We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hostel in 15 Years”

Centre International de Sejour Kellerman
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Centre International de Sejour Kellerman
Ranked #102 of 172 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worst Hostel in 15 Years”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

This place is awful. If you have a sleeping bag I would suggest staying in a park, bus station, or somewhere in the subway before paying to stay here.

Upon arriving we found that our reservation was "not in the system" and instead of figuring out how to help us the guy behind the desk just stood there. We had to get on the laptop, find the reservation number and billing receipt and it still took 45 minutes to get our room. We blew it off as a "mistakes happens" and went to bed. Early the next morning we had a cleaning woman just enter the room, after we had stated "no thank you". This happened 3 more times with a few knocks here and there as well. Finally, I got up to see what was going on and explain we did not require anything, please stop opening our door and knocking on it. Once I made it to the hall, I was told that we must checkout at 10am. I explained that we had booked for 3 nights; to which I was told no, you only have one night and must go.

My girlfriend went down to the main desk b/c I was no longer going to be friendly about dealing with this place and/or the employees. She came back in about 15 minutes and everything was worked out. Again, we kinda' laughed it off as we left to go explore Paris.

In attempting to use the WiFi over the next three days we never had success and they could never get the problem fixed, it was always "when this person gets back we'll see" type of response. The halls were filled with school kids, not high-school kids but the young ones that run up and down the halls at 7am non-stop until the bus leaves at 9am. Also, the free breakfast, if you miss the days of school lunch then visit this place. It even comes with old grouchy women yelling at you for taking 2 Baguettes, or getting coffee for your friends while getting yours. All in all, this was the worst hostel I have stayed in over the 15 years I've been traveling. If you have any other option, please take it, even if it costs a little more.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    24
    20
    12
    5
See reviews for
6
8
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed as a group here from Christmas to NYE and had a shocking time.
Chef and desk staff must have been in holidays as food and service were terrible. Dinner was muck - overcooked and poor ingredients. Breakfast was basic with stale items and mould featuring on bread one morning. The rooms were worse than basic with narrow beds, thin mattresses and poor blankets/quilts. Ensuite showers were cramped with crazy shower heads with a life of their own. The common bathroom and toilets were a lot better. Cleaning staff did do a good job.
Overall the place felt like a mental health hospital converted to also take in guests.
Not happy with our agent at all.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aussieworldtourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

For our stay in Paris, we were looking for accommodation within reasonable distance of the city centre that was clean, secure, had free wifi, free parking and a good breakfast included, all at a budget price. For 59 Euros a night, all of our requirements were met. We also found the staff to be friendly and helpful. There was also vending machines in the common area which dispensed train tickets, the Paris Visit and all sorts of other useful items which made acquiring certain things more convenient.

Just on a side note, the place is frequented by school groups with young people, so if you may be faced with occasionally noisy teenagers. Apart from this, we had a great stay here and would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: You can still get Wifi internet access if you stay on the first floor. If you stay on other levels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C_and_S2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

If you are considering staying here as part of a school trip think carefully. The only saving grace is its proximity to central Paris .
The hotel is not clean, the rooms are very basic with poor ensuite facilities and the food experienced left a lot to be desired. As for the brochures' "friendly staff" I can only imagine they left! As this was not my overall impression. I have stayed in nicer hostels than this . Very poor.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hscreig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gobelins
Ibis Paris Italie Tolbiac
Ibis Paris Italie Tolbiac
#866 of 1,800 in Paris
434 reviews
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Hotel Saint Charles
Hotel Saint Charles
#730 of 1,800 in Paris
307 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Centre International de Sejour Maurice Ravel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centre International de Sejour Kellerman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centre International de Sejour Kellerman

Property: Centre International de Sejour Kellerman
Address: 17 boulevard Kellermann, 75013 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Gobelins
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 172 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Centre International de Sejour Kellerman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing