We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT AN IBIS STYLES HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Styles Paris Cadet Lafayette
Ranked #614 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NOT AN IBIS STYLES HOTEL”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have stayed in better Ibis STANDARD hotels. The décor, other than the public rooms, is shabby to say the least. Bedroom carpet badly stained; poor quality of fitment of skirting boards etc. The loo sits in a small alcove in the shower room and is quite difficult to access. The pan is about 30cm (one foot) from the facing wall. which also holds the loo rolls dispenser!

If you thought it couldn't get worse, you haven't experienced the 'breakfast'. Dreadful. There is absolutely no attempt to make it look appetising. The ham and cheese is kept in a small fridge, along with the butter, which, quite naturally, is rock hard. And I mean rock hard. The fridge coldness negates the taste of the ham and cheese.The bread is all baguette type, mostly very crusty and chewy, and is not compatible with the toaster. We were there four nights and we are certain the remains of the bread/croissants etc. were just carried over to the next day (or two!) It was also difficult to navigate because of a pillar at the start of the breakfast bar, which literally meant you could not get past if someone was selecting some of the 'dishes'.

Very, very disappointing. We do find there can be substantial differences between Styles hotels. Some, as this Paris hotel, have minimalist breakfasts. Basically, bread, ham and cheese, plus he usual yoghurt/jams etc. Some have that, plus boiled eggs. Usually cold, but at least available. Some give the ability to boil your own. In addition, some Styles have all that plus scrambled eggs. We don't mind, AS LONG AS WE KNOW WHAT TO EXPECT.

On this 10 day trip we stayed at the Hamburg Styles, very good. The Berlin, poor. Amsterdam, very good. Brussels very, very good.

Room Tip: They are probably all the same.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kishore_RAMSOONDUR, Directeur général at Ibis Styles Paris Cadet Lafayette, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about your stay at our hotel IBIS STYLES PARIS CADET LAFAYETTE.
We are very sorry to read that it was unpleasant.
Concerning the size of the rooms, we know how small they can be especially for long stays, but unfortunately there is not much that we can do about it. We tried to save on space as much as we could and put everything that is necessary to make them as convenient as possible but we cannot make them bigger as the walls are not removable.
Concerning the breakfast, please note that we respect hygiene standards imposed by law, such as the temperature of food and especially cold items. We are regularly scrutinized by profesionals to check if we comply with the law.
We NEVER serve croissants or bread that was cooked on previous days, everything is heated on the same day it is served.
Concerning the pillar that you mention, again, there is not much that we can do about it, the building is an old one, and the pillar holds the ceiling, we cannot therefore remove it, or it would be dangerous for all our guests. We prefer having them waiting in line during two minutes rather than having to experience this type of accident.

Kind Regards,
K. RAMSOONDUR
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    479
    196
    65
    11
See reviews for
123
405
105
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Spent 2 nights here on a weekend in Paris from the UK. Picked this hotel for its convenient location to the Gare du Nord train station, which was only a 10-15 minute walk away. As others have mentioned, the rooms are quite small, but clean and simple. I had a room on the sixth floor (top floor) so the room had a bit of a strange shape with a sloped ceiling so that the window was on a 45 degree angle to the floor, but there was still plenty of headroom to move around.

My room had no closet or desk, rather just a 3 shelf bookcase on which to store things during the day, but there were hangers available on the wall for jackets and dress clothes at least. Appreciated the ability to control the room temperature with an air conditioning unit above the doorway and the flat-screen TV with a few English channels was also nice. It did look like the carpeting in my room could have used a bit of a cleaning though, had a few noticeable spots on it from previous guests.

My main complaints about the hotel would be the elevator that is way too small (capacity of 4 people) and having to wait a long time for the elevator to be available to come to the top floor without others being in it and that the walls of the rooms are very thin. I was awaken earlier than I wanted to be on Sunday morning by the people in the room next door speaking quite loudly.

Was a great bonus that the front desk staff spoke English and that I was able to leave my luggage at the hotel for a few hours on Sunday after checking out as I had a late train back to the UK and wanted to see the sights of Paris during the day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnZag3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Located in a quiet residential neighbourhood but with good restaurants and within walking distance from the Opera area. But for those who don't like to walk there are 2 metro stations very close by (less than 5 minutes away). There's also a selection of supermarkets nearby to stock up on water and other things one might need. Breakfast buffet a little limited but good. Rooms are small ( don't bring big luggage it might be difficult to move around) but clean and comfortable.
The only minor issue is the lack of isolation between rooms - I woke up at 4 am one night because there were 2 women talking in the room next to mine...mind you they were not shouting just talking in a normal voice. But aside from that I definitely stay there again because it is so convenient and fairly priced.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Booked because relatively cheap. We were all pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It's fairly small, in an older building but with modern decor. The bedrooms aren't big (which I think is normal for Paris), but were adequate and very clean. No wardrobe or drawers, just an alcove to hang clothes in (mine was very shallow). There were 5 floors with a handful of bedrooms on each floor and a small lift from the ground floor. All the staff were very helpful and friendly.
There is a breakfast room, a small lounge area and a bar. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the bedrooms, but complimentary hot drinks and water are available,in the lounge. Breakfast was fine - cereals, bread, pastries, ham & cheese, yogurts, juice, hot drinks.
There were very small safes available to hire in reception - a kindle would just fit in, but not a larger tablet. You can also leave your luggage in reception lock up on last day.
My husband advised us not to stay too near Gard De Nord, as it's not a nice area. Think this hotel was just far enough away, but was also easily walkable - less than 10 mins. It was in a quiet side street, but at the end of the street is a square and this goes onto Rue La Fayette. It's the cheaper end of that street, but plenty of nice reasonable restaurants there. We ate at the Bistro on the corner and a Pizzeria across the road - both very friendly. We walked to Opera Garnier, which is the nicer end - about 20 mins. It was also very near Sacre Coeur and Montmatre which has lovely shops - only 15 mins.
Would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: I had room 39 which had a small bath and a shower. My friends had room 56 which only had a shower, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKFinchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kishore_RAMSOONDUR, Directeur général at Ibis Styles Paris Cadet Lafayette, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your stay in our hotel IBIS STYLES PARIS CADET LAFAYETTE.
Everything is said!
See you soon!

The staffmembers of IBIS STYLES PARIS CADET LAFAYETTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Yes the rooms are cosy, but very comfortable and The breakfasts are very good. The convenient walk from Gare Nord is handy as well as the proximity to the Metro stations. You can walk to the attractions, the walk being about 2 km to the louvre and maybe 3km to Eiffel tower. If you have the time then walking is a far better way of getting the vibe of the city rather than the metro.
No complaints at all about any aspect of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
97 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Probably the smallest room you can stay but it sure does the job if you're looking for affordable, clean, hassle free, near metro kind of stay. Closest metro is Poissonnière, Cadet. Paris Nord station is roughly 15 minutes walk. Reaching here was pretty easy from CDG airport, via RER B train and then walking (you'll need to orientate yourself to the right direction after getting out of Paris Nord.

Rooms are clean, beds comfortable, no in-room safe but you can rent one located in a secret place at the lobby for euro2.5/ day. They give you a key! Breakfast is simple. I really enjoy the self made fresh orange juices every morning!

No laundry facilities available but there is a self servicing laundry nearby (Lav and Go). Ample of food nearby with grocery stalls.

Another ibis chain which have met my expectations!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank john_gpjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kl
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

A city hotel with small room, but great location. Easy access to Metro & walking distance to tourist attraction places.
This is the 1st time I stay with Ibis with breakfast included. And the food was great. Really value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank asteoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Ibis Styles Paris Lafayette Opera
Opera / Bourse
Ibis Paris Opera la Fayette
Opera / Bourse
Ibis Paris Grands Boulevards Opera 9eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord La Fayette 10eme
Residence du Pre
#536 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Entrepôt
Best Western Premier Faubourg 88
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Paris Cadet Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Paris Cadet Lafayette

Property: Ibis Styles Paris Cadet Lafayette
Address: 11 B rue Pierre Semard, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #614 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Paris Cadet Lafayette 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Paris Cadet Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing