We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for holiday stay”
Review of Hotel Alhambra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alhambra
Ranked #501 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We chose this hotel because it was really convenient for the Gare du Nord - it is really only a few yards from Oberkampf metro station - and also for Nation RER for direct train to Disneyland. It is also an easy walk to Place de la République with lots of restaurants to suit all tastes and wallets. The green Paris bus tour (great vfm) also stops at République. We walked through the Marais to Beaubourg Centre Pompidou easily enough.

The hotel has been recently decorated and although a little cramped, the rooms were well appointed, clean and comfortable. A good shower is very welcome in a Paris hotel. There was a safe and a hair dryer, but regrettably no fridge or kettle. The air conditioning worked well.

The reception was warm and friendly. It was a bit odd to have to use the stairs so much because the single lift is very small and seemingly in constant use by the staff.

Breakfast was OK, a good variety of things to eat but lacking quality (soggy out of a packet homemade croissants, for example), and certainly not up to the €13 per head.

Spend a nice hour or two in the café as you come out of Oberkampf metro and you'll have a nice comfortable quiet night's sleep and forget about the cost until you get home !

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paddy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very well located hotel, only around the corner from Oberkampf metro stop, which has a direct line to Gare du Nord (only a couple of stops away). Room & bathroom clean & functional. Great "rain" shower. Breakfast was good, albeit the area can get a bit cramped if there are a good few people using it at same time. Nice to have the terrace garden there to eat in. I am an animal lover, but the cat wandering around could be seen as a Health & Safety issue by some. The night manager who was on duty was not 100% customer focused. Was coming back one night, & two in front of me asked if they could get their boarding passes printed off for the morning. Told them gruffly to come back in morning. Asked him could I book the airport shuttle for next afternoon. Was told had to give 24 hour notice, asked the manager on duty the next morning & had no problem arranging it, but price dissuaded me from booking it. Only €9.75 on train v €26 being charged for bus. Overall good hotel & would stay there again, very easy to get around by metro or walking. 30 mins walk max from Notre Dame.

Room Tip: request garden view if possible. Although there is no noticeable street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bgsmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We arrived very tired and were shocked to see how small the rooms were.Single bed size with 2 beds in the room. Very little space for 1 case and none for case 2. Rooms were clean.staff seemed flustered and stressed.

Room Tip: Do not book a room for 2 people. Each room is tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nona1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I used to stay in this hotel regularly for business trips until this morning. After having spent a couple of nights, I extended my stay for another night through hotels.com (because I have a company account). My booking confirmed, I went down to the counter to ask if I could keep the same room. There, the manager asked me quite aggressively why I didn't book the room directly, since he didn't want to pay any cut to the booking platform. I explained very politely my reasons and he didn't care, arguing that he would then reject and cancel my booking, what he did within the minute, pretexting that he doesn't need such platforms, that his hotel is always busy, and so on, with a very disdainful attitude. On a word : "I am the boss, you follow what I want or you go out". That's what I did, refusing his blackmailing to pay him directly when I booked already through my usual service. It just shows how business first is rather than customer satisfaction and loyalty. Won't recommend despite cleanness of rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
14  Thank keyben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My family and I stayed here during easter 2014. Hotel was clean, staff were helpful and friendly it was close to metro station, overall an excellent base for visiting the city of Paris. All 4 of us stayed in the family room which was ideal for us.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank overtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

A good welcome at the reception, dealt with efficiently, we were in room 104 bit concerned as it was right by the lift we didn't here it at all. Room was plenty big enough for us as we only went back to sleep, spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collier1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel was located just outside Central Paris. While the room was small it was clean with a great shower. On arrival we were given a warm reception and great information. However the other staff were less than friendly. Housekeeping were not very friendly, not sure if this was due to language barrier. Good over all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
My Home in Paris Hotel
My Home in Paris Hotel
#433 of 1,803 in Paris
81 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Le 20 Prieure
Hotel Le 20 Prieure
#550 of 1,803 in Paris
418 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Gabriel Paris
Hotel Gabriel Paris
#289 of 1,803 in Paris
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Best Western Saint Martin Bastille
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel des Metallos
Hotel des Metallos
#1,044 of 1,803 in Paris
253 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Le General Hotel
Le General Hotel
#326 of 1,803 in Paris
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra

Address: 13 Rue de Malte, 75011 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#612 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £83 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alhambra 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Alhambra is located in a lively district of Paris, 400 metres from Place de la République. It features design decoration, a 400 m² private garden and a 24-hour reception with ticket service and offers an airport shuttle.The soundproofed guest rooms are equipped with a flat-screen TV with satellite channels and free Wi-Fi access. Most rooms offer a view of the garden and each room has a private bathroom with a walk-in shower.Every morning, a buffet breakfast is served and can be enjoyed in the comfort of guest rooms or in the garden. Guests can dine on the shaded terrace set in the flowery garden. Traditional restaurants are located just 40 metres away.Popular entertainment venues, the Cirque d'Hiver and the Bataclan are just 100 metres from the hotel. Oberkampf Metro Station is just 40 metres away and provides access to Place de la Bastille. The lively Marais district is 200 metres from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Alhambra Paris
Residence Alhambra Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing