We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Informal luxury”
Review of Relais Christine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relais Christine
Ranked #68 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Informal luxury”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We've been to Paris on a number of occasions now and have experienced a number of different types and styles of accomodation. Hotels claiming to be four star when only one person can walk round the bed at a time, beautiful luxury with intimidating formality, swanky apartments off the Champs Élysées to carefully photographed shams claiming to be "on the edge of The Marais".

If you've been to Paris before and wondered what secrets lay in the large house with a gated courtyard, wonder no more. In between St Michel and St Germain, down the quiet and peaceful Rue Christine is a little jewel of luxury. We fell for the place the moment the taxi pulled up outside the courtyard. Inside were shrubs in huge pots, swingseats that didn't squeak and steps up to double doors that invited us in. The word "Wow!" came to mind.

The staff were all very courteous and smartly dressed. Elizabeth checked us in and made us very welcome, explaining the facilities offered and taking us to our room. There was nothing that Elizabeth and her colleagues could not arrange, be it a visit to one of the Musee, restaurant reservations or other recommendations to help us enjoy our stay.

The room was superb. The bathroom was well appointed with a good selection of soaps etc and unlike many small hotels there seemed to be no problem with lashings of hot water. And the WiFi was very good, free, and always available. Air conditioning was available or you could open the windows. There was no traffic noise at all unlike most capital cities of the world.

There is an honesty bar which was adequately stocked for most tastes, even champagne. No dining room - but then this is Paris and there are plenty of restaurants in the surrounding streets to satisfy even the best gastronome - but breakfast is available and very good. A very wide choice from continental with breads, fresh fruit, cooked meats to full English (and particularly well done) and fresh coffee too!

The hotel is well located in a quiet street just a few minutes walk from the metro at St Michel or Notre Dame. And there truly is no night noise so you get to enjoy a good nights sleep in the king size and very comfortable bed.

If you like your luxury without the formality of a big brand hotel, then the Christine is for you, We thought it was perfection and will be back again.

Room Tip: We chose one of the junior suites on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Richard,

I am very pleased to read your most pleasurable review and I am very greatful that you decided to share your very precious feedback with other readers.
We all look forward welcoming you again soon and we'll all make sure that you'll experiment another but beautiful very Parisian experience with us.
Thank you again and warmest regards

Jean-Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    137
    43
    14
    4
See reviews for
132
477
32
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Our family (including 3 kids) had a great stay at Relais Christine. The hotel is located on a quaint street near St. Germain. It is an easy walk to great cafes and a few Metro stops. The hotel staff was very friendly and nice, especially to our kids.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite with a loft. It worked perfectly for our family of 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Andrew,

I am very pleased to see that your vacatons at the Relais Christine with your kids met your expectations. We are indeed a "family friendly hotel" and it is true that our location permits to explore Paris easilly.
I thank you for takig the time writing your very nice review and look forward welcoming your family and yourself again soon.

Warm regards

Jean-Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I can not say enough about his hotel- it is perfectly situated on the Left Bank, close to everything- but quiet and has a very romantic feel. Boutique hotel with wonderful service and a nice breakfast set up.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 33388Beachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guests,

Indeed, our location is really the best on the left bank and I am happy that you could find what you expected when booking the Relais Christine.

Thank you for your very nice and much apreciated review awaiting the pleasure welcoming you back anytime.

Best regards

Jean-Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Our stay at the Relais Christine surpassed our expectations!
The staff was so helpful from postage to tickets to dinner reservations they were superb!
One restaurant that was recommended was Steaking. Fantastic Food, Service & Ambiance.
Our room was incredible and the beautiful champagne set up in honor of my birthday was incredibly thoughtful.

I hope to be back visiting soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Robin,

Your very kind and most apreciated review is the best reward that we could have to my team's effort to provide each of our guests a very nice Parisian experience.

We all look froward having the pleasure welcomig you back.

Thank you again and very warm regards

Jean-Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
647 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

A very nice hotel in the heart of Paris. Some nice amenities, such as the possibility to hire a car, the honesty bar, nice breakfast and very helpful and friendly staff. Very good small hotel. Also, next to nice places and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlosmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Carlos,

I am very grateful for your nice review and very happy if you apreciated our location, the amenities that the Relais Christine offers and the friendly and professional service that my team delivered you.
We all look forward welcoming you back at your earliest convenience.
Thank you again and best regards

Jean-Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We recently returned from a stay at Relais Christine. We were in Paris for our wedding, and as a gift from family, we got 2 nights at the RC. We had a bigger room adjacent to a smaller one as we were travelling with our 2.5 year old son (and we had family next door to help out with the little one). They had set up a separate bed for him, which was great (although we moved it around a bit to make the layout of the room a bit better), and were acommodating in regards to the child. However where the hotel really shone through for us was the amazing concierge service. We had a few last minute requests for the wedding, and nothing fazed them - they were able to help in every way. The room was beautiful, if a little bit small compared to other places we have stayed (but then this is central Paris), but full of charm just under the rafters of the roof.
The breakfast was nice based on French breakfast (very little in way of cooked food), but nothing more.
If we had something special to celebrate, we would definitely try to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Tessa,

I am very happy to read that we could meet your expectations and that our Concierges could help in the preparation of your wedding.

We all wish you again all the very best for your long and beautiful married life and we look forward welcoming you again for your anniversary at your convenience.

Thnak you for your review.

Best regards

Jean-Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

a superb hotel with the best of Paris , inside and out!!! Location Location and Location
service and style plus the address make this a must see, must stay...it is walking distance to all that is needed
thanks
BMc

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bruce m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Bruce,

Thank you for sharing your impression on your stay with us.

We have the modest ambition of making our guests feel at home in one of the most lively areas in the city. It is great pleasure when we learn it is a total success. We are honored to be now one of your must stays in Paris!

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel d'Aubusson
Hotel d'Aubusson
#32 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#72 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#62 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Le Marais
Le Pavillon de la Reine
Le Pavillon de la Reine
#41 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Christine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Christine

Property: Relais Christine
Address: 3 Rue Christine, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Paris
#36 Family Hotel in Paris
#54 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#54 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#140 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais Christine 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais Christine, built on the foundations of a 13th-century abbey, is your Left Bank peaceful haven. Behind the gate is a cosy world and an ambiance of fine antiques. The 48 guest rooms and suites, all individually decorated, are stylish comfortable, some of them with a private terrace on the garden. Enjoy a peaceful haven in the garden or unwind after a day of sightseeing in the hotel's spa with exclusive treatments. Bicycles are available for guests to use free of charge, as well as a convertible Fiat 500 for a small extra fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Relais Christine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Christine Hotel Paris
Relais Christine Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing