service and quality is animating the Daunou.
We will always be happy to welcome you at the DAUNOU.
Best regards,
The front desk /Adrien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Daunou Opera
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

We received upgrading with only 150 € for 7 nights
We also use the shuttle for aeroport .
Hotel in a great location .
I would stay in this hotel in my next visit. I preferred 5 -6 floor
There is no good mirror in bathroom

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this nice comment.
We are very happy to see that you had a good time at the Hotel DAUNOU opera.
We appreciate your review and all the staff is warningly thanking you for that.
Your impressions are important and gives us the uportunity to improve.
We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,
The front desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The location near the Opera is really a great drawing card for this hotel. The beds were comfortable for my teen-aged son and wife (and me also). Water pressure in the shower was good. Did not try the breakfast here (price was 18 Euro each person, each day). We stayed August 3-6 (3 nights), 2013. Small elevator, but large enough for the three of us with luggage. Our room faced a courtyard and had two levels. The "upstairs" level contained the bathroom and the king size bed. Sparse furniture. Downstairs had the single bed, desk and wardrobe. Did not hear any noise any of the nights we were there. Staff was friendly. We turned in our key each time we left and were greeted every time we returned. They helped us find nearby restaurants and attractions. The room was clean and air conditioned. I would definately return when/if we visit Paris again. Nice location near the metro (5-7 minute walk). Starbucks about a 5 minute walk and a nearby restaurant just across the street for breakfast if you don't have the breakfast option (we didn't have it). Can't say enough about this property. We enjoyed it and the location. We did not encounter any of the problems previously reported about this hotel. We really liked the staff and hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 603. The spirial staircase going upstairs IN THE ROOM was difficult to manage a bit wit...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaPete583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this nice comment.
We are very happy to see that you had a good time at the Hotel DAUNOU opera.
We appreciate your review and all the staff is warningly thanking you for that.
Your impressions are important and gives us the uportunity to improve.
We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,
The front desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stayed here for annual pilrimage to see Crosby, Stills and Nash at the O'lympia. Brought also our 2 US friends. Hotel in a great location. When we entered our room we were disappointed...small bed and room. But then we noticed stairs at one end. We were in a duplex with master bed and bathroom upstairs.Helpful staff for boooking Moulin Rouge..and yes Bill dress shorts are not accpetable there!

Will return to this hotel............

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this nice comment.
We are very happy to see that you had a good time at the Hotel DAUNOU opera.
We appreciate your review and all the staff is warningly thanking you for that.
Your impressions are important and gives us the uportunity to improve.
We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,
The front desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

To get the negative out of the way, the front rooms of this hotel are above a very loud "after work until dawn" bar. You of course expect some noise in a city centre hotel, but for the first night, our room was pretty much unusable.

After raising the issue, we were moved to a room at the back of the hotel on the sixth floor. The room was very good, silent and the perfect base for exploring central Paris. All the major tourist sites are within walking distance, the surrounding area pleasant with plenty of dining options.

I would stay here again, but would require a guaranteed rear room (X04 or X05) on either floor 5 or 6 first.

Room Tip: I would ask for either of 504, 505, 604 or 605. I would avoid any room at the front of the hotel (ei...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DBUK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Dear Guest,
The new team is very sorry to see that you had a bad experience at the Hotel DAUNOU Opera.
A new team is managing the Hotel. We also did a lot of renovation.
An all new consideration of service and quality is animating the Daunou.
We will always be happy to welcome you at the DAUNOU.
Best regards,
The front desk /Adrien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children aged 11 and 6) stayed at Daunou Opera for 2 nights in June 2013. We had a duplex room which suited us well. It is better for a short stay due to size. Upstairs is a very large bedroom with queen size bed. Downstairs had 2 single beds and the bathroom. The property was clean and well maintained. It had a modern bathroom with really good hot water in the shower. Also, the rooms are air conditioned. Unlike many Paris hotels, this one has a lift which was big enought for the 4 of us with luggage. Location is very good, 50 metres from Ave de l'Opera, only 200 metres to Opera metro which gives access to several lines. Also, easy walk to Louvre, river and shops like Galeries Lafayette.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank DamianS498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this nice comment.
We are very happy to see that you had a good time at the Hotel DAUNOU opera.
We appreciate your review and all the staff is warningly thanking you for that.
Your impressions are important and gives us the uportunity to improve.
We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,
The front desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The hotel location and staff are great. The room is older and we were able to hear plumbing (other guests showering or running water) and the walls are thin too - if you are a light sleeper, this might not be the right fit. The location is great and we did a ton of walking when we were there. The hotel charges $18 euros for breakfast - I would highly recommend going to a nearby cafe instead - there are several in the area. Be very careful when you are in Paris - there are several gypsies with a list full of "con artist tricks" make sure to do your research about them.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScillinTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDAUNOUOpera, Responsable réception at Hotel Daunou Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post this nice comment.
We are very happy to see that you had a good time at the Hotel DAUNOU opera.
We appreciate your review and all the staff is warningly thanking you for that.
Your impressions are important and gives us the uportunity to improve.
We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,
The front desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel L'Horset Opera, BW Premier Collection
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Choiseul Opera
Hotel Choiseul Opera
#872 of 1,804 in Paris
239 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Astra Opera - Astotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Etats-Unis Opera
Hotel Etats-Unis Opera
#602 of 1,804 in Paris
150 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Westminster
Hotel Westminster
#241 of 1,804 in Paris
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Daunou Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Daunou Opera

Address: 6 Rue Daunou, 75002 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#532 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £122 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Daunou Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Daunou Opera enjoys a prestigious location in the heart of the right bank of Paris. It offers every imaginable comfort in a quiet and sophisticated setting. The hotel is superbly located between the Opera and Place Vendome, a few minutes from the Louvre, the Grevin Museum, the magnificent Tuileries Gardens, major department stores (Galeries Lafayette, Printemps Haussmann) and Gare Saint Lazare. It is convenient to the Olympia music hall and theatres such as Theatre De La Michodière, Théâtre de Paris, Théâtre de la Pépinière, Théâtre Edouard VII, Théâtre Daunou, Théâtre des Variétés and Théâtre du Gymnase. The Hotel Daunou Opera offers you Paris in all its splendour : Garnier Opera: 200m The Louvre: 800m Place Vendome: 300m Department stores (Lafayette & Printemps): 400m ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Daunou Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daunou Opera Hotel
Daunou Opera Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing