We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stains on the walls and linen, overpriced and rudest manager named Eric” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Lys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du Lys
Ranked #1,291 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“stains on the walls and linen, overpriced and rudest manager named Eric”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed here based on the fact that this place had some good reviews on trip advisor, we were very sorry,
They started drilling beside our room on the second day, there were builders looking into our room from above and beside us so that we no privacy at all, I can't list all the things that were wrong, no cleaning or fresh towel, ate breakfast in the foyer, but the worst thing is that this establishment only wants your money, The manager's name is Eric, rudest person I have ever met.This manager and his arrogance are not the norm of Paris which I loved. We left the hotel after two of our four night stay, the manager said if we weren't happy we could leave, little did he believe we actually would be able to find any where else at such short notice, so did not offer any apology for the situation we were in!! we contacted a lovely woman online. who offered us a studio apartment for half of what this hotel cost, it was in a much nicer area of Paris with great restaurants, authentic and not the over priced tourist food you get served at places near this hotel. We were very lucky this experience didn't ruin our holiday. as an add-on this is not a family run business like one of the other reviews state, that is false. the men who work here can answer no query and only the manager can deal with issues which he does so with aggression and vulgarity. When we went to pay the bill for the two nights Eric told us that he had planned to give the stay for half price, this he only told us after making the decision to leave, presumably so we wouldn't go, we would not of stayed even at half price but it only proves the culpability of the hotel and the complete disregard for diffusing a very upsetting situation!

Room Tip: don't stay in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate7038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESteffen, Gérant at Hotel du Lys, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
We are installing air condionner in the some rooms. We do the work betwenn 11AM to 5 PM. So during this time, they may be some noise . Generally during this time all people are out. In all the hotel of the word things like this may happen to make ameliorations or maintenance.

I tried to explain this to Kate but she was very rude to me and she ask me to do something about the price. I told her that I will think about it and will do her a proposition shortly. But she wanted a answer now. I told her the work will continue one more day so if it was a problem for her not to have the possibility to sleep between 11 AM to 5 PM, it would be better to change hôtel.

I decide to make a reduction of 50% of all the stay but when she came back to the reception it was to chek out. She refused my proposition and still wanted to check out. She had to pay 260 EU for two nights passed in the hôtel I asked her only 200 EU to apologise.

When Kate complained about the noise it was 3 PM and the noise stopped at 4: 30 PM.

I don't think I was rude. It is not true that our etablissement wants only money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    87
    56
    21
    24
See reviews for
48
87
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I once loved this hotel, but with regret now strongly advise against staying here because the rooms vary so much. Some are great ... some are just horrible. Do you want to take the lottery with your holiday?

It was our third visit, but (without warning) this time we got one of the bad rooms. As a result we found ourselves next to the reception (e.g. noisy), with dirty stained bed linen, one window set in the ceiling (too high to look out), one window looking over the rubbish (giving the charming effect of staying in a broom cupboard), stained wall paper and a sleepless night. When we complained the patron he lied to us that our room was cheaper. It was not. We asked to move and were told it impossible.

So for a hotel I once loved, I regret to say I'd advise against staying staying here, to avoid a nasty surprises. Choose somewhere more consistent, with helpful and honest staff, There are plenty of romantic, charming, good hotels in Paris. This is not one.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Abigaill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESteffen, Gérant at Hotel du Lys, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Miss Abigail must like our hotel because it was during her third visit she had a room she don't like.
All our rooms are different. So it append some one don't like a room when others want absoloutly the same one. It is a question of taste. So when a custumer want to move to an other room we do the best. But when the hotel is full (it's append very often) whe can't do it.

Of course there plenty lovely romantic hotels in Paris! But if you want to have this in the Hotel du Lys's area which is the best and the most expensive in Paris you will have to pay a lot. Very very more then at the Hotel du Lys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

This is a romantic hotel in a quiet side street very close to the center of Rive Gauche of Paris, there where BLDV Saint Michel and Saint Germain intersect. Ten minutes to walk to Notre Dame and the small church, St-Julien-le-Pauvre, where on most evenings classical concerts are given.
Beware: It is not a comfort hotel for obese people because one has to climb up at least one floor; the 20-25 rooms are small but individually styled.
Prices are low (€ 100-120 incl. Parisien breakfast) for the cultural and atmospheric value of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you like to have a view over the roofs AND like climbing stairs, take one of the top rooms, e.g N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Urs R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
179 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

this is a 1.5-2 star hotel, but located very conveniently by RER stop to CDG as well as Metro 10. you can walk to the Seine, Notre Dame etc. Rooms are clean, they make up breakfast trays (for free), free wifi (although low performing). Staff is friendly. I think it was a converted old house so floor is not level and has spiral staircase, not for handicapped, people with large luggage etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank californiawithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Went to Paris via the Eurostar into Gare de Nord and it could not have been simpler getting to the hotel via the metro on line 4. Hotel is about 200m for the metro station on St Michel. Great central location for seeing the sites. The hotel was basic, olde world, clean and great value for money. A must - download the Paris city app from trip advisor before going, great for getting around the city and metro. Would use this hotel again as a base when in Paris.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VonCock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Great hotel, location was top notch for getting around on foot. its also minutes from where the train from CDG stops. Bit of an expensive area but the hotel is reasonable and you can still do it on the cheap. The room is old world and quirky but very comfortable. All in all, simple, relaxed and done well, but location is the best quality.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

We were introduced to this hotel many years ago and would not book in anywhere else. The hotel has a timeless charming quality, always clean, the staff are always friendly. Breakfast can either be taken in the small reception area or taken to your room, fresh croissants, bread, butter, jams and fresh orange juice, tea to coffee. The location is great, near the university area so some great value restuarants, try Le Petit Prince, L'epicerie or Pipos all within walking distance. Or even closer in square is the Brasserie Le Clou de Paris. If there is a downside it is the stairs, we were on the third floor this time, but after a couple of days we were getting use to the hike!!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Eugenie
Hotel Eugenie
#964 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
Relais Hotel du Vieux Paris
#516 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Le Clos Notre Dame
Hotel Le Clos Notre Dame
#918 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Residence des Arts
Hotel Residence des Arts
#843 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel St. Andre des Arts
Hotel St. Andre des Arts
#1,236 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Residence le St. Germain
Residence le St. Germain
#1,326 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lys

Property: Hotel du Lys
Address: 23 rue Serpente, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,291 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a 17th century old mansion situated in a very quiet street, Hotel du Lys is one of the best offers in Paris for its location, services and reasonable prices. It is located on the left bank, in a stone’s throw from the Seine river, and in walking distance of Notre-Dame, the Louvre, the Sorbonne, the Luxembourg 's garden, Saint Germain des Prés, Beaubourg, Saint Louis island, Invalides, Sainte Chapelle and the Musee d’Orsay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel du Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lys Hotel
Du Lys Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing