We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
saintvalentine
london

absolutely dreadful. Never want to go there again.

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Jan 2009
Noisy, dirty, unfriendly, but a great location.
Date of stay: March 2006
Trip type: Travelled on business
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
£249
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £249
  • Vio.com
    £208
  • Booking.com
    £249
0.6 miles from Hotel du Quai-Voltaire
Free Wifi
Hotels.com
£259
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £259
  • Vio.com
    £223
  • Expedia.com
    £259
0.9 miles from Hotel du Quai-Voltaire
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£146
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £128
  • Agoda.com
    £111
  • Hotels.com
    £125
1.6 miles from Hotel du Quai-Voltaire
Free Wifi
Studio with Eiffel Tower view and balcony, Citadines Tour Eiffel Paris
Hotels.com
£220
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £221
  • Priceline
    £202
  • Expedia.com
    £221
1.7 miles from Hotel du Quai-Voltaire
Free Wifi
Booking.com
£118
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £117
  • Expedia.com
    £118
  • Priceline
    £118
1.8 miles from Hotel du Quai-Voltaire
Free Wifi
Room service
Booking.com
£144
  • Hotels.com
    £144
  • Vio.com
    £77
  • Expedia.com
    £144
2.3 miles from Hotel du Quai-Voltaire
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
£126
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £116
  • Hotels.com
    £117
  • Expedia.com
    £126
3.6 miles from Hotel du Quai-Voltaire
Free Wifi
Room service
Priceline
£57
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    £50
  • Hotels.com
    £58
3.0 miles from Hotel du Quai-Voltaire
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Official Site
£551
  • Hotels.com
    £311
  • Vio.com
    £264
  • Booking.com
2.2 miles from Hotel du Quai-Voltaire
Free Wifi
Expedia.com
£571
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Pullman
    £572
  • ZenHotels.com
    £539
  • Hotels.com
    £571
1.8 miles from Hotel du Quai-Voltaire
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Paris
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveller rating
148
196
77
38
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
148
196
77
38
21
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 480 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2008

We stayed here in Dec 07 and I have to say it was probably the worst experience I have had in any hotel. Although the location is stunning as are the views, nothing could make up for the dirty overpriced rooms and communal areas.

On checking in, we were shown to our room down a very grotty corridor. We were nearly knocked out by the smell of smoke when we opened the door and things went from bad to worse after that. The bed was tiny and very hard. Furniture was cheap and the carpet was dirty. The light fitting over the bed was coming away and looked like it would collapse on us in the middle of the night! The bath was dirty and there were pubic hairs on the floor! We complained at reception and the strange man there shrugged and said "in Paris it is OK to smoke in the rooms". He showed us another room which was equally as bad and smelly.

We stayed here for one night only although we had booked for 3 nights. We stayed out as late as possible to avoid spending too much time in the hotel as we found it totally depressing.

We are not fussy people and regularly stay in basic hotels all over Europe but this was totally unacceptable.

Date of stay: December 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kit_and_cath
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 October 2008

This location allowed us to visit the Louvre and return to our room by walking across the bridge. The front rooms have great views but are noisy due to constant street traffic. Ear plugs needed at night. As with many hotels in cities the back rooms on th eair shaft are quieter. We did not find many nearby restaurants. The Musea D'Orsay is also an easy walk. It probaby is a 2 star hotel and like most Paris hotels is expensive, but location makes up for a lot.

Date of stay: October 2003
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rejuvenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2008

Myself and my wife booked this hotel one month before travelling, the hotel confirmed our reservation with the provioso of ongoing security work, when i got a phone call from the hotel at security some 2 hrs before boarding the plane for paris < 4 hrs before arrival i knew the news would,nt be good, our room wasnt ready and we had been booked into a similar hotel a short distance from the Voltaire.
We arrived at the Voltaire to get confirmation of directions by a rather indifferent and unapologetic surly receptionist, our hearts sank when we entered the hotel they had booked , it was quite literally 3m wide with a lift which had to be entered sideways to a room on the 5th floor with zero view. Needless to say we turned tail and arrived back with monsieur creep who shrugged his shoulders and told us that was basically the last room in Paris, the manageress when she made an appearance some 30 minutes later was little better, more interested in dealing with security staff than her customers, luckily a new receptionist came on shift and found a hotel similar in price range in the St Germain area which was clean friendly and central , without having seen the rest of the hotel i can only assume that we had a lucky escape.

Paul Kelly Ireland 10 Oct 2008

Date of stay: October 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
7  Thank PaulKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 August 2008

Nice location, but really noisy. They were building at the time and the hallways were literally a building site, and the rooms were frankly bad. Grotty furniture, no aircon, no TV or radio, damp bed, dirty carpet...you get the picture. If i hadn't arrived exhausted at 12:30 am i would have turned around and walked out. This hotel should not have been renting these rooms. It is a joke, and a bad one at that. The breakfast was okay but pricey, and served in the most miserable little bar/dining room. I read the reviews before i went and went with no illusion that it would be the "Crillion" and i took in all the gumpf about Oscar Wilde and all that . What i can tell you is that they still have the same furniture from when he was there. God knows if they are renovating ..then they sooo need too. This hotel needs to be stripped bare and they need to start all over again.This is not a good hotel and is really poor value, and all the excusesof a cute little Parisian hotel just simply do not wash. Paris hotels are all over priced, and there are some that are good and some that a down right bad. This falls into the latter category..AVOID.

Date of stay: June 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Basil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 August 2008

The Hotel du Quai Voltaire is close to being a great hotel. It's got a great location on the Seine. The rooms are very nice in a rustic way that Paris usually doesn't offer. And the staff was very friendly (although I speak French, so if you don't, you might argue with that last one).
The rooms are small of course, but it is Paris, and for the price, the room I stayed in was more than suitable.
Although the location does add for some noise as it is located, obviously, on Quai Voltaire, it isn't incredibly close to a metro stop, so the nighttime pedestrian volume isn't noticeable.
The elevator is small and old, and to be honest, it did scare me. Outside of that, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Date of stay: August 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank thomas1181
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews