We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would not return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Palais Bourbon
Ranked #1,229 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We stayed at the Hotel du Palais Bourbon for 4 nights in September. On the positive side, the location is convenient, the rooms were clean, and the maids were nice, so at least that was ok. . On the negative side, the halls are almost not lit at all, the carpet was old a long time ago, the beds are awful and the night clerk never even would look up when we greeted him in French. Overall the hotel was a big disappointment.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2012 via mobile

Location, location, location!
Great area, on lovely quiet street metres away from Rodin Museum.
Excellent selection of restos close by.
Hotel very basic. Decent sized family room, with spotless bathroom.
Corridors very dark and drab.
Reception staff middle aged and weary.
Better hotels on this street, but you pay for it.
Check your bill, we were overcharged for a family breakfast we never had.
If you're looking for a functional room at a reasonable rate in a great location, this is the place for you.
Would return if kids were with us, but would choose another on the same street if it was just me and wife.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank benbLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Too expensive
Staff rude
Room awful and decore a mess
Very old & run down
Bed as old as the building with sheets that had so much starch I think they were going to snap.
Husband slept on the floor as bed well worn and way too soft.
A Toilet you could barely fit in.
Flooring in the apartment was uneven.
Reception area nicely decorated.
Not a bad location but had better.

Room Tip: Doncaster recommend this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TripperEmelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We chose this hotel just because we needed a triple room (and the choice of such offers is limited even in Paris!) and we had strictly limited budget. So for this price the hotel is okay. But nothing more. Old furniture, more or less clean rooms, single beds with ancient wool blankets, greasy carpets on the floor. The shower had a leaking faucet in the pretty spacious bathroom. But overall it was not terrible, it was just fine. We've never tried breakfast (it costs an additional price) and we prefered to explore the cafes in the neighbourhood. The location is very good btw. Very close to Saint Germain, Bon Marche, musee d'Orsay, Invalides and the Rodin museum is on the same street as the hotel. And the boulangerie with tasty croissants, bagets and other delicious goods is on the hotel streeet. Working days Monday-Friday, though.

But the main disadvantage and disappointment from our staying were caused by the staff actions. The hotel charged without notice from my credit card the amount for the first night on the morning of our arrival before we even got there! Then the receptionist told me that it wasn't a transaction, the amount was just on hold and I could pay the whole amount of our stay with another card. And it was totally untrue. On the check-out the amount was smaller, without the price for one night. So they took the money from my credit card in roubles without warning, when I preferred to pay with my Euro debit card. It caused me great inconvenience! In the end I lost money due to the effects of currency and had to pay a fee for the currency transaction. I was outraged by such actions of the hotel staff and their disregard for the needs of the guests. So I'll definitely never stay in this hotel again (and I spend my vacations in France and Paris every year). I prefer to pay more and chose something more pleasant and comfortable.

But if you are not so pretentious, you can give it a try. But don't say I did not warn you!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank happiest_girl_carla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

hotel was in a good location for eiffel tower etc.the rooms were of a good size and clean. there was some traffic noise from the road and the neighbours shower. the beds were comfortable, however, they were 2 single beds simply pushed together to form a double bed, not linked in any way, during the night the beds would move on the wooden floor and seperate. would next time tie them together with something.have already booked to return!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank L2P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Delightful little hotel. On a quiet side street. Delicious breakfast of wonderful croissants and cheeses. Small annex with a bed and a cot for the kids, nice for the 4 of us. Close to a metro stop. Helpful desk staff. Near Invalides. A fair walk to any other sites, but the hotel is in a nice area and walking gave us a chance to see more of the area. Very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michigan_U_S_A_Coop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This hotel was such a let down. We had been travelling for a few weeks in Germany and Austria with great hotels, and then we came to Bourbon. Bourbon had been our most expensive room, which was understood because we were in Paris, but was by far our worst. We rented a room which they said was enough for two couples. What you get is a double room with a walk-in closet containing two tiny beds. The value here is bad enough to make me never want to return. Very far walk to the Tower and many metro stops away from anything else. Extremely unhelpful staff, very rude and confirming the French stereotype. We told them our TV wasn't working, as we wanted to see the results of the Eurocup, and after a half hour we had to call them again to remind them... When they finally came up they walked right into our room without knocking, hit some buttons on the remote, and said "Don't do again." Then we let them know that the bathroom ceiling was leaking making the light go on and off. They never fixed it the week we were there.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HubertJ08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de Suede St. Germain
Hotel de Suede St. Germain
#883 of 1,802 in Paris
390 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de France Invalides
Hotel de France Invalides
#536 of 1,802 in Paris
347 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de Varenne
Hotel de Varenne
#123 of 1,802 in Paris
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Vaneau Saint Germain
Hotel Vaneau Saint Germain
#612 of 1,802 in Paris
381 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel le Bellechasse
Hotel le Bellechasse
#173 of 1,802 in Paris
792 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Bac Saint-Germain
Hotel Bac Saint-Germain
#847 of 1,802 in Paris
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Palais Bourbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Palais Bourbon

Address: 49 rue de Bourgogne, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,229 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £122 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Palais Bourbon 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hôtel is located in the middle of PARIS in an historic, safe and quiet area, behind French parliament, near Invalides, Rodin, Orsay and Louvre Museums, Place de la Concorde, Champs Elysées and at a walking distance from Saint Germain des prés or Montparnasse. The hôtel is open 24 hours a day with always a deskman.Nearest Metro stations : Varenne / Invalides / Assemblée Nationale + R.E.R. : InvalidesNearest bus stop : 69, 63, 83, 84, 94, 24, 73 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Palais Bourbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Palais Bourbon Paris
Du Palais Bourbon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing