We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Miniscule Room, Perfect Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Quai-Voltaire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel du Quai-Voltaire
Ranked #812 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
256 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Miniscule Room, Perfect Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

The room, #032, was the tiniest we've ever stayed in, the width of a double bed without bedside tables to put book, glasses, or alarm clock on and a narrow passage. The bathroom also was tiny, without a bidet and with a shower which because of the glass half-door, tended to wet the floor. The room had a desk and chair, armchair and the closet had real wooden hangers. There was good lighting and wifi. We had breakfast there (not included in the price) and were disappointed with the blister packs of jam and butter (which had an odd flavor) so the next mornings we went out the front door and a few doors down to the left found the Cafe Voltaire which had a lovely coffee and croissant (the real, flaky kind) breakfast with a pot of fresh jam and a plate of butter, no blisterpacks. The service at reception was very attentive and pleasant and the lounge comfortable. Our room overlooked the street and the river, lovely but noisy and we didn't see any AC, but may not have noticed. There is a computer for guests' use. We would definitely stay there again but book a larger room.

Room Tip: For the view, one on the front of the hotel. For quiet, perhaps at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyBoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    172
    53
    29
    16
See reviews for
50
190
40
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mobridge, South Dakota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location! Walking distance to many tourist attractions, shops, restaurants, and the metro. Our room was quite large...clean & comfy...with a new bathroom. We had breakfast at the hotel every morning. Besides being tasty it was also convenient. The staff couldn't have been more helpful/friendly. The only negative is...the airport shuttle. We thought we had given ourselves enough time (3 hrs) to get to the airport. Instead, the driver picked up five more people. When we got to the airport he dropped us off at the end of the termimal and our flight was leaving from the other end. When one of the passengers ask to be dropped off at Delta he screamed "Get out!" By the time we ran through the airport we almost missed our flight. Back to the hotel...we will DEFINITELY stay at this hotel again...hopefully, in the near future!

Room Tip: We had a courtyard room to get away from the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AVIDTRAVELER0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

This hotel has one of the best locations: On the Seine, near Musee d'Orsay, some lovely views. Travelling alone, I stayed in the least expensive room available; while it was on the street, which offered fantastic views of the Seine, it was the smallest room I have ever stayed in. Likewise, the bathroom was super petite. Breakfast was not included but was substantial for the extra price. The library/sitting room downstairs was a peaceful spot to organize your day. I would recommend staying here because of the location and the historical aspect of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, I would request a room off the street - - noisy until the wee hours. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank empost1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

A charming hotel in an excellent location, walking distance to numerous attractions - the Louvre, Musee d'Orsay, Eiffel Tower and right on the Seine. Metro & RER station nearby. Comfortable room and with friendly, helpful staff. We couldn't ask for more. Recommended unreservedly!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We have stayed here many times since the early 1990's and have seen a transformation from tawdry to newly renovated and it took many years to accomplish such a feat. If you can obtain a front room you will not only fall in love with the hotel but with magnificent views of the Seine and the Louvre especially at night. The staff is friendly and the rates fair. One is in walking distance of the Louvre, St. Germain, Notre Dame and many other wonderful Parisian sites including some fantastic restaurants. Rule of thumb for restaurants in Europe: Dine at places that are on small streets/alleys and don't dine at establishments that put samples of their menu in their windows. The food has probably been shallacked and there for eons. If your front room seems noisy from the traffic below just close the shutters when it's time to slumber. Final note: the best restaurants are not always the most famous.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bartholdi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

My husband and I have stayed here several times over the past decade. It is the only place we will stay in Paris. Mainly because of the spectacular view this hotel affords you. Get a room on floor 3 or 4,throw open the large french windows, step out onto your balcony and marvel at the picture postcard view you have of the Seine! Yes, the rooms are small but did you come to Paris to stay inside your hotel room? This hotel has hosted Wagner, Sibelius, Oscar Wilde, Jefferson...and the list goes on. I am glad that they haven't tried to "hipify" this wonderful old hotel into some god awful "W" style soulless establishment. The location is simply fantastic. You are 2 blocks from Musee D'Orsay, a bridge away from the Louvre and in the lovely St. Germain-des-Pres with the wonderful antique shops and art galleries. The entire front desk staff are very congenial and helpful. Bernard is simply a delight. We look forward to many more visits here.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor for a better view.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TLFLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

The good: the location is terrific, opposite the Louvres in St. Germain. For the location, the room rates are reasonable.
The bad: this hotel needs some major renovation, though no doubt that would put the rate out of reach of most travellers. I have stayed here on and off for the last 10 years because I love the neighbourhood and seriously, the place needs a thorough cleaning job. Wear slippers.
The ugly: in the summer, with no air-conditioning, rooms get hot. But if one sleeps with the window open, then it's as if one were sleeping through an action film with full sound effect because of the incessant traffic, sirens, motorcycles, drunks on the street. A slice of life no doubt but one needs a rest after staying here.
So, not all bad, but ...

Room Tip: Well, the river-facing rooms are the best if you can sleep with closed windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mnng1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Lille
Hotel de Lille
#443 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Bersoly's Saint Germain
Hotel Bersoly's Saint Germain
#1,416 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
#672 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Universite
Hotel de l'Universite
#295 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Verneuil
Hotel Verneuil
#82 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Academie
Hotel de l'Academie
#292 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Quai-Voltaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Quai-Voltaire

Property: Hotel du Quai-Voltaire
Address: 19 quai Voltaire, 75007 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#556 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Quai-Voltaire 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel du Quai-Voltaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Quai Voltaire Hotel
Hotel Du Quai Voltaire
Hotel Quai Voltaire Paris
Quai Voltaire Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing